We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100%” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Padua, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“100%”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I am a seasoned traveler and not easily impressed.
The first thing you notice is the amazing fragrance throughout the hotel. Smells get me sick but this was so light and fresh with such a tranquil quality to it, whomever picked it really knew what they were doing. This choice was not by accident.
That goes for every other detail in the hotel. I liken it to the gramercy park hotel NYC. But this hotel was very calming and the service is is top notch.
The staff is genuinely friendly and warm.
We had a jr suite, the room is generous for a family of three in Europe, I am aware that American standards are different, and have read reviews that complain about the room size. Those people should do their homework on euro travel. This room is above average size and very comfortable.
Lovely sitting room with spectacular views on top floor. We sat and enjoyed pre dinner drinks.
Breakfast is over the top! A vegan would have no problem they have a wonderful assortment of hot and cold dishes that would satisfy all. The wait staff are also attentive and very eager to make your holiday one you would not forget.
This hotel is a must on any bucket list. Amazing. Thank for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear arj826 from Padua,
I would like to thank you for the beautiful words and praises expressed after your recent stay at Villa Carlotta. We particularly appreciated your pointing out about our above average sizes of the rooms which of course are not comparable with those in USA or Australia ; after all if you choose to stay in an antique villa and a boutique hotel you are looking for that something special design and atmosphere rather than staying in a large group-like hotel. But our guests know that and fortunately seem to like us so much.
Looking forward to your next visit in August,
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    116
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
219
622
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite with a sea view for 4 nights at Villa Carlotta at the end of our trip to Sicily and were very glad we chose to travel to Taormina last as the town and the hotel were both really enjoyable places to be. The room was very clean, a good size and the bed was very comfortable. We found the pillows provided too hard and asked for feather ones instead.
Breakfast was scrumptious and the waiting staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We are suffering withdrawal symptoms from the delicious pastries on offer each morning. We also had an excellent dinner on our first night.
Everyone we encountered at the hotel was really friendly and went out of their way to assist. One afternoon we fancied a cup of tea (there are, unusually, tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms), so my husband went to ask for fresh milk. He returned empty handed a minute or so later because a staff member was going to deliver the milk herself, which she promptly did, along with a selection of delicious, home made and freshly cooked coconut macaroons!
Parking is a problem in Taormina and we paid a lot for the hotel to park our car. There are public car parks quite a walk away from Villa Carlotta which might be worth considering to overcome that fee.
If we return to Sicily, Villa Carlotta would certainly be on our list to revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a lovely hotel! The staff could not have been more helpful or kind, from those at the front desk to the staff in the dining room. Breakfast was just wonderful and to eat it overlooking the ocean only added to the experience. Dinners we ate at the hotel were very good too, thanks to the creative young chef. You are close enough to everything in Taormina so that you can walk around and almost forget about your car. Our first room was lovely but a little noisy because of the location, but getting moved was not a problem. When we wanted to lounge about and read before dinner, we used the library on the top floor with it's spectacular view. (To be fair, the view from the room was pretty spectacular itself!) We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Carlotta.

Room Tip: Our lovely room nearest the front desk was a little bit noisy, but once we moved one floor up, we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The first time i came to this hotel i was totally smitten by its charm, beauty and delicate touches. Truly a jewel of the hotel industry. Now i have returned and all i can say is that i totally reconfirm my views from the first time i stayed in this hotel.
The stuff are simply top notch, very welcoming, always attentive to your needs, and carry a smile all the time.... truly dedicated to their jobs and roles.....
This is surely a hotel to return to and to recommend....
A true representation of the best Italy can offer.....
Well done, keep it up.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Dong Nai, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had an amazing 10 days, in this wonderfully romantic hotel, for our honeymoon. The room was spacious as was the bathroom and they even provided us with a massive basket of sweet breads and fruit. The view from the terrace is truly stunning and the catacombs (if I'm right in saying that's what they are) in which the hotel seems have built around help lull you into a sense of history and peacefulness. The pool although small and heavily laden with chlorine is still a lovely place to relax away from the constant drone of scooters and the crowded streets of Taormina. The staff give us great advice as to how to and where to travel, the bus trip up Mt Etna was a particular highlight. The breakfast was huge, internet was fast and whats more the staff were wonderful. Admittedly I wouldn't stay here with young children, only because it is such a relaxing place. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Don't open your eyes when swimming under the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear MartyMCCaff,
we would like to thank you and your wife fore staying at Villa Carlotta last summer and for remembering so well your enjoyable stay.
Yes thank you for pointing out the beauty of our roman catacombs where we made a charming lounge which really makeds the difference !
We hope to have the chance to have you back at Villa Carlotta soon and send you our warmest regards.
Mr Riccardo, booking Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. We stayed in a great apartment, with a very good living room, a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed ... The view from the balcony of the apartment is wonderful... You see the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna. The hotel staff is very kind, responsive and professional. We had three wonderful days. We were very well received by Simona and Riccardo. They kept continous contact with us since the moment we made the reservation online... We recommend the hotel Villa Carlotta!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I Stayed here quite sometime ago but completely forgot to add my review! The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble! A real gem in an amazing place. I stayed on my own whilst on business in the area. The breakfast area had a relaxed atmosphere but was every so tasty! The Breakfast staff, esp Maria was the most genuine kind women i have ever met! I can see why they win so many awards!

Amazing views of Mount Etna!

Keep it up - i will be returning! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CTKev,
thank you so much for your wonderful review which we highly appreciated.
As you noticed we all at Villa Carlotta strive to provide our guests with the utmost high service together with a charming ambiance and beautiful panoramic rooms surrounded by a very elegant and informal envinronment.
Thank you for your appreciation for breakfast, we have become very popular for this special event !!!
We hope that you will soom come back to visit us!
Kind regards from all Villa Carlotta staff and Mary in particular,
warm regards,
Fam. Quartucci, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#7 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.