We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Condor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Condor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked into this hotel for 4 nights and thought it looked okay for the internet. We were taken to our room and it was so small we couldn't even walk past each other. The shower in the bathroom was the same, you could hardly turn around and the curtain kept sticking to you as there was just no room to move. The cleaners came and we weren't ready to leave and they waited outside the door so we felt pressured. On saying this the breakfast area on the roof was lovely and so were the people. It was a shame about the room which said it had a view but not one you could sit outside and admire, it was only a peak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    211
    49
    11
    2
See reviews for
88
251
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived to the hotel by taxi which I think is the best choice as the streets in the town are rather narrow. The check-in was quick and staff was friendly throughout our stay. They also gave advice about what to see in the area. The hotel is located just behind the town walls on a steep hill, 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street lined with shops and affordable restaurants. And from there it was very easy to get to all tourist attractions. If you are keen on walking then from the hotel there was walking route to the beautiful village of Castelmola.
Our room was in good order, there was a safe to store your valuables. The only problem with our room was a odd smell from the shower drain... which spread throughout the room. Otherwise the bathroom was good, with bidet. There was a small balcony providing views towards the sea. If you are lucky you might wake up one day to a layer of ash on the balcony from nearby volcano Etna. But bear in mind that the first thing you see is the roof of a large car park and the roundabout. Also when we stayed there there were quite advanced construction works on at least two blocks. Also the walls dividing the rooms are not very well insulated and you could easily hear your neighbours.
The breakfast was served on the top floor on the terrace which had much better views, the breakfast is nice and fresh but after a week of having the same thing every day (ham, cheese, rolls and coffee) was a little bit boring. In the evening you could order drinks on the terrace.
To sum up, it's an affordable hotel in not that cheap town and that is its main advantage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Taormina is not an easy destination to find value accommodation with a certain standard - thankfully we found Hotel Condor. The hotel is well looked after and maintained, and spotlessly clean. Parking is 10 Euros/day in a secure parking area as there is no nearby street parking. Our room #35, a sea view room was impeccably clean, and comfortable. I was very impressed with additional pillows provided in the closet that were clean and covered with a pillow protector. For a 2 star hotel, Kleenex was provided which was a surprise. The bathroom was very large, and the shower has plenty of hot water. The in-room safe was the largest of any of our accommodation. We had a balcony with 2 chairs that we were able to enjoy with a sea view however you are set back in the hillside and overlooking a parkade in the foreground but the view of the sea is very nice. The location is ideal as it is a short 10 minute walk through the historical gate to the Corso. Breakfast was simple with a croissant and rolls but the cappuccinos more than made up for it. The staff are charming, considerate and helpful and it is a family hotel. I don't know the name of the older gentleman that worked reception, but he is very caring and kind, a highlight of our interactions at the hotel. I highly, highly recommend Hotel Condor and if we returned to Taormina, this would be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very close to all the historic sites AND the tourist shopping area, this small hotel rewards the driver who can find it with inviting warmth and an attentive staff. Parking is an additional 10 euro/day if you don not want to risk your car on the narrow streets but the room prices are so reasonable that the parking fee is painless. I am writing this in Room 53 which has a nice ocean view from the small balcony. The bathroom has only a shower, but there is plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Great family run hotel. We arrived by bus. Easy to find, but bit of a hill. Well worth the walk as breakfast on the Terrence includes the most incredible view of the sea and city. Plus, homemade peach tiramisu by family member. Little grocery store down the street for snacks and water. We had quad room, very spacious for European standards. Great find and front staff were so helpful and very welcoming to us. Great place for good night sleep and breakfast. The city is explored on foot, very little time spent at hotel, but exceeded our expectations for 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Condor, we had a sea view room with a balcony, which provided an amazing view of one of the most amazing thunder storms I have ever seen! In the morning the sun came out to show a spectacular sea view.

The staff were friendly, giving us good advice on all the sites we could see in the town, and helping with a trip up Etna (which unfortunately the tour company had to cancel due to the weather, but I can't blame the hotel for that). The hotel is a short walk (10 mins max) from the main part of the town, but if you can walk 10 mins then thats no problem

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had a very enjoyable four-night stay at Hotel Condor in April 2012. I had a corner room with a small balcony that overlooked the sea - lovely view and nice place to sit and relax! The room (a double) was a very good size and very clean. The bathroom on the small size but perfectly adequate with a shower cubicle and its own window. It too was very clean. The breakfast on the terrace each morning was a great way to start the day. The location I thought was very good - just a few minutes' walk into the heart of Taormina and all the shops etc. Ilaria and Marcello at the front desk were very helpful and friendly - and spoke English when my limited Italian failed me! Very nice hotel and very good value for money in a town that can be very expensive. Another great thing about this place is it's just down the road from Pasticceria d'Amore, which I found to have the best cannoli in all of Taormina. Yum!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
#18 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condor 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condor Hotel, built on 1968, is owned by the Sparta-Longo family which made the ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Taormina in a warm familiar atmosphere. Its location is just 200 meters from the historical centre but away from the noise and the main traffic roads. The hotel is situated within 4 minutes walking distance to the cableway to the beach, the taxi station and within 8 minutes to the Greek-Roman Theatre, the Public Gardens, the panoramic Main Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Taormina
Hotel Condor Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.