We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Isabella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isabella Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 58, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Everytime in Taormina we stay in different hotels, this location of this hotel is one of the best, right on Corso Umberto, it was great for us to stay out very late on a saturday night and just walk just 2min to the hotel !! Staff are helpful and professional. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Very good value for money. Would definitely stay again !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    93
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
25
89
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Charming hotel in a fabulous location on Corso Umberto.
The room was spacious and quiet, with a beautiful balcony with views of the Ionian sea.
Breakfast, which was delicious was taken on the roof, and again had simply fabulous views looking down to the sea, and also of Mount Etna.
The staff at breakfast and also on reception were helpful and attentive.
There was a hotel shuttle bus down to the beach, where you can enjoy the facilities of the sister hotel's private beach and spa
There are numerous amazing restaurants in Taormina, Mama Rosa's for pizza down one of the little side streets off Corso Umberto, and L'Incontro which is on the way to the bus station, on the opposite side of the road. It has an unassuming facade, but do not be deceived. The restaurant has a wonderful terrace at the back, and the food is simply sublime.

I will definitely return to Sicily, and also beautiful Taormina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cars are forbidden in this little village so we had to park on top of the hill overlooking town and catch a shuttle bus to the ancient city gate. The carpark is secure and manned so our car was safe. This hotel is in the middle of the town and the staff were so very helpful and meals were delicious in their restaurant.
We strolled around all day , did lots of shopping and came upon a piazza with a little church and amazing views over the sea, had a great lunch in a little cafe. Found a hidden grotto with beautiful gardens in a little back alley. Also there are ruins to explore in the middle of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our first stop on a tour around Sicily.
Parking is an issue, we were told it was walking distance from the public parking garage, well it is, but not with luggage. So, we parked and took a taxi to the hotel. Small hotel but situated on the lively Corso Umberto in Taormina. Breakfast was good and staff friendly.
Would go back.

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the street, it can get a little rowdy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gzira, null, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

the hotel is situated in central taormina corso umberto is one of the most beautiful street we realy enjoyed the place but what we are going to remember most is the beautiful hotel the excelent service and the friendly staff. thk u to alessandra for taking good care of us during breakfast which was always fantastic an other big thk u goes to rosetta who always kept our room spic and span and always there when we needed something and an other big thk u to gulia who was a very big help when we needed information or buses time scheduals.we were given a beautiful room with good aircondition with a mini bar which was always full.we also enjoyed the day we spend at the private beach.thk u to all for a fantastic holiday . family falzon from malta

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a lovely holiday in Taormina and stayed for a week in the Isabella Hotel. It is very centrally located with everthing in Taormina being a short walk away from the hotel - an excellent base for a holiday.

Our room was lovely. It was very spacious and nicely decorated with good air conditioning. We had fabulous views from our room of the greek theatre. Considering the central location, it is actually one of the quietest hotels we have stayed in. I agree with the comments about the bathroom being small, and although it wasn't a problem for us, I can imagine if you are larger, the shower might be difficuly to negotiate. It was however, very clean.

This is the first time we have not gone to a 'beach' resort as we are not really beach people. However, we did use the free lido provisions of the sister hotel, which was a lot easier to do than we thought. Just walk 5 mins to the bus terminal and hop on the mini shuttle bus and then tell the lido what time you would like to be taken back....all free as long as you have your card.

We found the staff to be very friendly, particularly the breakfast staff. Breakfast itself was what you would expect from a continental breakfast buffet but it was nice to have freshly cut pineapple and watermelon. We missed out on the terrace setting the first day as it was chucking it down outside, but after that we ate on the roof terrace every morning which was a lovely added extra.

The only thing that was lacking for me was a pool just to cool down in the afternoon...but not a major issue for us.
Overall a lovely trip, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

As we were checking in, we met someone who told us we would have a great stay at this hotel. Unfortunately our experience was not that satisfying. It began badly as there had been a misunderstanding about getting from the station to the hotel and we had been waiting a while and then taken to the wrong hotel. J at reception denied any responsibility for this eventhough we showed her an email from her to our travel agent about the arrangment. Just an apology would have been nice but we didn't get one. Then we went to our room. We were hoping for a room with a seaview on a high floor but we got a room on a lower floor facing the street. It was so noisy! We had to keep the windows closed at times and then it was dark and got hot as the room was quite small. When the safe was broken and the toilet seat we started to feel as if we had the worst room in the hotel. We mentioned these things at reception but no action was taken. We also had difficulties when we tried to arrange for an early breakfast (only 15 minutes early). The buffet was already set up with a lovely array of cold things and we would have been happy to have some of these but we were not allowed to eat before the official opening time. Instead we were given a bag containing water, an apple and an individually wrapped croissant. I would have liked to take a container of yoghurt from the buffet. We were told there was only a rate for bed and breakfast and not bed only. We never got to eat breakfast there but it did look inviting. We travelled in Italy and Greece for 6 weeks and this was the only hotel where we felt a bit unwelcome. We didn't get a friendly greeting as we entered and left the hotel which we found unusual. Anyway, we were determined not to let our experiences spoil our time in Taormina and they didn't. The hotel is in an excellent location on the main street and close to everything. It was an easy walk to the bus station where our tour to Mt Etna left from. As it turned out, these were the only issues we had on our whole trip which is why we were disappointed with our stay here and how our problems were dealt with.

Room Tip: Just be aware that you may not get the room you request. Not all rooms have a balcony with a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHG_Taormina, Direttore at Isabella Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Ms Helen,
thank you for your kind suggestion. All guests opinions are very important to us.
We apologize for the train station transfer as it's usually made by an external supplier and for the inconvenient regarding the early breakfast. We hope to welcoming you back in the next future and we send you our best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabella Hotel

Address: Corso Umberto 58, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isabella Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Isabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabella Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.