We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time this year..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Angela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second time this year..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went back for our honeymoon after having a unforgettable stay in May.
I was genuinely sad to say goodbye to the staff of Hotel Villa Angela. The warmth and friendliness shown by everyone made our honeymoon so special and fun that I can't imagine not going back.
If you like staying in a beautiful stylish hotel and want to relax, I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
Oh yeah, of course it has stunningly beautiful surroundings and the best stuffed calamari I've ever tasted on the lunch menu.. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    70
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
74
332
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent 9 days at Villa Angela. Each room has a gorgeous view of Mt Etna. The hotel is perched in the hills but with easy access to the town (Taormina). The decor, the staff and the extra special touches make this a first class stay. Have recommended it to many and hope to visit again

Room Tip: All rooms have views of Mt Etna, no bad choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a hard time deciding where to say, should I stay in town? Closer to ocean? The Villa is not closer to either, but it did not make a whole lot of difference. The service by Villa Angela makes up for all of it by providing reliable and inexpensive shuttle service to all of Taormina. From before I even arrived, I received multiple emails from Katharine trying to accommodate whatever I needed to make my European vacation special. And she did, everything from room accommodations, to transportation to and from the airport, to late night snacks (check out day, we left at 6am-she had the hotel staff pack a breakfast for us). Her and everyone at the hotel was polite and could not do enough. At the front desk, they have everything that you would need or left behind. The Villa itself sits on the side of a mountain with astounding views of the ocean and Mt. Etna.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the water and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in Taormina for the third time this time together with my girlfriend. We had chosen a smaller room since the better ones with jacuzzi was full. It was not so good view and not very romantic settings, However we only spent first night there cause the very nice personal helped us so we had the Etna suite in sted for a reasonable upgrade price and we were just so pleased! Amazing view over the bay and ofcourse Etna which had an eruption two times we could watch from our balcony. The staf like many reviews say is terrific and very professional and serviceminded. This hotel is a bit away from Taormina but the shuttles works great (home) We usually walked down the stairs to the city. Also it´s a close but steap walk up to the small cozy village castel mola- which is a must for an even more spectacular view on both sides of Taormina bay. We love Taormina and would love to come back again and stay at Villa Angela. The best of recommendations!

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite or bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, welcoming and everything you could wish for plus more. As a couple it is perfect but we wouldn't have enjoyed it anywhere near as much with children. The setting on a hillside is fantastic, the location is perfect to explore Taormina and also to visit the quirky hilltop town of Castelmola (easy to reach by clean, reliable local bus).

Everything about the week spent there ticked our boxes - lovely pool and comfortable sunbeds with no need to reserve at the crack of dawn! The staff are pleasant, efficient and helpful, always delivering service with a smile. The hotel shuttle bus to and from town was a brilliant bonus and very reasonably priced - we walked down the 500 steps but were more than happy to use the bus to return!

Having seen Mount Etna every day from our balcony (which is actually a terrace with table, chairs and loungers) we thoroughly enjoyed our trip there, almost to the summit. The lovely people we met during our holiday helped to make it so good - staff, hotel guests and tour guides were all amazing.

Cannot really think of any negative comments to make about this place - except perhaps that we so narrowly missed the opportunity to meet the owner and tell him just how much we love his hotel as well as his music...!! Next time maybe......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wow.....'simply' the best stay at a Hotel anywhere - ever!!
Fellow 'Trip Advisor' reviewers of the Villa Angela at Taormina provide universal, fulsome, well deserved and entirely accurate testimony of an oasis of charm, peace and style which this small Hotel unerringly provides.
Should you be considering a booking - please do so with confidence...it is a rare gem indeed.....the Staff are all amazing - guest relaxation and total satisfaction was a given - we will be returning next year
Ciao!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Angela end of July beginning of August. We stayed in the Etna Suite as there was 4 of us. As soon as we arrived at our room the view was breath taking. The hotel itself is fabulous and the staff are so helpful. The shuttle bus is well worth the cost to take you into town...and what a town. There are so many restaurants to choose from. We did not have a bad meal the whole two weeks we were there. The people are so friendly and helpful. nothing is too much trouble. We took the shuttle bus to the Tropicana beach. For 8euros per person...well worth it. The minibus picks you up from the hotel, takes you to the beach, your sunbeds are reserved right at the front and takes you back at either 3,4 or 5pm. The facilities at the beach are superb, spotlessly cleans and the beach café offers you a wide choice. The owners are really friendly also.
All in all the Villa Angela is a first class hotel with first class staff. If I was ever to visit Sicily again, then this hotel without a doubt would be top of my list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#8 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.