We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A class act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Villa Carlotta, our sixth & final stop on a month long tour of Italy was everything we expected. A beautiful boutique hotel, luxurious, gracious & totally welcoming. We had a Junior Suite overlooking the pool and gardens with ocean views beyond that. The room was beautifully furnished though smaller than expected and the balconies not large enough to sit out. That said it was so hot that it would have been too uncomfortable to do so anyway. We could not fault anything really, the bed was superb, (so comfy), it was very quiet with added blackout drapes,well serviced and quite spotless.

Our two favourite venues, the rooftop terrace restaurant and beautiful pool & garden area. Upon arrival we were taken to the rooftop for a welcome drink (beer, prosecco, juice) and time to enjoy the fabulous views out over the sea & to Etna in the distance. It was so beautiful we decided to dine there that night and we actually ate in on three occasions during our stay when we wanted a a quieter evening. I have to say breakfasts were awesome, such a spread with everything imagineable - you couldn't fail but gain at least a couple of extra pounds by just looking. Wonderful mediterranean roasted vegetables, meats, cheeses and the cakes & pastries tasted like they had come straight from Nonna's kitchen. I want to go back just for those, they were so good ... and the coffee was also fantastic - a great way to begin each day. The pool area was small and at times it seemed to be overrun by a couple of family groups with small children but still nice to enjoy when you wanted to relax for a couple of hours. The hotel runs a free shuttle service to a couple of beaches where you can also spend the day. Also loved the short walk into Taormina via the beautiful gardens along the way - great location to stay in.

Of course none of this works unless you have a dedicated team striving to make your stay a pleasurable one. Villa Carlotta can be very proud of their wonderful staff who obviously enjoy being a part of this hotel family. I cannot remember everyone's names but I can still see their smiling faces, especially Simona, Riccardo, Ajith and the lovely waiter in the restaurant each night. Nothing was too much trouble and whatever we requested was provided in a most caring manner. Honest, unbiased recommendations for the best places to eat, great tables reserved for us, maps, directions and suggestions for our day trips, they took care of our parking, absolutely everything. And when we left, they were there at the front of the hotel waving us goodbye - it was like parting from family or close friends. Lovely hotel, lovely week and Sicily the highlight of our travels - we hope to come back one day !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    887
    114
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
212
580
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Villa Carlotta at the end of October with our two small daughters aged 5 and 2. We were a little anxious about taking two such young children to such a grown up, luxury hotel but we needn't have worried. From the minute we arrived, fairly late in the evening, we were looked after with great care - pasta and prosecco arrived within minutes of us settling into our room. Our first two nights were spent in the tower suite, a really stunning room with beautiful views out to sea from huge windows. We then moved to Apartment one, again beautifully arranged and perfect for us as a family with small children. As many others have said, breakfast was magnificent and made a great start to the day. But for us, it was the staff who made Villa Carlotta such a very, very special place. Our children were treated like royalty and nothing was ever too much trouble from hot chocolate at breakfast to tucking up their teddies everyday in their beds. When our eldest daughter got chicken pox halfway through our holiday, and although we were in the apartment, which was a few metres down the road from the main hotel, breakfast was brought to us at no extra charge - as well as a doctor when we needed one - and again we were made to feel that nothing was beyond the wonderful staff. And finally when it was time to go home, we headed on foot to the bus stop only to find the hotel's owner, Mr Quartucci, had brought the rest of our luggage up to the bus station in his car. We absolutely loved our stay at the Villa Carlotta and in Taormina (which turned out to be a wonderful place to go with young children even though we didn't make it to Etna due to chicken pox)and we absolutely and unreservedly recommend it to anyone who goes to Taormina. We'll certainly be going back.

