We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Lovely hotel. Beautiful position with great views. Very friendly staff and good food. The rooms are really good, traditional decor but with all mod cons and great bathrooms. A good 10 min walk into Taormina ( which is fabulous) so make sure you're reasonable fit and healthy as though it's an easy walk, it's very hot during the peak summer months. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    119
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
223
640
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Carlotta during high season in Italy. We also came to italy with an almost 2 yr old with feeding issues. Let me start off by saying that I have traveled all throughout Europe, including Monte Carlo, Nice and St. Tropez. Villa Carlotta stands alone in terms of luxury and service. They literally fulfilled our every request. Provided the appropriate food for my son, and didn't even charge us for it. The staff there were like family. They went above and beyond. We were very sad to leave them. The grounds are incredible and picture perfect! Their location is top notch and prime in Taormina. Close to everything!!! The rooms were spotless and up to date. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Even when we spoke to taxi drivers and local shop owners, they stood firm in the fact the Villa Carlotta (staff and owner) always treated the people that they work with with courtesy and respect. Looking forward to our next trip to Sicily bc it will be the easiest hotel decison we could make. No brainer! Keep up the great work because it shows! Ciao a tutti!!
The Buscio Family

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Only on our 2nd day of a week stay. A lovely welcome with prosecco and cake. A gorgeous flower arrangement as we celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary this week...thank you...small intimate hotel with friendly staff and although just got here am sure they would assist with requests in their control. Plan to eat here later in the week and am sure it will be great !!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

At the beginning of August, we (two adults, two children aged 13 and 10) stayed at Villa Carlotta's sister, Villa Ducale and were lucky enough to be able to use the facilities and swimming pool at this wonderful hotel. The shuttle bus from Villa Ducale dropped us at the front door, we were very warmly greeted by the reception staff and they directed us to the pool area. The walk to the pool through the hotel gave us an opportunity to peak into a couple of the public areas and they were stunning, really beautiful and the views from the property are incredible, out over the sea! As we arrived at the pool area, we were greeted by a gentlemen who told to us to help ourselves to pool towels and that we could order food and drinks either at the pool bar or use the restaurant if we wished and that he hoped we had a lovely and relaxing day with them. This completely echoed the fab service that we had already experienced at Villa Ducale - these people clearly care about their guests and thoroughly enjoy making them happy. The pool bar is in a pretty garden area, set with loungers and parasols on the grass and some tables and chairs for eating on a paved area. I also spied a gorgeous day bed in the corner too! The pool itself is set down from the garden via a few steps and is small-ish but perfect for a swim or for the children to play in. It's not too deep either, which is always a bonus I think! The area around the pool is decked and has loungers, parasols with small tables for drinks etc and has an incredible view of the sea - beautiful. There is also a toilet and a changing room with a shower down the steps and under the pool area. Both these rooms were spotless and had lovely toiletries and even a hairdryer, we were very impressed!! We found four beds on the deck and settled in, with the children and my Husband getting straight into the pool and me getting a rare chance to lie around and read a book!! Perfect!

After a couple of hours of relaxing we decided to order some drinks and food. The menu at Villa Carlotta is great with quite a wide choice of Sicilian dished and some more international options for people (like our children) who were wary of trying anything new!! We ordered drinks, two pizza's (another guest had told us they are huge, he was so right!), one Margherita and one Mediterranean with mushrooms, tomatoes, peppers, courgettes, aubergines and tomatoes and we also ordered the Carlotta salad which was lovely and consisted of fresh lettuces, peppers, cucumber, olives, sun-dried tomatoes and really beautiful, milky mozzarella cheese. The pizza's were really, really good too and the made the children very happy! The gentleman looking after the pool bar and pool area was really friendly and super-helpful. We asked if we were able to eat at our loungers and this wasn't a problem and he really looked after us during our time here.

