We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Ottawa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a lovely hotel! The staff could not have been more helpful or kind, from those at the front desk to the staff in the dining room. Breakfast was just wonderful and to eat it overlooking the ocean only added to the experience. Dinners we ate at the hotel were very good too, thanks to the creative young chef. You are close enough to everything in Taormina so that you can walk around and almost forget about your car. Our first room was lovely but a little noisy because of the location, but getting moved was not a problem. When we wanted to lounge about and read before dinner, we used the library on the top floor with it's spectacular view. (To be fair, the view from the room was pretty spectacular itself!) We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Carlotta.

Room Tip: Our lovely room nearest the front desk was a little bit noisy, but once we moved one floor up, we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    853
    112
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
196
567
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The first time i came to this hotel i was totally smitten by its charm, beauty and delicate touches. Truly a jewel of the hotel industry. Now i have returned and all i can say is that i totally reconfirm my views from the first time i stayed in this hotel.
The stuff are simply top notch, very welcoming, always attentive to your needs, and carry a smile all the time.... truly dedicated to their jobs and roles.....
This is surely a hotel to return to and to recommend....
A true representation of the best Italy can offer.....
Well done, keep it up.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Dong Nai, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had an amazing 10 days, in this wonderfully romantic hotel, for our honeymoon. The room was spacious as was the bathroom and they even provided us with a massive basket of sweet breads and fruit. The view from the terrace is truly stunning and the catacombs (if I'm right in saying that's what they are) in which the hotel seems have built around help lull you into a sense of history and peacefulness. The pool although small and heavily laden with chlorine is still a lovely place to relax away from the constant drone of scooters and the crowded streets of Taormina. The staff give us great advice as to how to and where to travel, the bus trip up Mt Etna was a particular highlight. The breakfast was huge, internet was fast and whats more the staff were wonderful. Admittedly I wouldn't stay here with young children, only because it is such a relaxing place. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Don't open your eyes when swimming under the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear MartyMCCaff,
we would like to thank you and your wife fore staying at Villa Carlotta last summer and for remembering so well your enjoyable stay.
Yes thank you for pointing out the beauty of our roman catacombs where we made a charming lounge which really makeds the difference !
We hope to have the chance to have you back at Villa Carlotta soon and send you our warmest regards.
Mr Riccardo, booking Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. We stayed in a great apartment, with a very good living room, a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed ... The view from the balcony of the apartment is wonderful... You see the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna. The hotel staff is very kind, responsive and professional. We had three wonderful days. We were very well received by Simona and Riccardo. They kept continous contact with us since the moment we made the reservation online... We recommend the hotel Villa Carlotta!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I Stayed here quite sometime ago but completely forgot to add my review! The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble! A real gem in an amazing place. I stayed on my own whilst on business in the area. The breakfast area had a relaxed atmosphere but was every so tasty! The Breakfast staff, esp Maria was the most genuine kind women i have ever met! I can see why they win so many awards!

Amazing views of Mount Etna!

Keep it up - i will be returning! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CTKev,
thank you so much for your wonderful review which we highly appreciated.
As you noticed we all at Villa Carlotta strive to provide our guests with the utmost high service together with a charming ambiance and beautiful panoramic rooms surrounded by a very elegant and informal envinronment.
Thank you for your appreciation for breakfast, we have become very popular for this special event !!!
We hope that you will soom come back to visit us!
Kind regards from all Villa Carlotta staff and Mary in particular,
warm regards,
Fam. Quartucci, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just returned from our sojourn in Sicily - with our time at Villa Carlotta as the highpoint of our trip. As the Hotel is closed in January - we stayed in one of the nearby Villa Carlotta Apartments - and it was thoroughly delightful in every respect. Beautifully decorated and executed, spacious and comfortable - we felt deliciously at home. Just a few steps from the Giardino Communale - the location was as exquisite as it was convenient. Ricardo, Simona and Patricia were exemplary and my husband and I will surely return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We had the apartment on the first floor - but I am sure all 3 apartments are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Robin B. from New York.
it was really lovely to read your positive feedback just after your stay in our apartments in January .
On behalf of my collegues Simona and Patrizia and the owner Mr Quartucci I would like to thank you for staying with us. As you mention our luxury apartments are very nice and well appointed and even if the hotel is closed there is a full team at guests' full disposal during their stay.
It was lovely every morning to have suuch long talks with your husband about the world and tourism, we all truly are looking forward to your next visit in the summer 2013.
Warmest regards from Hotel Villa Carlotta staff
Mr. Riccardo C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Villa Carlotta, our sixth & final stop on a month long tour of Italy was everything we expected. A beautiful boutique hotel, luxurious, gracious & totally welcoming. We had a Junior Suite overlooking the pool and gardens with ocean views beyond that. The room was beautifully furnished though smaller than expected and the balconies not large enough to sit out. That said it was so hot that it would have been too uncomfortable to do so anyway. We could not fault anything really, the bed was superb, (so comfy), it was very quiet with added blackout drapes,well serviced and quite spotless.

Our two favourite venues, the rooftop terrace restaurant and beautiful pool & garden area. Upon arrival we were taken to the rooftop for a welcome drink (beer, prosecco, juice) and time to enjoy the fabulous views out over the sea & to Etna in the distance. It was so beautiful we decided to dine there that night and we actually ate in on three occasions during our stay when we wanted a a quieter evening. I have to say breakfasts were awesome, such a spread with everything imagineable - you couldn't fail but gain at least a couple of extra pounds by just looking. Wonderful mediterranean roasted vegetables, meats, cheeses and the cakes & pastries tasted like they had come straight from Nonna's kitchen. I want to go back just for those, they were so good ... and the coffee was also fantastic - a great way to begin each day. The pool area was small and at times it seemed to be overrun by a couple of family groups with small children but still nice to enjoy when you wanted to relax for a couple of hours. The hotel runs a free shuttle service to a couple of beaches where you can also spend the day. Also loved the short walk into Taormina via the beautiful gardens along the way - great location to stay in.

Of course none of this works unless you have a dedicated team striving to make your stay a pleasurable one. Villa Carlotta can be very proud of their wonderful staff who obviously enjoy being a part of this hotel family. I cannot remember everyone's names but I can still see their smiling faces, especially Simona, Riccardo, Ajith and the lovely waiter in the restaurant each night. Nothing was too much trouble and whatever we requested was provided in a most caring manner. Honest, unbiased recommendations for the best places to eat, great tables reserved for us, maps, directions and suggestions for our day trips, they took care of our parking, absolutely everything. And when we left, they were there at the front of the hotel waving us goodbye - it was like parting from family or close friends. Lovely hotel, lovely week and Sicily the highlight of our travels - we hope to come back one day !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#7 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.