We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have not long returned from a week at this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. Not only is the hotel beautiful - as is the view - but the staff are really wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and they gave great advice about trips, restaurants and places to go. I must mention Simona by name as she really helped to make our holiday go smoothly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are lovely, spacious and always clean, although ours could have benefited from a kettle and some tea and coffee (although I'm sure staff would have provided it if we'd asked). That's probably a very English requirement however.
Breakfasts were fantastic and the view from the terrace is a tonic for the soul.
We chose this hotel for a special occasion and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in what they offer so be sure to choose carefully - if you want a great view pick the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    853
    112
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
196
567
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arriving at the hotel at 9.30pm after a complicated,tiring tour of the roads around Catania Airport we were given the warmest of welcomes by the reception staff.Within a few minutes we were sitting on the roof terrace at Villa carlootta overlooking the sea with a glass of cold Mount Etna wine.A few minutes later a table is laid and we are eating a delicious seafood spaghetti.This is a hotel who really understand travel and travellers.The delightful staff cannot do enough for you-booking lovely little restaurants or sorting out your day's itinerary.
The location is great,tucked away from pretty Taormina's hustle and bustle and 15 minutes walk down steps to the sea.The rooms are well appointed and relaxing,although we were lucky enough to be upgraded and the gardens are lovely.
Even breakfast ,a soulless buffet in so many places,relected the huge care and effort this hotel makes.Plates brimming full of stuffed peppers and aubergines;dishes of omelettes or fruit and platters of very fattening but dleicous looking sweet pastries.The range of options in this bufffet was huge-and all served with a smile.
We had one evening dinner in the Grand Hotel Timeo.The food was perfectly good,although not quite as tasty as a couple of the smaller restaurants,but the welcome from some of the staff paid to greet you would have frozen a polar ice cap.We were so pleased that we had opted for the warmth and helpfulness of Villa Carlotta,and significantly cheaper too.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Jandjj47 from London,
it was simply fabolous to read your lovely review regarding your recent stay at Villa Carlotta.
We feel proud when we score a goal: to make our guests feel at home in our luxury and charming ambience where, as you said, all the staff is focused on guests' happiness, this is the Villa Carlotta concept.
We truly hope you will visit us again next year and in the meantime wish you and your family the best of life.
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel Villa Carlotta has a wonderful location - close enough to the centre to walk to (5 minutes) but far enough out to feel quiet and private. It also has a great individual, unique feel to it. The breakfasts were amazing - a huge selection of freshly cooked Sicilian dishes as well as a wide continental selection served on a terrace overlooking the sea and Mount Etna. Our room was not particularly big but the terrace and views more than made up for this. What made it stand out to our family however (2 children under 10) was the excellent service. All the staff (and in particular Mary) were extremely friendly and welcoming, especially to the children, and helpful throughout our stay.. My son's only complaint (and this isn't the fault of the hotel) is that we could only stay 2 nights as it was full the following night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Point, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

three couples love to travel together once a year to different places outside the u.s.a. this year we picked a week in umbria and a week in sicily. the so called experts in our group picked the hotel villa carlotta in taormina, sicily, italy. a grand slam home run; this lovely hotel has it all. beautiful small hotel, great location (easy walking to city center and nice view of the sea), nicely decorated and comfortable rooms, great food in their restaurant and the nicest staff that we have experienced in a long time. from andrea, the owner to the front desk and concierge staff (olga, simona, ajith, ricardo) to the restaurant staff (marco, alberto, synetha, mary, patirizia, etc.) to our housekeeper (enza); everyone truly made us feel at home. after a couple of days, we were like family and when we left there were hugs and a couple of wet eyes. on behalf of our group i cannot say enough great things about this experience except to say 5 stars is not enough.

Room Tip: it appeared that all the rooms faced the Mediterranean sea or the garden and the pool. my room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Diamond Point New York,
as front office manager and on behalf of all my collegues and the Villa Carlotta entire staff we want to thank you very much for your lovely words and compliments expressed about your last week stay at Villa Carlotta. It was very nice for some of staff that work in the "darkness" you remembered their names, very unusual, and feel so proud and happy !!!!
It is nice that you felt we were like family for a week, you can definetely believe we are (we will not forget you crying when left, we were very touched). Now all you must do is planning another stay here, maybe longer, just send me a short email and I will set everything with you in 5 minutes !!!!
Warmest regards to you and to the other two lovely couples travelling from Villa Carlotta staff and the Quartucci family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary night here and found this hotel to be the perfect setting for us. The location is superb as it is situated mid way up the hill that Taormina is on and hence walking both up to the centre of the town and down to the beach was very convenient. The rooms are comfortable and luxurious. The food for both breakfast and dinner was very good. The views from the rooftop are superb. The staff really are great here. Marco, Simona and the two ther staff at Reception (who I have completely forgotten the names of! Sorry guys! - Greek looking lady and Zorro looking guy).

A special mention must go to the owners, Mr. and Mrs. Quartucci who were very polite, warm and welcoming people. My wife and I wished to stay an extra night and unfortunately, the hotel had no availability. The owners heard of this when we popped in to say hello the following day and as a gesture of goodwill or maybe being their usual nice selves insisted that we have dinner at their hotel on them which we did and despite offering to pay, we were told strictly no chance as Mr. and Mrs. Quartucci had personnally advised the staff that we were not to pay for our meal.

This is absolutely the hotel to be staying at in Taormina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrigento
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from Sicily where we stayed 3 nights in the Villa Carlotta. The staff (Mary, Simona, Marco... and others- sorry for not remembering all your names) were so helpful and friendly. It was my daughter's 13th birthday on the day we arrived and we found a cake and balloons in our room! Andrea, the owner, introduced himself to us at breakfast which was very nice. The location just below Taormina is perfect; the views from the terrace and from our room were stupendous.; the pool area was very lovely (even if the water was rather too cold for swimming!). We were very pleased indeed with everything at Villa Carlotta and can recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great place to stay. Excellent location and views and lovely friendly staff. Great rooms and gorgeous breakfast. We had a junior suitr garden room with our little girl which was great as we had a separate lounge and patio doors going out onto our own patio area with table and chairs and sunloungers. We couls walk from this straight out onto the main garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#7 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.