We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Angela to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Angela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Paradise Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have just returned from our second two week holiday at Villa Angela.
Must admit I was hesitant to return there so soon after an amazing holiday there last year. I thought that it might not live up to my memories of last year and my expectations as "they" say you should not go back as it is never the same. Well "they" were totally wrong as it was absolutley amazing again.
Katharine, Charlie, Mario, Ayda and all the wonderful staff welcomed us back and could not do enough to ensure that we had an amazing time again. In fact, in our opinion some things were even better than before. Such as the lovely breakfasts of hot and cold buffet. Bacon, eggs and sausage. Delicious fresh fruit (and some tinned), delicious crioisants, freshly baked rolls, cakes, pasteries and gateaux to die for whilst gazing over the stunning views of Mt. Etna. Some evenings the resturant did evening meals too and there was a good lunch menu and a snack menu where you could order anytime.

The rooms are comfortable with large sunny balconies where you can soak up the sun whilst admiring the views. This rooms are serviced by an exemplary team of maids. The shuttle bus provides an excellent service which is most welcome as the hotel is situation on a steep hillside.
Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff who are professional, polite, cheerful and obliging.

We certainly enjoyed the company of Jim Kerr's father and his friends whilst we were there and then Jim himself turned up for a few days.

Taormina is such a beautiful place and we can't wait to go back soon. So I will conclude by saying keep the sparkling beer cold ready for our third return to Paradise.

Thank you all for such a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    74
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
83
372
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is hard to speak too highly of the Hotel Villa Angela, without losing credibility. My partner and I have just spent 12 days in the hotel on holiday, and everything fell 100% into place to make this feel like Paradise.

Without exception, the staff are friendly and professional, but not in an obsequious manner: they just seem intent on providing a positive, assertive service that makes you feel like a friend who is temporarily staying in their house as a welcome guest. It is hard to tell who is management, and who are the staff, because everyone at all levels is happy to take the initiative themselves to make you feel relaxed and happy.

It is not centrally located, but occupies a lofty position with magnificent views overlooking the town, the Greek Amphitheatre, the sea and most importantly of all, Mount Etna. This gives the advantage of fantastic views and refreshing clear air for drinks on the terraces in the evening, but for some (not us) may also have the disadvantage of not being close to an abundance of bars and restaurants. The hotel compensate for this with having a superb service of an hourly, or more frequent, shuttle service to the edge of the pedestrianised central town area. However, our routine was to stretch the legs with a walk down into town through a choice of walkways weaving their way through the villas and apartments of the friendly residents of Taormina, to enjoy a refreshing Prosecco and people-watch in one of the piazzas along the Corso Umberto. We never walked back, but let the shuttle take the strain. We only needed a taxi twice during our stay when returning after the last shuttle pick-up at 11.30 pm, and when we dined out at a sea-front restaurant that was quite distant. Fixed charge of 15 euros for taxis for all journeys within Taormina is a bit steep, and it was 25 Euros to the seafront restaurant - but, as said, we seldom had the need to take taxis.

We will definitely be back to stay in Villa Angela again. Coming from me, this is a genuine compliment, because I am someone who prefers to stay in new places and new experiences with my holidays, and I'm reluctant to try to recapture something that may not live up to expectations second time round. But with people like Katherine running this hotel, and Charlie and Ada on the desk able to book the best tables at the best restaurants in town, James and Sam providing cool G&Ts at the bar, and right down to ever-smiling Walter and his many colleagues with the welcome bus shuttle service and portering, it is hard to imagine that a repeat visit will be a disappointment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a balustrade that allows unimpeded views both down to the town and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Villa Angela is a very pretty elegant hotel with the most wonderful views of Etna.All the rooms have large terraces with wonderful views of the coast and the volcano.Taormina town is gorgeous with beautiful buildings and churches and lovely shops although very expensive.My daughter and i had the most wonderful holiday at highly recommend Villa Angela .My only suggestions for improvement are tes and coffee making facilites in the rooms and as the terraces are so lovely with the never ever to be forgotten views , there should be better quality sunbeds as we had to use blankets and pillows to make the plastic sunbeds comfortable .

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wow! What a perfect place for us to stay on our honeymoon – such a beautifully presented hotel, and the most amazing views of Taormina! The team went over and above to make our stay special, so much so that we never wanted to leave! The Leonardo Da Vinci suite is a must if you are having a romantic holiday, very roomy and two beautiful balconies where you can enjoy a vino while the sun sets. Will definitely be back for an anniversary!

Room Tip: Leonardo De Vinci suite - views over Taormina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Comfortable clean rooms, fantastic views of Etna and the bay around Taormina. Lovely rooms with balcony, very friendly and hospitable staff and good breakfast. A free shuttle bus was available to everyone staying there. Maybe pool was little bit cold.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's a slightly scary drive getting up to this place so once you arrive, you leave your car there & take their shuttle van back & forth to town. They charge a flat fee based on use & it's really inexpensive, trust me, you don't want to drive & park. All rooms have a beautiful view of the water & Mt Etna. The rooms are spacious with big terraces, that include tables & lounge chairs. You almost don't want to go into town. We were on the 2nd floor & those terraces have only a metal fence so you can see through them rather than the short walls some other floors had. The staff was very helpful & arranged a private driver to take us (4 all together) to Mt Etna & a winery for tasting & lunch. You can book a bus tour that does the same thing for the same price but who would want to do that. We had dinners up the hill from the hotel at a place they recommended. The lobby had free wifi & great views and there is a bar. The pool is beautiful & they serve drinks out there sometimes. Breakfast was great, lots of choices, more than the usual items. We'll come back here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Writing this as just waiting to leave the hotel. We spent 7 brilliant days here and don't want to leave. The hotel is very comfortablewith large rooms, lovely pool and great great views over to Etna. The staff are very helpful and can advise trips, buses, walks, restaurants etc. A really fantastic hotel and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#9 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.