We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad honeymoon experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad honeymoon experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this hotel on Sawday's recommendation, and the huge amount of high star reviews on trip advisor. 300 Euros per night for 'honeymoon suite'. Our expectations were dashed on arrival - we asked to be collected form the airport and they forgot. 'Champagne' on arrival was horrible cheap fizz.
Room was very noisy, right by a road on which you hear the high pitch of scooters day and night. Attention to detail was lacking, I asked for a mint tea on the first evening and the barman nonchalantly passed me a box asking me to sift through and find a teabag. We wanted to play tennis and they forgot to arrange this, so we went to the court ourselves and were overcharged massively - £30 for 30 minutes - they obviously saw us coming! the manager of the hotel was shocked by this but could have helped.
We ended up checking out after 3 days (the soonest we could) and checking into Villa Sant Andrea - the room there was more than double in price but it really felt more than worth the cost!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriacques, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
In spite of carefully searching among our records we were unable to discover your identity, as we have a considerable number of honeymoon couples who stay with us, particularly in Springtime, and who, may we say, are usually very complimentary about Villa Belvedere, as testified by the high number of stars we have earned.
Needless to say we are of course extremely sorry for the extremely unusual inconvenience you mention regarding your airport transfer as we organize approximately four hundred transfer services each season on behalf of our guests and mishaps like the one you experienced are practically unheard of.
We wonder therefore, if perhaps your transfer was organized by somebody else and not directly through us?
You mention that you were disturbed by noise from a nearly road which we find difficult to understand as the rooms, usually booked by couples on honeymoon are not near any road as they overlook our ample gardens and the swimming pool with the sea as a backdrop. The very few, less expensive, town-side rooms which do overlook the road, which we assume you did not occupy, are in any case protected by high quality, double glazing.
On their arrival, honeymoon couples are offered a complimentary, fine quality, Italian Spumante, which is a sparkling wine, much appreciated by connaisseurs and very similar to French champagne. We naturally promote Italian products; French champagne is not quoted as being offered to our guests, although it is available on our bar wine list, as are products of other countries.
Concerning the missed reservation at the tennis club, after such a long time it is unfortunately impossible to ascertain who was responsible, whether it was our receptionist or perhaps the secretary at the tennis club who was at fault.
While we offer you our most sincere apologies, we must point out that if only these comments had been made known during your stay here, we could have arrived at a satisfactory solution as we would willingly have made some form of recompense, as is normal when one is at fault.
If however, you would be so kind as to contact us by email, even at this late date, we would be very grateful so that we could at least make a full investigation and reply further to you.
Kindest regards,

Cristian Pécaut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    248
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
207
679
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We called last minute and they were able to accommodate us for a family for 4 adults. The first night we stayed in rooms, but the last night we all stayed together in the apartment. It was a little expensive about 450 euros a night, but WORTH IT! The view was so nice, we had our own terrace, it was a dream. We ended up just buying local cheeses, wine and meats and stayed in for diner. It is a bit different than most hotels in that they are very very busy and they take time with each client before check in so it may take longer than normal, but just relax and enjoy the view. Breakfast was great also. When you get to the hotel don't worry about parking. They are limited, just let them know you are there and they will park your car for you because if you pass the hotel, it is on a one way street and you will have to make a long tour to get back. What a lovely hotel worth the price.

