We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Isabella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isabella Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 58, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A real find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had rooms facing over the town to the sea, which fave us a magnificent view. Our rooms though were quite small, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. We found the reception staff to be most helpful. Breakfast wasn't bad, but was not the best we experienced in Italy/Sicily. But the hotel is really well-situated, on the main thoroughfare, with plenty of wonderful shops close to hand! Particularly good when we visited in January 2013 for the really good sales. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    82
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
26
89
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Everytime in Taormina we stay in different hotels, this location of this hotel is one of the best, right on Corso Umberto, it was great for us to stay out very late on a saturday night and just walk just 2min to the hotel !! Staff are helpful and professional. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Very good value for money. Would definitely stay again !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Charming hotel in a fabulous location on Corso Umberto.
The room was spacious and quiet, with a beautiful balcony with views of the Ionian sea.
Breakfast, which was delicious was taken on the roof, and again had simply fabulous views looking down to the sea, and also of Mount Etna.
The staff at breakfast and also on reception were helpful and attentive.
There was a hotel shuttle bus down to the beach, where you can enjoy the facilities of the sister hotel's private beach and spa
There are numerous amazing restaurants in Taormina, Mama Rosa's for pizza down one of the little side streets off Corso Umberto, and L'Incontro which is on the way to the bus station, on the opposite side of the road. It has an unassuming facade, but do not be deceived. The restaurant has a wonderful terrace at the back, and the food is simply sublime.

I will definitely return to Sicily, and also beautiful Taormina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cars are forbidden in this little village so we had to park on top of the hill overlooking town and catch a shuttle bus to the ancient city gate. The carpark is secure and manned so our car was safe. This hotel is in the middle of the town and the staff were so very helpful and meals were delicious in their restaurant.
We strolled around all day , did lots of shopping and came upon a piazza with a little church and amazing views over the sea, had a great lunch in a little cafe. Found a hidden grotto with beautiful gardens in a little back alley. Also there are ruins to explore in the middle of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our first stop on a tour around Sicily.
Parking is an issue, we were told it was walking distance from the public parking garage, well it is, but not with luggage. So, we parked and took a taxi to the hotel. Small hotel but situated on the lively Corso Umberto in Taormina. Breakfast was good and staff friendly.
Would go back.

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the street, it can get a little rowdy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gzira, null, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

the hotel is situated in central taormina corso umberto is one of the most beautiful street we realy enjoyed the place but what we are going to remember most is the beautiful hotel the excelent service and the friendly staff. thk u to alessandra for taking good care of us during breakfast which was always fantastic an other big thk u goes to rosetta who always kept our room spic and span and always there when we needed something and an other big thk u to gulia who was a very big help when we needed information or buses time scheduals.we were given a beautiful room with good aircondition with a mini bar which was always full.we also enjoyed the day we spend at the private beach.thk u to all for a fantastic holiday . family falzon from malta

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a lovely holiday in Taormina and stayed for a week in the Isabella Hotel. It is very centrally located with everthing in Taormina being a short walk away from the hotel - an excellent base for a holiday.

Our room was lovely. It was very spacious and nicely decorated with good air conditioning. We had fabulous views from our room of the greek theatre. Considering the central location, it is actually one of the quietest hotels we have stayed in. I agree with the comments about the bathroom being small, and although it wasn't a problem for us, I can imagine if you are larger, the shower might be difficuly to negotiate. It was however, very clean.

This is the first time we have not gone to a 'beach' resort as we are not really beach people. However, we did use the free lido provisions of the sister hotel, which was a lot easier to do than we thought. Just walk 5 mins to the bus terminal and hop on the mini shuttle bus and then tell the lido what time you would like to be taken back....all free as long as you have your card.

We found the staff to be very friendly, particularly the breakfast staff. Breakfast itself was what you would expect from a continental breakfast buffet but it was nice to have freshly cut pineapple and watermelon. We missed out on the terrace setting the first day as it was chucking it down outside, but after that we ate on the roof terrace every morning which was a lovely added extra.

The only thing that was lacking for me was a pool just to cool down in the afternoon...but not a major issue for us.
Overall a lovely trip, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabella Hotel

Address: Corso Umberto 58, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isabella Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Isabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabella Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.