We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taormina base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
Ipanema Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 242, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Taormina base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The very best part of staying here is the staff. They were just superb and were always helpful and happy to deal with any issue. But generally this is a tired hotel in need of some uplift. The rooms were good but in my room the shower cubicle was so small I could not get in or out without the door rubbing my body and when showering my elbows would touch each side. I am not overweight so if you are it would be a problem. The food was OK but breakfast was very very average and predictable. Evening meals were average to sometimes good but not a great choice and the chef always cooked any veg to death - pity. Location was very good 5 min from the cable car stop up to Taormina and near the sea. Views from the balcony were side on but quite pretty bays. Rooms above 405 were best so as to avoid road noise - this was not bad and would be an issue with most hotels in this area. Rooms on the fifth floor are best but limited. The pool had little space around it for lounging and it had a crack all along one side wall - this could be due to subsidence or past earth tremors but not great to see. The sun deck was OK but a bar service or even a drinks machine would have been welcome. Overall a good base but not a luxury experience.

Room Tip: Rooms above 404 are further from the local road. Rooms on the fifth floor. Are best but limited numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    26
    4
    17
See reviews for
21
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooftop pool and sunbeds and a fabulous private beach with the hotel's own shuttle made this a good swimming and sun enjoyment holiday. The food and the staff and internet access were all pretty good too. On the down side the rooms were a bit basic and walls thin. The evenings would have been better if I was a smoker (in the bar area there was no getting away from the smoke) and outside after dark was the home of many mosquitos. Sept 2011.

Room Tip: They were mostly a little aged with so-so AC and quite three star ish. The desk staff were very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food, lots of sea food, staff fantastic, nothing too much trouble. Stayed at hotel Sirius 4 years ago and this far outweighed it in the food stakes. Downside is you need to get the funicular up into Taormina. Positive of this is you can get amazing views on the trip up, and you are close to the sea. Loved it:-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked through Citalia and had a great time - the location of the hotel is good, with plenty to see & do in Taormina itself. The room was absolutely fine and the air conditioning was still on when we left on 7th October (despite other travellers' comments that it went off after September). We took our own kettle and there's a mini bar in the room. We went half board, which is unusual for us as normally we're self catering - the food was fine, a good choice each evening and a wonderful buffet on the Friday with Sicilian music thrown in. Breakfast was fine, plenty of fruit, cereals, boiled eggs, breads,ham/salami/cheese and wonderful Italian coffee. The staff were very efficient and provided great service. We were also very lucky in the other people staying in the hotel. All in all, we'd recommend the hotel and will probably stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: If you are larger than average, ask for a room with a bath & shower - the shower cabinets are sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is in a good position in Taormina Mare, with the beach close by but also access to Taormina via the cable car (2 mins away). We had a good holiday at the hotel but like other reviewers I would say it is 3 star rather than 4. The rooms and public areas were quite dark and needed updating, although everywhere was clean. We did find our room noisey, with the sound from the rooms above and also the plumbing! The staff were very good and helpful. Food was good but the seating arrangements in the dining room could have been better (tables too close together and in a row). The Gala buffet was excellent and we enjoyed the local musicians who entertained us. We loved Taormina, which is very picturesque, it was quite busy in August. We were pleased to have visited the Roman Ampitheatre early and avoided the groups of cruise passengers on their organised visits. We went on two organised trips (through the Thomson rep)to Syracuse and Mount Etna. Both had Rosa as a guide, who was excellent, and we enjoyed both excursions. The trip was a good introduction to Sicily at a reasonible cost.

Room Tip: 4 th or if loucky 5th floor rooms would be quieter and also have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked this holiday with Citalia as we have always had good holidays with them NEVER again this was one of the worst holidays we've ever experienced the hotel was more like a guest house the only good thing was the view from the balcony
The food was terrible as for the bread all we got was 2 slices which were as dry as cardboard,when we complained we were given 2 slices covered with kichen paper apparently to keep it fresh we couldnt believe it.We went to sorrento a few weeks ago in a 4* hotel there is no comparison to this one it put us off from ever going back to Sicily

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Ipanema Hotel for two weeks during August 2012. The hotel is in amazing location, really close to the beach and the cable cars up to Taormina. There are a few small shops that sell general supplies and deli type food and some nice restaurants nearby.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and there were a few members of staff that spoke very good English.

We didn't eat there every night even though we were half board but that was just because there were so many other options of places to eat. It is well worth trying out some other restaurants if your budget allows. The food in the hotel is good quality generally but as you'd expect the choice is narrower than you'd get in a restaurant. Buffet night is the best range of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 242, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Hotel Taormina, Sicily
Hotel Ipanema Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.