We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the prices and service was excellet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malvasia

Malvasia
Via Apollo Arcageta 8, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
340 3077032
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 221 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Locale piccolo e riservato, attento ai piatti del territorio e della tradizione siciliana.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the prices and service was excellet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Not a very atmosPheric place but the fOod and service makes up for it. Lively peoPle and great food!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    173
    45
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
“Friendly, family-run spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A friendly little spot just beyond the south city gate. Open late, the serve solid Sicilian food: I especially liked the pizza, but the appetizer and wine (rich and fruity) was also good. Dinner was only 20 euros, a la carte. The place feels like family, with a lot of regulars, a kitchen close by, and lots of relatives making sure that everyone is taken care of.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place. Family business.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere. Very good products. Very qualitative sicilian food. Great service! Do not miss it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“wonderful family owned place with outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Found them based on the previous review on Tripadvisor - thank you, mirable!
Warmly welcomed by the couple who own the place. The wife took our orders and served, the husband did the cooking. Excellent finely prepared food, nicely informal service.
The best ricotta cheese we ever tasted (was part of the appetizer platter), the rest was not far behind.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the best place in Sicily.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just came back from this place which we found by coincidance. Its dead seson now in Sicily but this restaurant is a "must" in Taormina. Gorgous food with resonable price. Also, the toilet is like you can eat from it. I have never seen such a toilet in Italy before. There was nobody when we sat down. We were outside but with the time being more and more people came in. Other places were just empty. The waitress, not 20 year old, was the nicest ever. I do recommend this place. Its a pitty we have to leave tomorrow and will not be able to come back. We shared a starter, we had a main course and a wine each. We paid 40E for two of us. Great value!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malvasia also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Malvasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malvasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.