We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Around a 2 star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Villa Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 2, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 88 hotels in Taormina
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Around a 2 star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for around 1 week. The rooms are also very basic, did not seem particularly clean and the bed was old and uncomfortable.The hotel is noisey from the tennis courts and dogs barking. The breakfast is pretty dreadful. Prepacked toasts, canned fruit that did not seem freshly opened and some croissants. I stayed in this hotel for 1 week and would have expected some assistance with liaising with the local police after some money was unfortunately stolen from me. They did not respond to my emails requesting assistance for 10 days and then simply said we can't help and to contact the consulate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    45
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My children and me loved this hotel and felt immediately welcomed by the nice family and staff. Its location is excellent and the beach resort is the most beautiful one on the beach. The water is clear and clean,the food is great,I felt at home with the family and staff of the hotel who made our stay so special . We will recommend Paradiso to our friends and colleagues and will return, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaparadiso, Direttore vendite at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear guest thanks for your review! we are glad to know you have a nice holiday in our hotel and beach club.

We hope to see you again next year.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My daughter and I recently finished a tour in Taormina but wanted to stay 2 extra nights on our own. We were looking for a hotel in the upper part of Taormina so we chose Villa Paradiso. We cannot say enough about the wonderful time we had and knowing that we ended each day at this beautiful hotel. Thank you again Livio for upgrading us to the beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The room was large, clean and the maid service was wonderful. A free shuttle was supplied to the local beach/pool. Here we found everything to be very clean and had a pleasant, relaxing day. The location of this hotel was excellent for touring Taormina on your own. We were lucky enough to be there on the Feast of Corpus Christi. The streets and the front of the hotel were decorated for this wonderful event. Thank you to Antonella and Raffaella for their wonderful and courteous attention to us. We will always remember this hotel as a highlight to our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaparadiso, Direttore vendite at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest thanks for your nice review! we are glad to know you good jouney in our hotel and beach club.

We hope to see you again next year.

Best regards
Livio Sferra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We happenend to stay there in a heatwave. out of 5 nights we had to suffer for 3 nights because AC was broken. we culdnt open d window because of d nearby road, barking dogs and tennis court. eventhough d staff was friendly and we enjoyed d views from d restaurant terrasse it was a disappointing experience. it is more of a 3 star than a 4 star. overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We first stayed at VP on our honeymoon 18 years ago, went again for our tenth anniversary and have just returned after our third visit. Each time we have been treated so nicely by the staff and family and felt very easy there.
This time we had a room with balcony overlooking Etna. It truly is the most magical view to look at each morning.
We expect to go again in a couple of years.

We wish this exceptional family and staff another good 18 years.

Room Tip: Get a view of Etna, ie the front of the hotel. The 5th floor are bigger and better with a big outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaparadiso, Direttore vendite at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest thanks for stay 3rd times in our hotel boutique.

We hope to see you again next year.

Best regards
Livio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The so called "Junior Suit" of room 232 was a small extension of a very basic room with 2 armchairs and a MFI type wadrobe. No terrasse but a tiny balcony.
The pool/beach is a 25 minutes bus ride from the hotel and 50 minutes back due to traffic.
it looks nothing like the pictures seen on various websites. it is a basic small pool, that was supposed to be allocated to the hotels guests, but everyone seems to be welcome. A huge, ugly concrete wall separates the beach from the pool, and if that is not enough 3 euros is charged per dirty materess and 2 Euros per towel.
Yes the hotel staff is pleasant and helpful and its well positionned, but that is all.
This hotel shouldnt be classified as a 4* This is totally misleading. It is a rip off considering what it has cost us.
juliette k.

Room Tip: unless we been allocated the worst room, this hotel is a total rip off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaparadiso, Direttore vendite at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Julietta, thanks for your opinion in tripadvisor, we take care your review to improve our service.

We would like to reply:
Your booking was by Citalia and in the contract we can arrange only the room from 1st to 3rd floor, room with terrace are in the 5th floor. (in your voucher and brochure was wrote)
You room Room with view of sea-Etna, measuring about 20m². Room comes with balcony, small sitting-area, terra cotta flooring, elegant furniture in the Sicilian style, desk, wardrobe, television with satellite channels, centralized air-con and heating system, telephone, bathroom with bath, hairdryer, and personalized courtesy set. mini-bar and free Wi-Fi connection.

About our beach club is free of charge for our guest and included: entrance, changing room, beach chair or sunbed, sun-ombrella, shower, swimming pool with sea water and free wi-fi. Extra charge is: parking, towels, matress, changing cabin...distance from the hotel: about 8 km , from 10 to 20 minutes by bus (dependence from the traffic).

Thanks again

Best regards

Livio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

we loved our experience at Villa Paradiso- the location is perfect, so close to all of the action in Taormina and yet just on the edge of the mountain so at the same time you feel a bit secluded.
We had a beautiful room with an amazing sea view and our own balcony, the staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more accommodating.
It was spotlessly clean every day and you really felt very looked after.

it has that retro-chic feel about it, like something out of the 1950s and the front bar/lounge area makes you feel like you're stepping into someone's loungeroom.

great value for the price and would definitley recommend trying to get a room with a seaview and your own balcony!

Room Tip: ask for a seaview and try and get your own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaparadiso, Direttore vendite at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear guest we were pleased to hear from your opinion in tripadvisor, and we are glad to know you have a wonderful experience in our hotel.

We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes and we hope to see you next year in our hotel.

Livio and all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso

Address: Via Roma 2, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Paradiso 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a few metres from the historical center of Taormina, and a stone's throw from the main street (Corso Umberto) and the Congress Building; the hotel overlooks: The Bay of Naxos, Etna volcano, the public gardens and tennis courts.From 01/06/10 al 15/10/10, a fully equipped beach service is available free at the "Paradise Beach Club" lido in Letojanni (garden overlooking the sea with swimming pool) with a shuttle service at about 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Hotel Taormina
Paradiso Hotel Taormina
Villa Paradiso Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.