Room Tip: The tower Suite has beautiful views. It is on two floors with a spiral staircase connecting the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Catwallis from London,
I would like to personally thank you for the beautiful comment and the so many praises you posted after your October stay at Villa Carlotta.
I am truly happy to know that you not only enjoyed your family trip but also were struck by the level of our service. At Villa Carlotta we consider our clients like guests, in a private luxury large villa but guests and if there is a problem that becomes our problem. Our motto is "small is beautiful" and by choosing a boutique hotel with only 26 rooms you know that you are going into a travel experience not a mere hotel stay.
Thank you also for pointing out the stunning Tower Suite; it is a two storey large suite with two floors connected by a serpentine wrough iron staircase with huge windows overlooking our bay, it is a very special room for us.
Let me wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas and a fantastic 2013!
Regards from Villa Carlotta,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of October and thought that Villa Carlotta was excellent in all respects. The hotel staff without exception were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast is undoubtedly a highlight, taken on a terrace on the top floor with stunning views of Mount Etna (freshly covered with snow while we were there) which often seemed to be at its best early in the day before the clouds built up. The breakfast buffet selection was one of the finest I have ever seen (including omelette, stuffed tomato and peppers, and vegetable fritters) if at times a little bizarre (cauliflower as a hot breakfast item - what are you like?). There was plenty of fruit available, cold meats and cheeses, yoghourt and fruit juices (I particularly enjoyed the blood orange juice).

We stayed in a garden suite (Room 21) which we would particularly recommend as it had its own private patio area with steps down to the lovely garden and swimming pool. Rooms on higher floors would of course enjoy a better view of the coast.

The staff very kindly arranged for us to visit Villa Ducale, the sister hotel, one evening. We were taken there and back by shuttle bus and enjoyed drinks on their terrace with fabulous views from a position high above Taormina.

All in all a fantastic place to stay, fully deserving of its high ratings on Trip Advisor

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden suite (Room 21) which we would particularly recommend as it had its own privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in the apartment for two families which was so comfortable that we settled in just like it was our own. Everything from the charming furnitures to well-equipped kitchen made the apartment exceptional, in a sense that it allowed us not only to stay but to live in Taormina. Everyday, we would go to mercado to get some fresh catches which we would cook them in a way taught by kind Taorminans. Then, we would sit in the cosy living room and dose off a little enjoying gentle Sicilian winter sunlight. The window of living room is facing South, meaning abundant sunlight all day long.The view from the window is breath-taking, offering a panorama of Meditereanian sea and Mount Etna. The apartment was spacious and just so cosy that you can spend a whole afternoon in it without feeling uncomfortable. It is located close to city center but distant enough so that it is quite at night. It is also just a minute away form the botanic garden, a nice place to walk in the morning and in the sunset.
Our days in the apartment has also been very comfortable thanks to the hotel staffs who were very professionel and helpful. They even took care of our forgotten belongings swiftly, to which we are extremely gratefeul.
To summarize, it was an apartment which really allows you to relax and plunge into the daily life of Taormina. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

When we walked into the front door of the hotel,we were met by the owner Mr Andrea Quartucci, who happened to be there at the time.He immediately gave us his full attention....asked us to identify which bags went to which room,and then said to us "leave to bags to us..we will put them in the rooms" It was about noon and the rooms were not ready yet.Andrea,in true Sicilian fashion said "you must be hungry come with me".He took us by elevator to the third floor and we were overwhelmed by the open air patio which made up the dining room, which overlooked the sea He called Mary, who operates the dining room and told her that we had just arrived and asked if she could open the dining room a little bit early so she might serve as. Mary was kind... Sweet...attentive.. She could not do enough for us. She gave us menus and served us our lunch even though the kitchen was not yet open.Villa Carlotta is one of the most charming hotels that I have ever stayed in. The hotel is magnificently decorated...... the rooms are extremely comfortable and have wonderful views. The staff reflected the kindness and attention that Andrea gave us upon our arrival. Mary was extraordinarily kind to us and so attentive and gracious during our visit, ready to assist us in any way in the dining room. And the food.."MAMA MIA", I thought my Sicilian Nonna was in the kitchen.The variety.... Quality..... Selection of the food would satisfy anyone's desires.The first time we went up to breakfast, we were overwhelmed with the extraordinary selection of possible items from which to choose, and all were not only beautifully presented but extremely satisfying.The same was true for all the meals we had at the hotel The entire staff was so attentive to all of our requests and treated us as family.I believe my son plans to bring his wife back for their anniversary. There is no reason to stay in any other hotel and Taormina. We were here at my request,I had invited my three children..49..47..45.. without spouses or grandchildren,to accompany me to Sicily for their first visit. Our stay at the Villa Carlotta continues to be one of the most significant highlights of the trip. What better way for my children to learn effectively about their heritage.The hotel is within walking distance to all the shops and the main streets of Taormina. I cannot think of one reason for anyone to stay anywhere else when they visit Taormina

