We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in the new 'Love Nest' couples apartment that is part of Villa Carlotta, but not actually located in the hotel building itself, being a very short walk up the road. However, we checked in at the hotel, could use the pool and amenities and could pay to eat breakfast there too. Given that when we arrived in Sicily it rained for 3 days we were really grateful to have the apartment as we had a good deal of space (compared to a normal hotel room), it was very thoughtfully done out and had all the mod-cons. The shower was possibly the best shower I have ever had with little seats/benches at the side so you could sit under the water and have a little shower massage - divine! The apartment is also on the third floor with a lovely outside terrace with a small table and plenty of space for a couple of loungers and fantastic views so that when the rain finally stopped we could relax outside. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    121
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
231
672
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

From the moment we walked in, the staff made us feel welcomed. There were six of us and all the rooms were a nice size, over looking the sea. Some rooms had better view than others, but all were clean and comfortable. There were nice amenities, such as slippers and bathrobes. The breakfast was served on a roof terrace with beautiful views and a wide variety of choices on the buffet tables. There was also a lovely reading room on the roof.
We liked the location. It was quieter and only a ten minute walk up to the frenetic central area. There was a beautiful public garden nearby. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 104 had the best unobstructed view of our three rooms. I assume the rooms above would be the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear friends from NY,
a short note to let you know how much we appreciated your lovely and rave review.
A big thank you from my self and all Villa Carlotta staff.
Kind regards,
Andrea Quartucci, GM & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I just spent 3 days at the Villa Carlotta at the end of my driving trip in Sicily. The hotel has a stunning location overlooking the entire Ionian Sea and with views of Etna, as well. The roofop restaurant, terrace and sitting rooms are delightful! Our room had two balconies and was very large. Modern bathroom. The hotel is in a great location, a 5 minute easy walk from the old town (other hotels are much further down the mountain). I can't say enough about the staff. Very pretty Olga seemed to be everywhere she was needed, from showing us our room to helping staff serve meals on a busy night! She was ever helpful and ever cheerful and made our stay especially wonderful. Mary in the restaurant was like a doting mother and Chef came out from the kitchen to make sure each person, children included, liked their meals. If not, she'd make something else. (That would be hard to believe because the food was wonderful. And don't miss the spectacular morning buffet breakfast! Ricardo, Simone, all did their best to accommodate our requests and assist us with the many questions we had. We'd return in a heartbeat! Michelle and Rita

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We just returned from Taormina having spent 6 nights at the Villa Carlotta. When we arrived Simone came outside to greet us and shake our hands and there was a bottle of excellent wine and pastries waiting for us in our room. We unpacked and were then taken up to the roof top restaurant where we were treated to a prosecco and complimentary canapes (which are put out every night). Delicious! We had the garden suite, which I think is probably the best suite in the hotel because you have a very large bedroom, a beautiful bathroom, a large sitting area which is a bit like a conservatory and a small private terrace which is not overlooked and where we spent most of our lazy mornings on the lovely sun beds! The breakfasts are truly amazing and so plentiful that we really didn't need any lunch. We had one meal in the hotel, which was extremely good (the only quibble I have is that they didn't have any ice cream or sorbet for desert) and the local white wine chosen for us was excellent. The staff were all very attentive and obliging and when my husband needed a dentist an appointment was made with no fuss and we were seen two hours later. The hotel is a very short walk away from the centre of Taormina and there are some lovely walks to do so long as you are prepared to climb!. We would thoroughly recommend the resturant Al Giardino, located opposite the public gardens and about five minutes walk away. You will need to book as it gets very crowded. We flew into Palermo and caught the train to Taorminal Giradini Naxos via Messina. Everyone thought we were mad to do that and not hire a car but we didn't want the hassle of driving and had no intentions of going out and about other than visting Palermo. It took 5 hours because of the change at Messina but we absolutely loved the train journey. The trains followed the coastal route so the views were great and it was very inexpensive. All in all a wonderful holiday and we would go back like a shot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 5 and 6 October. What a great place to stay. When we arrived, we had complimentary sparkling wine at the rooftop restaurant, a nice way to greet new guests. The room was really nice (modern, clean, well decorated with a small balcony overlooking the yard, the pool, the bay) and the staff was very polite and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the views of Mount Etna, the bay with the cruise ships and the ocean and the city were fabulous. We dined at the restaurant and it was a real treat.
All in all Hotel Villa Carlotta is a first class establishment. This is what we are telling members of our family and friends. We hope to return in the future.
Louise and Raymond

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I would have to say this Hotel has been the best place I've stayed at so far. Where do I start. My husband and I stayed at the Villa for one week having never been to Sicily. We arrived after a long flight from Australia. Upon arrival we were greeted by a gorgeous girl called Olga who was friendly and made us feel very comfortable. She showed us around the Hotel and then offered us Prosecco and cake on the Terrace which has amazing views. I booked the superior ocean view room which was quiet spacious, comfortable and very clean. The Hotel is absolutely gorgeous but I think its the staff that make it. They are extremely helpful and friendly and will do anything to make your stay pleasurable. Nothing was a problem. As for Breakfast, I have never seen a breakfast buffet like Villa Carlotta's. There was your usual cereals with fresh fruit and juices all local produce with the best yoghurt I have every had and I will say yoghurt is not high on my list of favourite foods. A selection of cheeses and salumi as well as an array of hot food made by Nadine who is the cook. She is fantastic she cooks everything herself and her sweets are to die for. Im sure I even saw a bottle of Prosecco for breakfast. The Location of the Hotel was also great. Just a five minute walk to the main street. I have no hesitations in recommending this Hotel and I cant wait to go back. Well done Villa Carlotta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and our 6-month old baby enjoyed 4 days at Villa Carlotta. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They helped organise the free shuttle to the beach and full directions to the greek amphitheatre along with a map and which way to head into town which is nice 5 minute walk past the towns gardens.

Breakfast was very opulent and we enjoyed a fantastic view from the terrace and even enjoyed a glass of fizz on a couple of the mornings. The deluxe room we had enjoyed fabulous views of the ocean and of the pool below. Although narrow it was quite long, so there was adequate space for the cot provided by the hotel for our baby. Staff helped with all of our luggage and there was a lift so we could travel between each floor. Only negative was there was a long set of stairs to the pool which was difficult to maneovure with a baby stroller. Though the staff did assist my husband with carrying it down and then up. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#2 Family Hotel in Taormina
#7 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.