We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very hard to top this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very very hard to top this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Terrific location, quiet with phenomenal views of the sea, wonderful engaging service, very nice spacey rooms with all amenities and good beds, top notch breakfast. This is truly a small luxury hotel of this world, and I would really struggle to point out negatives.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are a bit more expensive but offer unforgettable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    119
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
223
639
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Villa Carlotta and it was probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.The hotel itself was amazing...from the staff..Andreas (owner) every morning would greet and chat with us during breakfast and often times suggest places throughout the town. The rooms were beautiful..spacious and done with all the small details. They upgraded us with a sea view and were really treated VIP
The hotel spoke very good english and was very helpful in suggesting ideas on how to go shopping, beach etc
The highlight was THE BREAKFAST!!
What a spread! From the best OJ i have ever tasted to the pastries, fruit and tomatoes and fresh cold cuts...this place was fit for a king!
Our stay couldnt have been better!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 5-day stay in Taormina where we went for a friend's wedding. Having found Villa Carlotta on tripadvisor and reading all the wonderful reviews, my husband and I decided to give it a try . . . and it is SO worth it. From the moment we walked through the door the staff were so friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home. We were upgraded to the junior suite in the Tower and it was perfect, and whilst we did not have a balcony, it really didn't matter since we had views all around, besides we took full advantage of the terrace upstairs where breakfast is served and the view . . . stunning!
My husband and I travel a lot and usually find it difficult to sleep well in hotel beds, but I have to admit, we had no such problems here. Quite the contrary!
We were in need of a break, and we certainly got it at the Villa Carlotta. We were sad to leave but are so looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Carlotta. The staff is very friendly and attentive and they really make you feel at home! They also give good tips for restaurants, interesting villages,...The rooms are spacious and very clean. Fresh flowers on night table. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace from where you have a fantastic view! Fresh juices, vegetables, fruit, cheese,...The pool area is very nice, not to big, quiet and peaceful. There is a shuttle service to the beach (which is a beautiful bay), and they give you a beach bag with fresh towels. We had dinner for several times in the restaurant, the food & wine were excellent. Because it was our 2 year wedding anniversary they offered us a free dinner, which we really appreciated ! Taormina village was only a 5 minute walk.
This was definitely not our last visit to Villa Carlotta! We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the prettiest places we've ever been to. We have never experienced such wonderful and attentive service before. Everybody was warm, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. At some hotels the staff try to give good service but it comes over pompous or patronising. At Villa Carlotta they all have just the right balance, from the reception to the waitress who gave us warm kisses and hugs when we left.. Our room on the first floor was lovely with a wonderful sea view, overlooking the intimate gardens. Breakfast in the beautiful rooftop terrace restaurant was outstanding with delicious Sicilian recipes of meats, vegetables, pastries, fruits and hot dishes. Only a short walk to the main town of Taormina which was charming and interesting. This hotel and staff fully deserve all the rave reviews and we very much look forward to returning. Thank you for making our holiday such a delight.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of their sea view rooms or suites, if possible with own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel gets consistently great reviews and they are well deserved. It has an excellent location within easy walking distance of the main sites and the funicular to the beach. There is also a drop off laundry right around the corner if you find the hotel charge of 3€ for laundering a pair of sox a bit steep. We had 5 days x2 of sox and underwear washed and folded for 10€.

The dining terrace has great views of Mt Etna and the coastline and serves a great breakfast.

Our only gripe is that 20€ per day is a bit steep for valet parking especially considering most guest drop their car off when they check in and don't pick it up until they check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Instead of writing paragraph upon paragraph about how wonderfully perfect Hotel Villa Carlotta in Taormina is, here are some of what we found to be the hotel's highlights:

* Unbeatable staff; vey warm, along with being very attentive to all requests
* Beautifully decorated and perfectly comfortable hotel rooms
* Old World beauty with spectacular views including view of Mt. Etna
* Outstanding breakfasts and dinners
* Close proximity (walking distance) to all the highlights; Corso Umberto, The Greek Theatre, and Castelmola

All of the above are just a part of our memorable stay at Hotel Villa Carlotta; we could not have asked for more! We will definitely be back!!

Richard and Donna ~
Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Donna and Richard,
it's been fantastic to share with you the wonderful time you had during your honeymoon.
Our little jewel is loved by many but indeed is a special place for honeymoons and anniversaries.
Thank you for expressing in brief what Villa Carlotta is like and please respect your promise to come back every year .
All the best wishes for your life together from Villa Carlotta staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#7 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.