We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - the most charming hotel in Sicily” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belvedere

Save Saved
You added Villa Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bagnoli Croci 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect - the most charming hotel in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have returned to this very beautiful hotel several years.
We love the hotel, we love the views and we love the charming atmosphere.
The staff are in top - competent and very, very serviceminded.
The very Best hotel in Taormina!

Grunnet family from Denmark

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    222
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
181
579
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

With the great location and spectacular views of the Bay of Naxos and Mount Etna, this villa is a gem. Surrounded by gardens full of palm trees and colorful flowers.
The pool is small but quite nice.
Our room on top floor had great views of Mount Etna and the sea. Spacious and well decorated with a comfortable bed. Bathroom, nice and very clean. Staff, friendly and knowledgeable.
Great city location, close to everything like shops and restaurants.
Parking is difficult and pricey. Very steep driveway with no direction sign pointing where to go !

Room Tip: Get a upper floor room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a very private setting amidst beautiful gardens, and with a good view of Mount Etna and the Bay of Naxos below. The swimming pool is in a great location for viewing ships sailing past or just swimming and lounging on the comfortable chairs provided. A good bar and lunch is provided at the pool by very pleasant staff, so sun worshipers can stay there all day long. It is however only a short walk to the temptations of the main streets with all their great restaurants and shopping, and it's also handy for interesting sites such as the botanic Gardens and the wonderful Teatro Greco (the Greek-Roman Theatre), which shoudn't be missed.
The hotel is extremely comfortable and clean with helpful, friendly staff. Our rooms were on the garden terrace and consisted of a spacious lounge/diner, a twin and a double bedroom plus a smaller room with storage space and a single bed, two bathrooms and a surprisingly well fitted out kitchen which would have been great had we been inclined to cook whilst we were staying. It opened onto the terrace which had a large table and chairs plus sun loungers and a small private side terrace. This would be perfect for families or people with dogs, and in fact a few people with rooms beside ours did have dogs with them.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Belvedere and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: As we don't have children or dogs traveling with us we would go for one of the rooms on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed on the 4th Floor of this ulta modern appartment with stunning views across the bay, its a close walk to the main street and would full recommend to any one.
But I have to all so mention the wonderful help and hospitality I recieved from Maria and the management,
My wife and I were travelling through europe by car and had only booked one nights stay on route to Malta the next day, but to our astonishment we discovered that we had left our passports in Sorrento, the help and assistance we got was second to none with phone calls and emails they made our onward journey trouble free, as I write these notes in Malta we are still waiting for our passports wich were posted to us by the hotel in Sorrento (Grand Hotel La Favorite) which was also did as much as possibe and another great hotel to stay in

Room Tip: 4th floor appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Villa Belvedere was a perfect hotel for our stay in Taormina, Sicily. We had a room with a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool. The location was central and provided easy walking to all the sites. The services were great, we used the laundry and parking. The staff were all gracious and professional. The hotel restaurant was the only thing I was disappointed in, the food was adequate and overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Villa Belvedere for just one night at the end of a holiday in Taormina. I chose it based on the previous good reviews and the hotel certainly lived up to its reputation. For my money it was an old-fashioned Italian hotel with marble floors, comfy furnishings and old fashioned standards of service. There were lots of bookcases dotted around with all sorts of books, from a set of classics in Italian to old paperback novels. This would be fantastic if you were staying longer. And I just really liked the feel of the place.

The setting is very pretty, with amazing views over Etna and the Ionian sea. I’ve been in Taormina a lot of times and sometimes think I’m a bit blasé about the views but even I was blown away by the views from this hotel. We were in a top floor room (upgraded from the seaview room I reserved) with a beautiful terrace with two comfortable chairs and an umbrella (very important if you have fair skin). The terraces were very private with good screening between them. And the room had good aircon, this is something that can’t be relied upon in Taormina hotels and is very definitely necessary! The bathroom was oddly shaped (triangular) but perfectly formed and there was excellent water pressure – again not something I would take for granted in Italy. The room was also a good size and the bed was very comfortable.

The pool area was very comfortable and bar staff were pleasant. When we were there, there seemed to be plenty of loungers to go around. It was also possible to stay in the shade, again good if you don’t have the type of skin that can take a lot of sun. The gardens surrounding the pool were also smallish but very pleasant and I think you would be able to find a quiet spot fairly easily for reading or downtime. I also thought the setting was relatively quiet – whilst it is on a road, while I was there the road didn’t seem to be all that busy and I didn’t really notice traffic noise.

I liked the breakfast. By Italian hotel standards the buffet was lavish with a range of pastries, fruit, meat, cheeses, jams, breads, as well as hard boiled eggs and I think a few cereals. And of course nutella minatures which are hard to resist. And they did a very nice cappuccino. I liked the women who were working there as well. In fact overall the hotel staff were lovely. I personally witnessed them dealing with several not very nice customers and couldn’t have faulted either their courtesy or their customer service. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I just kept hearing the word ‘certo’ (roughly translated as no problem, certainly) to pretty much every question. There also seemed to be a lot of staff which was very nice for a relatively small hotel.

My only very small comment was that when we were leaving in the morning, there did seem to be a degree of confusion about taxis, who had booked what for when. I wasn’t entirely sure whether this was to do with the hotel or not but as always I’d say make your own arrangements with New Travel Services who will always be reliable and prompt!

I will definitely return to this hotel in the future. It’s very good value for money and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriacques, Proprietario at Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your beautiful review, with such a detailed description of Villa Belvedere.
We are delighted that, although your stay was brief, you were still able to catch the essence of the hotel and our philosophy .
We hope to welcome you back someday, perhaps for a longer stay, and send our warmest regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As the last hotel of our Sicilian trip, The Villa Belvedere was perfect, from the moment we arived I noticed there was a level of calmness, friendliness and hospitality. We were fortunate to have our own rooftop terrace over looking the pool and the "Baia di Naxos"a glance to one side exposes the majestic Mount Etna, with her scarf of cloud. Is this Etna steaming or just the regular cloud cover? The room was very comfortable and clean room with A/C that works properly!! The service was excellent, with nothing beiong too much trouble.

The hotel restaurant doesn't open in the evening beause there are so many restaurants within minutes walk away. The staff, especially Joshua, were extremely helpful in recommending certain resataurants and cooking styles as Taormina has a high street to be proud of, with so many restaurants to choose from it almost became a challenge choosing!

Steeped in historical celebrity stories, Taormina became the retreat to go to, the Villa Belvedere, must be the place to stay. it was a lovely few days stay to end our trip. We'll hopefully be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a roof terrace / balcony with a view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Bagnoli Croci 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taormina
#4 Business Hotel in Taormina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Belvedere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere its a delightful and romantic hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It's an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.