We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Taormina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belvedere

Save Saved
You added Villa Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bagnoli Croci 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

After a slightly stressful drive from Palermo, The Belvedere Hotel was exactly what we needed.

From the moment we stepped through the door the staff were fantastic - warm, friendly, and accommodating - and made us feel welcome. We decided to upgrade from our room in the hotel to one of their new apartments a short walk down the road. I think we got lucky with the price - we booked via Expedia - but if you can, it's definitely worth trying the apartments (which are very impressive) or getting a sea facing room.

The breakfast was one of the best we had during our tour of Sicily and the staff were always on hand to show us where the nearest beach or attraction is. We spent a few days by the hotel pool and the beach as well as walking around Taormina, which is beautiful.

Taormina is one of the more expensive places in Sicily, but it's worth spending a little more to stay in the Belvedere so you can completely unwind and enjoy this stunning Sicilian town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    741
    220
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
181
585
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Upgraded upon arrival to one of the apartments, it brought back many childhood memories of my summers in northern Italy with my relatives where I enjoyed "fare l'spesa" or the daily shopping of fruits, vegetable, bread and other goodies for lunch and dinner. The apartment is very nicely and elegantly appointed with modern furnishing and lots of details. The views out of the balcony are breathtaking and watching the Etna's eruption this morning was astonishing. The hotel's setting is so exquisite and it's pool area a true Zen refuge for us traveling urbanites.

Last but not least, congrats to the very attentive staff from the reception area to the breakfast room, pool area and my room keeper.

GL

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spend extra to get the sea view...it's simply spectacular watching sunrise and sunset through the large arch fold back windows. The hotel is next to the beautiful public gardens on the way to the town centre by foot. You need to take transport to get to the train station and beach at the bottom of the hill.

The gardens and pool are beautiful that also overlook the glorious view.

My only criticism is that the breakfast buffet lacked a bain-marie for hot food that you get routinely elsewhere. Also, because you never want to close the windows you do get bitten by bugs as there are no fly screens.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Taormina has one of the worlds most beautiful locations... And the family owned Hotel Belvedere certainly got one of the best... A hidden gem, where the words stylish and romantic are the first words that comes to mind... Only 300 meters from the city centre with a quite location this lovely hotel will give you a fantastic holiday... I'll be back...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Belvedere having spent two nights in one of their double bedrooms overlooking the pool and garden with views to the sea beyond.

The hotel is well equipped and the staff were excellent and extremely friendly. As soon as we stepped in to our room and caught site of view we knew we would enjoy our stay.

One of the highlights of the hotel is the pool with sun loungers and a restaurant/bar where you can enjoy lunch and drinks.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilnis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We travel a lot and have seen many places and hotels. This hotel is in the top 3!
We really cannot think of anything negative to write down honestly.
Special thanks to all people working there from reception to cleaning lady. The hotel is beautiful, rooms, breakfast room, swimming pool, gardens etceteraa all very well maintained. The views are majestic, screensaver worthy.
I will definitely go back to visit Taormina and for sure will stay in this hotel again.
Great great job!!!

Room Tip: choose seaside, don't save money on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The memories of this hotel and its location will stay with me for a long time. The hotel has an elegant, timeless ambiance, enhanced by the quiet professionalism of the staff. The public areas are very well presented and the pool deck café should not be missed, both in terms of the panoramic views and the quality of the food served. The pool itself was also very clean and the water quality excellent. The buffet breakfast was also excellent and a wide range of foods provided.
My room was spotlessly clean with a wonderful view across the bay.
The hotel is located about 10 minutes stroll from the main street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriacques, Proprietario at Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review after almost six month from your stay.
We are pleased that you retain such good memories of Villa Belvedere and that they will stay with you for a long time. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future and we send our warmest regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Bagnoli Croci 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taormina
#4 Business Hotel in Taormina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Belvedere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere its a delightful and romantic hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It's an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.