We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mazzaro Sea Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mazzaro Sea Palace to your Saves list
Mazzaro Sea Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 147, 98030 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from the Mazzaro Sea Palace and cannot tell you how disappointed we were. Ok so the view is amazing - we had a large junior suite with a terrace. The hotel is dark and tired. I dont think it has been decorated in over 30 years. The rooms are so tired and the bathroom very old fashioned and not inviting.The waiters and staff are miserable, it is all you can do to get a hello out of them. The piano bar is more like a karaoke evening. The breakfast is poor unless of course you like fruit out of a tin - one morning I even had a cockroach join me!!
All the outside flowers in pots were dead and hadnt been watered or cared for. The beach towels were thin and old - This is NOT a five star hotel I would never go back or recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
47
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel earns it's five-star rating. We had a very comfortable room with lots of closets and a wonderful balcony overlooking the sea. The hotel is a one block walk from the cable car that takes you to the old town itself, and the cars run frequently from early morning to late at night. Our only disappointment was that wi-fi was not free.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Mazzaro Sea Palace. We stayed in a beautiful seaview room with huge balcony and fantastic views.
All the staff couldn't have done enough for us and there is a lovely atmosphere here. Breakfasts are excellent and they are happy to make fresh omelettes etc. for you. Would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Would recommend paying a bit more and booking a seaview room, the view is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mazzaro palace for two nights. The service was excellent, especially Simona at the front desk and Stefano in the restaurant. The hotel is pristine and the view is gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious and again the service was very good. We took a ride in a boat for an hour which was fun....saw the grottos and enjoyed the sea spray.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is not *in* Taormina, just to be clear. It is below the city, easily reached by funicular. That is part of its charm, peace, & quiet. The lobby is fine, with foreign & local newspapers for your reading needs. The downstairs breakfast room & bar are lovely, with a great view of the bay. Each room has a balcony facing the sea, some so big they have 2 sun loungers + a table and 2 chairs, with plenty of room left over. The rooms are large and pleasant; the bathrooms are also, with 2 sinks. The service is good & everything is kept very clean. There is an outdoor pool with seawater to swim in that in May was quite cool. The jelly fish kept me out of the sea, but it, too, was brisk. Although there are sun beds by the water with umbrellas, there isn't too much noise from the water activities. The service at breakfast is good, and the variety of food offered is amazing: even granita if you want it at 8 AM! There were lots of sweets, too, for later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were looking for a stress free really restful situation. We wanted to be near the Beach and near to lots of local Restaurants and Shops for the Evening. Taormina is the perfect spot and this Hotel occupies the best position in the Bay with its own private Beach.
Access to the town is via a cable car which runs every 15 mins and works perfectly costing three Euro each way. It runs from about 8.30am to 1.00pm.

We booked through Classic Holiday's and have been impressed that everything we asked for with the booking was delivered. Top floor with sea facing view.

All the staff are very welcoming and can not do enough to help.

The only issue which is silly and should be dealt with is the Wireless Connection Policy.
Not unusually today we travel with a Laptop, two iPads and Two iPhones ( We run a Business and have to keep in touch) The Wireless connection only allows one item to connect at once unless you pay for each item which is 9 Euro per day each. Worse still, something I have never come across before is they have two types of connection which is for Laptops only or iPhones and iPads. They allow you to buy 7 days access on your laptop ( not IPads ) for a 50% discount. We ended up buying the 7 days access and one iPad token each day as required.Luckily all the local Bars and Restaurants have free access.

Ignoring the above rant we would definitely recommend this Hotel and will probably visit again.

NB. Also make sure you have some spare baggage allowance to go home with. The shopping is as good as anything on Bond St (not joking!) so you will be very tempted.

Room Tip: Ask to be on top floor and don't book Dinner. The Hotel expects you to eat out at the amazing ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very friendly hotel with a view of the sunrise over the water to die for.

Service was excellent and staff was well spoken in English and Italian.

This hotel is at the base of themountain below Taormina and a very short easy walk to the cable car that takes you to the top.

There is quick access to an ATM cash machine near the cable car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mazzaro Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazzaro Sea Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 147, 98030 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#13 Business Hotel in Taormina
#22 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mazzaro Sea Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the most beautiful bays in the world, set among the rocksand sea and embellished by the colours of Mediterranean architecture, risesup the Grand Hotel Mazzarò Sea Palace.In this delightful setting, at the centre of the bay from which it takes its name, the Grand Hotel Mazzarò Sea Palace offers the comfort of a 5 stars de luxe hotel, in a modern, efficient structure. All of this crowned by the charm of the highest volcano in europe: Etna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mazzaro Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mazzaro Sea Palace Hotel Taormina
Mazzaro Sea Palace Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazzaro Sea Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.