We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little wine bar - we loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Grappolo d'Uva

Al Grappolo d'Uva
Via Bagnoli Croci, 6, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
0942625874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 216 Restaurants in Taormina
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely little wine bar - we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have had a relaxing wine and snack every day we have been in Taormina here :) lovely, little gem you must find. Can buy local wines as well, and the snack menu is wonderful!! We love it, friendly service, reasonable pricing!! Comfortable!, and not far from Main Street, was a few shops away from our hotel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visits to this wine bar during our stay in Taormina. The owner and Giancarlo were wonderful hosts. This was one of our favorite experiences, to talk with locals, drink some wine and eat fabulous meats, cheeses, breads, olives and sandwiches. It is a quaint wine bar with wonderful assortments, truly worth seeking out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasing Decor — Fresh Salad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Feeling starved for greens and veggies after days of pasta eating, we found this cozy, charming wine bar near the historic sites. It offers good affordable salads and sandwiches, and stocks most regional wines—the servers are friendly & attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My GF and I spent a couple of hours here just chilling out and trying the local wines.

It is a great little venue and offers great bar snacks too.

This should be on everyone's agenda when visiting Taormina.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed in Taormina for four nights. Found this as staying very near by. Glad we did...light lunches , lovely wine , great surroundings and nice lads to assist you.
Made it a home from home...a visit to Taormina would not be complete without having a glass or three here !
Thanks Guys...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Grappolo d'Uva also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Al Grappolo d'Uva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Grappolo d'Uva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.