Room Tip: the first room we took smelled really bad like humidity. It came from the closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a confirmed room reservation for one night in September and on arrival, was told that they were full. Instead, we were offered a new modern apartment a 5 minute walk down the road which was unacceptable as we wanted the "villa" experience. The hotel looked lovely but we never had the pleasure of the experience. They found another hotel nearby of comparable price where we were taken there by a member of their staff.
Recommend a double check of a confirmed reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriacques, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Madam,
Because we consider your review to be inexact and taking note of your refusal to accept our side of the question and have your review removed, we have decided to defend our reputation by replying publicly on Trip Advisor.
At the time of your very late arrival without your having advised us of it, for the one night you had reserved, because of unforeseeable circumstances you were offered a considerable upgrade and accompanied to one of our newly completed and recently opened, de-luxe studio-apartments, standing on the same road and at thirty seconds walk from the main hotel, not at the distance you stated in the review.
These apartments are truly, beautifully elegant, reached by a transparent-walled elevator and are extremely comfortable and attractive. They are designed on split levels to include a double bedroom, shower/bathroom and super-functional kitchen area with of course very modern equipment. The view from the comfortable panoramic living-room/lounge is needless to say, simply glorious. This is not simply our opinion - all of our guests without exception who have stayed there since their opening have been extremely complimentary about the new apartments.
Probably because you were clearly very tired on arrival, having had as you said, a much longer drive than you had expected from Naples to reach us, you refused to accept the upgrade, threatening instead to write a negative review on Tripadvisor, (apparently from your comments to us in a subsequent letter, you had assumed that Hotel Villa Belvedere was a private villa, and expected to find just that), so you were unable to appreciate the great comfort of the apartment and the stupendous view to be enjoyed next morning from the wall to wall windows overlooking the sea and coastline.
You were however relocated at your request to a nearby four-star hotel and accompanied there by car by a member of our staff. On arrival, seemingly appreciating that we had done our best to please you and perhaps surprised by the care and attention of our staff, you gave warm thanks and said you had altogether given up the intention of writing a negative comment.
Had you accepted the elegant and comfortable accommodation we had offered you though, you would have been enchanted the following morning, by the view over the sea and Mount Etna and although there were of course coffee/tea-making facilities in the apartment, our generous buffet breakfast would have been served to you as normal in our panoramic hotel breakfast room just 30 seconds away.
Moreover, you could have enjoyed all the hotel services, the garden and pool facilities, even after having checked out, just as all of our other guests can do. Luggage would have been placed in a safe-keeping room near our reception, as we normally do for our guests who leave later than check-out time.
We regret being the cause of your changed plans but we also very much regret that you missed out on spending the night in the enviable studio-appartment.
Kindest regards,
Cristian Pécaut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The service and people who work here are just lovely. My room was clean with a lovely terrace and view. Lunch by the pool was delicious. I never made it down to the beach, this is not an easy task .
I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spend 2 nights at Villa Belvedere. Room upgrade to sea view was definitely worth it, the scenery is simply astonishing. Next to Villa Belvedere is a large public park, a must see in Taormina. The staff was very helpful and breakfast was one of the best we've ever had in a hotel.
The only surprise was the the internet connection being impossibly slow. But I would definitely recommend that hotel.

Room Tip: Get the sea view upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iklin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Hotel Villa Belvedere. It is an excellent hotel Three star hotel Five Star Service.
Our room was a Sea View with terrace and a large window overlooking the bay of Taormina and also views of Mount Etna was spacious, clean and had all amenities. What made everything perfect is the staff of the hotel, which are very helpfull. Our flight was a late departure which left at about 11.30p.m and as one had to leave the room by 11.30 a.m. it was no problem to keep our baggage in a room till we left in the evening, a bonus for us was that they offered us a shower room with towels and all we needed to have a shower.
Also the Breakfst and lunch are excellent. Well done to everyone concerned and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We (an American couple) were on holiday (9 nights) in Taormina with our close friends, a British couple. The hotel was outstanding in many ways. First, the staff was so helpful, especially Fulvia, Maria, and Joshua at the front desk. They spoke good English and helped with directions, making reservations, looking up bus schedules, etc. The facility is beautifully constructed, artfully landscaped, and has a lovely pool. We enjoyed staying in a room that overlooked the ocean from a small balcony--breathtaking scenery. We went on excursions and out to restaurants and shopping, but we also enjoyed relaxing times around the pool with excellent bar/restaurant service. The breakfasts were very good with all kinds of food for many tastes. The hotel is close to town for shopping, restaurants, and sightseeing. We came by bus from the Catania airport and really did not need a car with all of the good public transportation available. Parking at the hotel is tight and expensive; having a car there is not really needed. We would love to go back to Taormina and stay there again!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the sea, preferably with a balcony. The view is stunning, awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taormina
#4 Business Hotel in Taormina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.