We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Hyped Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Angela to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Angela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Over Hyped Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Villa Angela late Summer. We were really looking forward to the experience based on the reviews.

We are well travelled, going abroad approx 5 times per year, mainly staying in 5 or 4 star accomodation worldwide.
.
We had booked a package with Thomson, unusual for us, we normally travel independantly. We skipped the free coach transfer at the airport and took a taxi, glad we did as we arrived almost 2 hours ahead of other guests on our plane. The hotel are happy to arrange a taxi transfer for you at no extra cost compared to picking one up at the airport. It was quite a trek from the airport, almost 1 hour and the journey was not at all scenic until we reached Taormina.
Check in was fast with Charlie giving us a briefing about the hotel and surrounding area which was useful.
We had booked a Delux room as this is all that was available to us, it is the hotels most basic room. Upon entering our room the view was magnificent, overlooking the hotels pool, Etna, mountains and the bay below. The outside terrace was almost as large as the room with sun loungers and a table and chairs. The terrace was not private as the plants that grow between balconies are quite sparse. Each room has a wonderful view so no worries on that score. The room interior was basic with no creature comforts and small. There was not enough draw, cupboard or wardrobe space, thank goodness we were only staying for 1 week. By the way, we don't travel with the kitchen sink either, only the necessary's for a weeks holiday. The bathroom was very disappointing, very basic in need of a full makeover, tired and worn and old fashioned by todays standards. The shower was over the small slippery bath, water pressure was not great and the toilet was crammed into the corner. Obviously we had our own toiletries but the hotels were sparse and cheap with 2 plastic drinking cups and nothing to store toothbrushes/toothpaste in - very 2 to 3 star in our opinion.

The hotels terrace, gardens & pool area are kept very nice. Plenty of sunbeds, we never had a problem getting one. It is very relaxing and peacful too.

The dining terrace is lovely with beautiful views. The breakfast however was rather odd. Daily there was fresh bread, a couple of cheese selections and a couple of cooked meats. Fruit was very limited and not quickly replenished, the fruit juice was not freshly squeezed but that fake stuff. There were cakes and pastries daily. There were different types of cold vegetables each morning ranging from wilted spinach, cold peas with ham, roasted vegetables, cold potatoes, olives and onions. If you wanted for example hot eggs, smoked salamon or bacon you had to pay extra - not very 4 star at all.

We had a couple of lunches at the hotel on both occasions they were very nice.

The location of the hotel is away from centre of Taormina up very steep hills. On a cloudy day we took advantage of the cloud cover and walked down to the centre, it took about 15 mins. I would imagine only anyone training for the next Olympics would attempt the walk back up hundreds of steps. We used the hotels mini bus facility, we paid a small fee for the week and used to book it each morning for the day ahead, sometimes using it there and back twice a day. Only on 1 occasion did it forget to collect us from town, we phoned the hotel and they sent is straight down for us. One advantage of the hotels location is its stunning views as it so high up.

The staff are great, a real asset to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble, especially the staff in the dining room. Everyone was so friendly and keen to please.

The beaches in Taormina were not great, we did venture down to them on the cable car but quickly retreated back up to the town. The town itself is medieval and gothic. There were lots of nice shops to look around, a few bars and lots of restaurants, we did take the hotels guidance on dining out options after a couple of dodgy meals out.

Overall we felt Taormina was more of a city break rather than a beach holiday. We would recommend it but perssonally would not visit again. Other lovely accomodation we came accross whilst walking around the town was Hotel Villa Ducale, a great central spot but quiet, and if you wanted to spend a little more money, Grande Hotel Timeo, a wonderful location, in the town, we had drinks there and it was beautiful, quite close to the lovely botanical gardens which are simply a must for a walk around and opposite the ampitheatre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    74
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
83
370
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is such a lovely hotel. Staff were so friendly and helpful when we arrived and throughout our stay. Breakfast was excellent and always a good variety. Recommend eating at the hotel on a Monday night and trying some of the fantastic lunch time dishes they provide, food was superb. Views were fantastic of Etna and the town below and at night it was just so picturesque. Standard and cleanliness of the hotel and rooms was outstanding. Taormina is a beautiful place and has certainly gone down as one of our favourite Italian destinations. Would highly recommend a visit and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my second stay at the Villa Angela Hotel, and I was not disappointed again. Despite being towards the end of the season, it clearly never showed on any member of staff, for their dedication and professionalism were always paramount to make my time there extremely comfortable and blissful. The hotel is well situated, away from the buzz from the town. The views are truly breathtaking and all rooms face Mount Etna. The food is delicious and service top class, nothing is ever trouble. The breakfast has a great choice of various foods to please anyone's palate. Lunch was equally the same, and when diner was on, it was a feast of Sicilian food. Nothing better than having a meal on the terrace while being wrapped into the wonderful fragrances from the stunning garden. For those who do not yet know, yes Taormina is built on the mountain face, and the hotel is perched nearly on top of the town, hence the magnificent views and peace. However, the hotel provides an excellent shuttle service, all day and well into the evening.
I would recommend anyone to stay at the Villa Angela.

