We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patricia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Patricia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Taormina. The hotel is an old building, decorated with great Italian taste and class. All the employees are really kind and make you feel at home. The rooms are very confortable with great view to the sea and nice terraces. The breakfast in the terrace is lovely and the food is delicious. The relation quality and price is optimal. I really recomend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Patricia,
simply "gracias" for the beautiful words expressed after your recent stay at Villa Carlotta, we are all looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    128
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
260
740
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Carlotta for 2 nights in our 10 day trip to Sicily and it was an absolute highlight. The location is ideal, just 5-10 minutes walking to the downtown and the views are breathtaking from the hotel, particularly the breakfast area. I have rarely seen such a gorgeous view. The staff are gracious and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed hanging out by the pool and relaxing. There is a great balance of being able to relax with lots of surrounding things to explore and do. I highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

With any hotel the staff are key. We came away from Villa Carlotta having stayed there for 8 nights, knowing all of them by name. We left feeling that we had made friends with them all. Then you add on the fact that the hotel is perfectly situated, the rooms outstanding and kept spotlessly clean. The restauraunt brilliant for its location, service and food. This stay was very important at it was our wedding aniversary and only days before we had learnt that my wife had breast cancer. The magic stay enabled us to be totally positive for a favourable outcome. Thank you all.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra to have a room with a balcony PS If you have a hire car the extra parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guests from Bedford (UK),
it was wonderful to read such gracious and sweet words and your perfect description of what Villa Carlotta looks like.
We feel proud and happy to have made your stay during a sensitive time of your life so enjoyable and pleasant, we have scored one goal !
WE are strongly looking forward to your next visit in 2014 as per your promise.
All our best,
Fam. Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I could list the names of all the fabulous staff, but I don't want them to feel like we're stalking them. This boutique luxury hotel is beautifully situated and has a gorgeous breakfast included with the room, but the thing that takes it over the top is the "service," which felt more like... love - never obsequious, always helpful in an almost relaxed way...like, "of course we can take care of that for you...no biggie." Also, in a town with a culture which is, at least on the surface, pretty "traditional," the fact that we NEVER felt even the raise of an eyebrow at our queerness was icing on the cake. Who knew Taormina was "gay-friendly?!" Thank you so much for a great week, Nathalie, Marco, Ricardo, Simone, Raymond, the breakfast ladies, Chef, and every single member of the Villa Carlotta staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The staff here could not have been more gracious or accommodating. The hotel is small, somewhat expensive, and worth every cent. The staff assisted us with our taxis, car, reservations and other needs. The night of our arrival (at nearly 11:00 PM) they kept the full kitchen crew on hand and prepared an a la carte dinner for us, dismissing our idea of having just a sanwich and drink.The rooms seem to all have views of the sea, and breakfast outdoors over-looking the Mediterranean could not be better.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in 05 seem a bit larger, possibly. There are three rooms n the lowest level with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Villa Carlotta put the icing on a fantastic week in Taormina. The staff was friendly, efficient and made us feel so welcome. The room was immaculate, comfortable and had an amazing view.The breakfasts were extraordinary in terms of the assortment and the quality of food. Dinner included some very unique dishes created by engaging chef, David Costa. There were no negatives for Villa Carlotta other than we hated to leave!

Room Tip: higher floors overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent 5 lovely nights at the Villa Carlotta. The hotel, which has been beautifully decorated, has lovely sea views and although not in the centre of Taormina is only a 10 minute stroll away which is particularly beautiful through the communal gardens. It was nice to be able to get away from the very busy Corso Umberto occasionally!
Our room, overlooking the sea with a balcony/terrace and sun loungers, was very comfortable and always clean - the chambermaids were excellent and always happy to fit round you and to come back at a more convenient time, if necessary.
The food, for all meals, at the hotel was delicious - from a wonderful array at breakfast (too great a choice to list here!), a lovely lunch in the garden and delicious dinner on the roof terrace. All the waiting staff were friendly and helpful.
Last, but definitely not least, were the reception staff - Olga, Simona, Natalie and Riccardo. They were amazing! So friendly, right from the minute you arrived until you, sadly, had to leave. They were extremely helpful and came up with excellent recommendations for restaurants and places to visit, both locally and further afield. We can't fault them and are extremely grateful to them for all their help - nothing was too much trouble for them. Thank you!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#8 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#28 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.