We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Taormina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I reserved a room with the hotel in early January 2013 for a room in late January 2013. I planned to propose to my girlfriend in Taormina at the Greek Amphitheater. I notified the hotel of this special occasion and they went above and beyond to help me out. The hotel staff answered several emails in a timely fashion, and even helped me locate a photographer. When we arrived, the staff was very friendly and brought our bags to our room. We stayed in one of the suites. The view was amazing! The room was spacious and clean. The manager even brought their own laptop to the room so we could view our engagement photos on a computer. The staff then delivered a breakfast to our room in the morning. The staff and hotel are top-notch! A++. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    236
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
195
645
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent three lovely weeks in Villa Belvedere's beautiful Mediterranean garden apartment (no. 11) which also offers a spectacular sea view. Eventhough the hotel does not open officially until March 15, I enjoyed this splendid one bedroom apartment luxuriously equipped with three bathrooms offering each guest his or hers bathroom (bath or shower). From the charming living room whose patio doors open on the garden where citrus and olive trees grow, I could admire from sunrise to sunset the marvellous seascape of the Mediterranean, read in the morning sun from the lounge chairs or garden chairs or simply take in the beauty of the Villa Belvedere cascading gardens with its citrus trees bearing oranges, mandarins or lemons.

Apartment no. 11 is also furnished with a small kitchen and a dining room section. The apartment has two televisions and a computer and WIFI connection. An impeccable maid service is also available as well as 24/7 assistance, if required.

Room Tip: This apartment is perfect for a romantic interlude or a peaceful retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although I have fairly often enjoyed short stays at lovely Villa Belvedere in Taormina; on this occasion I was offered one of their four, self-contained Studio-Apartments, newly opened at about 50 metres away and on the same road as the hotel. The modern glass lift transported me unsuspectingly to the intensely pleasurable experience of entering the apartment and being totally delighted at the luminously serene and elegant decor but then - when I approached the full-wall window, and drew back the linen curtaining, there was a breath-taking, uninterrupted view of the sea, the shoreline and of magnificent, snow-covered Mount Etna, in all its glory against the afternoon sky.
The apartments have a comfortable double bed and there are useful wardrobes with large mirrors and a pleasing, sleek, shower/bathroom. The relaxing, well lit lounge area near the window has a broad rug in front of a large settee with cushions, footstools and side-tables. The kitchen area has all the utensils necessary for tea/coffee making or even for preparing a full meal. I loved just being there and enjoying it all and was tempted to spend all my time at the apartment instead of going off wandering outside.
Don’t forget your camera, because you will want to take photo after photo from the balcony where there are pretty plants in pots, comfortable, summery chairs and a table; perfect for sitting quietly and enjoying that fabulous view....

Room Tip: There are only four and they are all beautiful with the same gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here back in July so a little late with the review! lol We had a fantastic time at Villa Belvedere. We stayed at a different hotel for the first 2 night and then here for 7 nights. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with the warmest welcome by the staff. We left our bags at reception and went straight down by the pool where we were offered a 20% discount on lunch (which was great) The view from here was breath taking with the majestic Mount Etna in the distance. We managed to drag ourselves away from the pool and out of the sun and headed to our room. The room was a good size, clean, cool (thanks to the air con) and had everything we needed. Bathroom was fab too.

Hotel Villa Belvedere is ideally located with everything in walking distance. (the botanical gardens next door is a perfect place to retreat when you are in need of shade) I can not praise the staff highly enough and there wasn't anything they couldn't do for you and requested a number of great restaurants.

We will be returning to Taormina and to Hotel Villa Belvedere

Please take my advice and book here... if they have any rooms left!

Room Tip: Top floor room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have returned to this very beautiful hotel several years.
We love the hotel, we love the views and we love the charming atmosphere.
The staff are in top - competent and very, very serviceminded.
The very Best hotel in Taormina!

Grunnet family from Denmark

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

With the great location and spectacular views of the Bay of Naxos and Mount Etna, this villa is a gem. Surrounded by gardens full of palm trees and colorful flowers.
The pool is small but quite nice.
Our room on top floor had great views of Mount Etna and the sea. Spacious and well decorated with a comfortable bed. Bathroom, nice and very clean. Staff, friendly and knowledgeable.
Great city location, close to everything like shops and restaurants.
Parking is difficult and pricey. Very steep driveway with no direction sign pointing where to go !

Room Tip: Get a upper floor room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a very private setting amidst beautiful gardens, and with a good view of Mount Etna and the Bay of Naxos below. The swimming pool is in a great location for viewing ships sailing past or just swimming and lounging on the comfortable chairs provided. A good bar and lunch is provided at the pool by very pleasant staff, so sun worshipers can stay there all day long. It is however only a short walk to the temptations of the main streets with all their great restaurants and shopping, and it's also handy for interesting sites such as the botanic Gardens and the wonderful Teatro Greco (the Greek-Roman Theatre), which shoudn't be missed.
The hotel is extremely comfortable and clean with helpful, friendly staff. Our rooms were on the garden terrace and consisted of a spacious lounge/diner, a twin and a double bedroom plus a smaller room with storage space and a single bed, two bathrooms and a surprisingly well fitted out kitchen which would have been great had we been inclined to cook whilst we were staying. It opened onto the terrace which had a large table and chairs plus sun loungers and a small private side terrace. This would be perfect for families or people with dogs, and in fact a few people with rooms beside ours did have dogs with them.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Belvedere and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: As we don't have children or dogs traveling with us we would go for one of the rooms on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taormina
#4 Business Hotel in Taormina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.