Room Tip: top floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Anthonyp,
yours has been one of the most beautiful reviews we have ever received, I can't say thank you enough on behalf of all the member of the staff you quoted and those you didn't.
It's been simply special to meet you and your grown children, all so nice and polite and to realise how proud you and they are about your sicilian heritage.
Thank you for the so many praises and for having enjoyed our hotel so much.
We are looking forward to your next visit and in the meanwhile we would like to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a glorious 2013 !

Mr. Andrea Quartucci, Villa Carlotta owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Villa Carlotta apartments with my father only last week. Although the main hotel was closed, we were only a short walk or text message away from assistance when we needed it. A big thankyou to the front-desk staff, Riccardo and Simona, and Ajith who assisted me from the moment of booking (even advising me courteously of the temporary closure of Fontanarossa airport and alternative procedures via phone call straight after booking), assisting with booking drivers and advising on rental cars. They really did go the extra mile to make us feel welcome and we had the pleasure of meeting the owners during the duration of our stay. Andrea is a true hotelier and his warm welcoming nature, professionalism and passion for the industry really does show!

Andrea, our six days at Villa Carlotta was like coming back to our own home and we look forward to visiting again soon ( during the warmer months next time!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mary Claire from Dubai,
I would like to thank you immensely for the beautiful words and compliments about your recent stay with your dad in our luxury apartments.
I would like to thank you in particular for pointing out the beauty of our accomodations and our personal customer care which we provide even if the main hotel is closed; you have never felt "alone", we have been near you during al your stay and it is nice to hear you enjoyed all our recommendations and suggestions.
A particular "grazie" for the persoanl compliments on my person, I appreciated, but a great hotel is made great by a fantastic staff that I have the fortune to have.
We truly hope to get the chance to see you and your father (he promised) next year maybe in October.
Ciao,
Andrea Quartucci, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We traveled to Taormina from Palermo by bus. My husband Ross had our passports, wallet, flight information etc., in his man bag which was placed in the overhead. We were so excited to reach the hotel we exited the bus, collected our luggage and started walking the few feet to the hotel when Ross said "Oh *******, my bag"! As he said this we heard the bus going further up the narrow street and around a corner. Without thinking Ross jumped in front of a small car occupied by a young woman on her cell phone. He was yelling, "my passports, my wallet"! This poor girl looked scared to death especially when Ross opened her passenger door and jumped in her car and started yelling "GO, GO, GO - busa busa busa". That car was not moving and I can say I don't blame this girl. She probably thought he was some kind of nut. Ross then ran into the hotel and seconds later a man (Ahjit) runs out with a helmet and Ross and they jump on a scooter and off they go up the hill. They caught the bus and the bag was retrieved. Well, Ahjit didn't waste any time when Ross ran into the hotel. He quickly called for Ricardo to cover the desk so he could literally save the day for us. We were traveling with 5 of my husband's cousins and there was a collective sigh of relief when we saw them return with the bag. That was the start of our 5 day, 4 night stay at the Villa Carlotta. Once inside, Ahjit escorted us to the 3rd floor terrace that overlooks the Mediterranean where he opened a bottle of proseco and made us a snack of grilled ham and cheese sandwiches. The Villa Carlotta couldn't have been lovlier and offers breathtaking views. We visited with the owners, met their lovely children and friends from the States. Make sure you try the hotel restaurant. It was fabulous! Our favorite place in Sicily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#7 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.