We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in fabulous Taormina !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in fabulous Taormina !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There's not a great deal that hasn't already been said about the Villa Carlotta. It simply does as the 5 star reviews say. My fiancee and I enjoyed 5 nights here recently and it was simply a wonderful stay. I couldn't really fault the place - location, views, interior decor, room, friendly staff, food, pool, gardens and so on - everything scored top marks. My reservation had been made for some time and closer to the time, the staff couldn't have been more helpful - Olga, Simona and Natalie thank you so much. Thanks to Marco in the restaurant too. You have all given us so many memories. This is a beautiful hotel to stay in whether couples or families and ideally located around a 10 minute walk from the town centre or a 15 minute walk down the steps to Isola Bella. That said, you don't have to leave the hotel as the secluded pool area and gardens provide the perfect area for relaxing and with food and drinks being served 'al fresco' throughout the day it's all you need. In the late evening we enjoyed the view from the top floor bar area with views of a glowing Mount Etna - simply stunning. Full marks to all our friends. With fond memories. Stuart & Susan xx

Room Tip: Try a superior or junior suite with an ocean view. We had room 206 on the 1st floor which is dual as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    122
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
233
682
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just came back from a one week stay at the Villa Carlotta Apartment number two , where we were truly spoiled by everything this delightful hotel has to offer . We chose to stay in the apartment a few minutes walk from the hotel for the week of our wedding so we had kitchen facilities, washer and dryer and lots of space for ourselves and our friends. It was so quiet in the apartment we could have slept our days away! Some of our friends stayed in the hotel and we all enjoyed all the amenities the hotel had to offer, the breakfasts where incredible , the views spectacular, the pool area relaxing when we had the time to enjoy it. Our friends and ourselves can't say enough good things about the hotel itself and about the staff Simona, Olga, Nathalie and Cristian .
EVERY staff member had a smile and a greeting for us every day and nothing was too much trouble. I just wish I had more time in my week to talk to all of the staff more!
The hotel also surprised us with beautiful flowers and prosecco in our apartment one evening which we all enjoyed.
It is an easy walk to town and you can meander through the gorgeous public garden on the way. We also found a great spot enroute to town where we would all gather to meet for a fine glass of Sicilian wine called ' al Grappolo d'uva ' on via Bagnoli Croci, just halfway up the hill to the Corso Umberto.
Taormina has something for everyone and The Hotel Villa Carlotta is one its jewels.
We felt spoiled and special and we will be back !

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive and were welcomed and whisked up to the rooftop bar (also the dining area) and given complementary glasses of prosecco whilst looking out to sea or at a sultry smoking Etna. What a great introduction to the hotel.

Nothing we asked was a problem and Simona was a real gem. Unfortunately we could only stay for one night but the hotel has left an impression so I'm sure we will be back.
Villa Carlotta is situated close to the town so walking in for supper was easy and we had a gentle meander through the town and ate in the ruins at a fabulous restaurant as recommended and booked by Simona.

The late night drink in the bar was amazing watching the lava flow from Etna - feeling very safe despite the visible display of power from Mother Earth.

Highly recommended and sad to leave after such a short stay - definitely coming back for another dose of Villa Carlotta and Taormina in the near future

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We drove to Taormina from Mt. Etna and upon arrival got a little turned around on the streets (a few times), when we found Hotel Villa Carlotta it was an amazing relief to turn over our car to the Valet. As soon as we walked in we were welcomed by the staff and managers, our room wasn't ready yet (as it was only around 11) so they led us to the roof top restaurant to welcome us with a drink and a sweet snack. The view from up there was just beautiful!!! We then went to spend some time by the pool, which is like a little oasis. Our room was huge, the bathroom was modern and clean, the beds were comfortable and the only thing to regret was we only stayed one night.

Everyone who worked here was so nice and friencly and fun to talk with, they took excellent care of us. We were kind of tired and lazy that night so after exploring Taormina in the afternoon and seeing all the crowds we decided to have dinner at the hotel. The chef was very nice and checked on us, along with the servers, the view was great. Breakftast the next morning was about the most impressive breakfast I've ever seen they had so many wonderful things to choose from and it felt more like a weekend brunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Fabulous hotel in Taormina. We chose this hotel after reading many reviews on various different hotels in the area and we were not disappointed! Stayed in a garden terrace room, very nice with a huge bathroom & double walk in shower for 2!! Hotel is small compared to some, but that's what we wanted. Breakfast is superb with excellent choice, the food at the restaurant was also very good. Staff and service here is fantastic, could not do enough to help us, polite, friendly and always making sure we were ok and enjoying ourselves!! Amazing hotel on an amazing island!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very nice place to stay in Taormina. We stayed in apartament 1 as family of four and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the kitchen facilites was very modern. All the staff was great, always smiling and ready to satisfy the guests. Especial thanks to Mara!! Breakfast is wonderful. Don't miss pistacchio canole and the fresh red orange juice while contemplating the great ocean and Etna views. The location is perfect, close to the city center and the Greek anfitheater. Easy access to the gorgeous Isola Bella. We highly recommend this small luxury hotel and will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just finished a wonderful holiday in Italy . Four weeks away from Australia . The highlight had to be Villa Carlotta . Exceptional hotel , beautiful bedrooms , fantastic restaurant and the most wonderful staff . The only criticism we could make is the pool area . Definitely requires some maintenance . Outside of this a wonderful hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Lynne from Perth, Australia,
I would like to thank you for your positve review and for saying Villa Carlotta was the highlight of your 4 weeks trip to Italy ! Thank you also for praising so much our very well trained staff.
I must tell you that I am very surprised to hear your criticism about the maintanence of our pool which is normally pointed out as with the highest mark. The garden and pool area are among roman ruins which made it pretty small but very cosy; it is extremely clean and very well maintened and it is managed 10 hous a day constantly by our fantastic and beloved pool boy Maicon from Brasil. If you read every single review the pool area is magnificed by all guests: wonderful flowers, perfect grass, convenient kiosk where we serve drinks and meals, etc. I know that everyone's opinion can be different and so I accept and respect your point of you but fortunately most people think differently.
Thank you again for your visit and your high mark,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner and manager of Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.