The second time we visited Villa Carlotta, we received the very same warm welcome and we took loungers in the garden area and ate our meal (same pizza's at the children's request) at tables at the pool bar. It was truly as relaxing as our first visit, in fact the only problem we encountered on both occasions, was tearing ourselves away from the place and I regret not ordering the Cannoli from the dessert menu - hopefully one day I can return and put that right!! I should also say that the second time we visited, we chose not to take the shuttle bus back to Villa Ducale and walked instead. Villa Carlotta is really well located - close to the town centre, all the great shops and restaurants - it took us roughly 5 minutes to walk there, along the road. It's close to the cable car station for the beach too!

All-in-all, although we didn't stay here, we very much enjoyed the time we did spend here and it definitely contributed to our fabulous holiday. I'd definitely stay here and would recommend it to both couples and families. Grazie, Villa Carlotta!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Mrs LizB,
thank you so much for your amazing review and for describing so well your days spent at Taormina Hotel Villa Carlotta.
It's been a pleasure to serve your family and your well behaved children, we hope to have the chance to see you again next time you come to Taormina.
Kind regards from Quartucci family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Hotel Villa Carlotta and could not be more happy with the hotel and its' staff. An extra bed was put in our room for our daughter and there was plenty of space. The hotel itself is furnished and maintained beautifully. All staff are helpful and friendly and really do go that extra mile to make sure that your stay is faultless. The food at breakfast and in the evening was very good and the view on the terrace was breathtaking. My daughter has a nut allergy and the waiting staff were always aware of this and advised us at to which food contained nuts.
The hotel is well positioned with about a 10 minute stroll into town. We always chose to go through the public gardens which were just 5 minutes away.
A big thank you to Olga and Nathalie for booking restaurant tables and arranging trips. This certainly made our holiday stress free and relaxing as everything was organised for us.
We cannot fault this hotel and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Elaine,
thank you so much for your beautiful review about your last week stay at Villa Carlotta.
A special thank from my self and Nathalie for remembering our names and praising us; it's been a great pleasure to serve you every day and enjoy your fantastic cute daughter.
We hope to see you again in 2015
Kind regards,
Olga and Nathalie, Hotel Villa Carlotta front office managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.bloomfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights July 2013 (sorry for late review). We loved our stay & loved the staff. We actually were traveling from Croatia & our luggage never arrived with us to Italy. The staff was so kind & helped call the airport every day & track down our bags (which came on the last day). The staff gave us extra amenities and we felt very well taken care of! We loved the breakfast -it was outstanding! We actually took a private cooking class & really enjoyed it! The only negative was the location wasn't that great. Be prepared to walk to town. It wasn't that far but it was a walk on the street around curves & uphill. We are able to walk everywhere, so I did not mind it so much but others may. I would highly recommend this little gem of a hotel- we really loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Docbig,
thank you for your lovely review which we all enjoyed.
I honestly disagree with you when you say that Villa Carlotta is "not far from the center but some uphill, etc..." ; by saying this you mean that you are not an expert traveller in Italy. Italy, which is the N.1 most visited country in the world, is made of quaint small towns on hills ... every tuscan, umbrian, apulian and Amalfi coast town need walking mostly along narrow uphill streets ... that's the beauty... even Rome was built on seven hills.
This wrong info may provide a false impression, so let me reassure all our guests that location is absolutely NOT an issue at Villa Carlotta. We are in the center of Taormina at 5/7 minutes easy walk to the pedestrian area; we are in the center close enough to all main attractions but a bit far from the crowd and noise surrounded by gardens with a a stunning view over the Mediterranean.
Kind regards,
Mr Andrea Quartucci, the GM & owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just left this beautiful hotel, after seven relaxing days. This was our third time at Hotel Villa Carlotta(still love it!), and it won't be our last. As usual the staff is absolutly wonderful: they are so helpful and lovley, making the stay even better!

We recommend this hotel based on so many reasons, but you have to experience it yourself! It's simply amazing. Big thanks to the staff, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Norwegian friends,
every year it is such a pleasure to welcome your beautiful family.
There are not words enough to thank you to prefer our luxury boutique hotel to other 5 star hotels in Taormina and we hope we have not deceived you.
We are already looking forward to see you in 2015.

Arrivederci from the whole Hotel Villa Carlotta staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#7 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.