Room Tip: All rooms face Etna, so it does not really matter were you are in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well not sure quite where to start, having been to sicily many a times and have thourough knowledge of resort and a lot of hotels i can hand on heart say that villa angela as at the top! the number 1 hotel in my oppinion in taormina, you will be greeted with incredible customer service from all staff members who go out of their way to help you and give you info whenever you wish. you are always greeted with a smile from the hotels restaurant staff and once again they will go out of their way to assist you and cater to any special requirements, but the cream on top of the cake is the location, you Cannot!!! beat the views from this hotel, waking up every morning to spectacular views accross the coast towards catania and siracusa and the most active volcano in europe, mount etna!!! there are some lovely hotels in taormina but the villa angela goes that extra mile. massive thank you to Charlie, Katherine, Ada and Mario on reception. Angelo, Clara, Alessandro, Walter, Enrico antonio, andrea and Salvatore in the restaurant and to all the hotel maids. thank you and i will be back soon!!!! :-) ps Jim you should be proud you have a fab hotel and a fab team

Room Tip: Email requests in advance, all seaview rooms so you cant go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We absolutely loved this beautiful hotel and highly recommended it.
All rooms have amazing views of Etna and the beach Giardini Naxos.
The sunset on Mt Etna is so romantic, and also the night view is very very beautiful.
The staff are friendly, professional and helpful (Katherine and all other staffs !), always with a smile.
Breakfast is so good, with nice local produce and of course with really good cappuccino.
Taormina is a very beautiful town, but there are so many tourists in the centre.
So we found that this hotel location was peaceful, calm and cool.
We will return.

Thank you, Jim !!

Room Tip: All rooms with nice views of Etna & sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Upon arriving at Villa Angela I was totally smitten with this beautiful hotel. Myself and my boyfriend were warmly greeted at the hotel reception area upon arrival and provided with all information we needed to know about our stay for the week ahead. It was my first holiday away with my boyfriend and what a perfect choice we made in choosing this hotel! Our suitcases arrived in our hotel room before we did ourselves and upon opening the doors to our balcony we were greeted with the most magnificent view of Mount Etna and surrounding area. On day two of our holiday getting ready for a nice meal out my boyfriend got down on one knee on our hotel balcony and proposed (and of course i said yes) i couldn't think of a more perfect, intimate, romantic place to do it! We informed our wonderful rep Lisa of our exciting news and that night a member of staff from the hotel knocked on our door with a bottle of Prosecco on ice and two flutes! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Going down to breakfast each morning was a treat and a perfect way to start the day! sitting on the terrace overlooking the pool area with the views of Etna just took my breath away! there were many choices of breakfasts on display from cooked breakfasts to the freshest fruit and a selection of fruit juices to the frothiest cappuccinos. The hotel was spotlessy clean throughout and staff always had a smile on their faces. I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff and our rep Lisa who made our stay at Villa Angela such a special one. Unfortunately a week wasn't long enough and as soon as we have saved enough money we will surely be returning. So its not farewell it see you soon and by that time i will be a Mrs!

Room Tip: They are all facing a perfect view so take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a fantastic place! Staff were so helpful, accomodating and friendly. Breakfast was a delight -serve yourself from a great selection of roasted veg, cheese + cold meats, eggs, olives, sun-dried tomatoes, pastries, breads, fresh fruit, yoghurt, lots of tea options, a variety of fruit juices -and really good coffee. The room was lovely, cleaned daily, bed comfy, and the view from our veranda was breath-taking.
We found all the staff to be very attentive and they gave good information on what to do and where to go in the area, and also how to get there -and back.
I have to mention their spinach and ricotta ravioli with pistacio pesto. You really have to try this! The Ravioli Club {formed during this visit} recommend it. Seriously wonderful -a treat for the tastebuds. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#9 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.