We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Tauro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Tauro Hotel to your Saves list
Monte Tauro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

An excellent position overlooking the sea with breathtaking views of the bay and Mount Etna. The hotel is clean and modern with car parking on site. The pedestrianised town centre is a short climb above the hotel with a wonderful array of eating places and shops on the way up - 5 to 10 minutes walk depending on your fitness.The hotel is adjacent to the spectacular public gardens which are well laid out and peaceful - well worth a visit and also close to the Amphitheatre. Book a room witha private terrace - well worth the extra. Reception is on the top floor and a glass lift takes you down to your floor level the terraces and pool area. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    171
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
50
259
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel in September 2012, the journey from Catania was very easy, the taxi dropped us off at the top of the ramp, and the concierge collected us in the hotel bus foe the short (but steep) trip to the hotel .

Check-in was very efficient, but I was a little disappointed with the room as it was in a lower floor, and with limited views. I asked for an alternative, none available that evening (it was 9pm) but first thing the next day we were moved up a floor but with great views over the bay

The room was spotlessly clean, big enough and the bed very comfortable .

Our rate included breakfast, the buffet was a mix of hot and cold fare, all very good.

The location is excellent as we only had to walk 5 minutes to be at Corso Umberto - the main street in the town

After moving rooms, we went to the pool, which was quiet, the loungers very comfortable, the pool warm and clean, the views spectacular

But the best aspect of the hotel is the staff - Reception were always polite and happy to help; the breakfast team were very efficient and the manager always took time to talk, and invariably had a funny story to tell

The star of the show was the pool attendant - every morning we were greeted with a smile, and a chat about our plans for the day. When we wen to the bar for a drink we came back to find our loungers had be turned to face the sun!

All in all a most enjoyable holiday in an excellent hotel

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the right side ofthe building as you face the sea in reception have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been coming to this hotel for the past 9 years and it's my all time favourite destination. The staff are so helpful and the accomodation comfortble. The only down side is that it's not eaily accessible if you are not fit as it is built into the cliff face.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms t this hotel. They all face the sea. Very panoramic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A little hard to find but so is everything in this ancient hillside town. The hotel was recently remodeled and it was well done. the staff is very friendly and professional. the rooms have wonderful balconies with awesome views. If you absolutely hate orange tile in bathrooms go somewhere else but you will miss a great place and a great deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel which was very central to everything. The staff were welcoming and eager to help. Our room had a balcony with great views overlooking the sea. The pool area was great and you could really relax here. There was a uphill climb to get into town but worth the effort. Quiet at night but very clean would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the corridor which was quieter and had a large balcony than others on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Positives:
Location
Amazing Views.
Great Pool and Sun Deck.
Breakfast Great ( in room).
Friendly Staff.
Huge Rooms (had a suite) and Balcony.
Very quiet at night.

Negatives:
Car not parked on site and have to arrange delivery in advance.
Whirlpool bath difficult to start (controls broken I think) and once started issued a brown scum into the water (maybe not cleaned properly!!!).
One evening, on returning from a restaurant, I wanted to buy a bottle of Prosecco or Champagne for my room,for a romantic night, only to be told by receptionist that the bar was closed and to use the in room mini bar! It was only 11:15.

Room Tip: A room to the right of the lift will have better views, and higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Monte Tauro hotel was the perfect location for our honeymoon in Taormina. We stayed here for 9 nights in early October in a classic double room, which had great views of the sea from the balcony and the autumn sun was still very hot. The service from all of the staff was fantastic, especially the pool attendant Giovanni, who was incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, served in a large, bright room with amazing views of Mt Etna and the sea. This fabulous hotel is within walking distance (uphill) of lots of great restaurants, bars and boutiques, perfect for exploring the sights of Taormina. We have only great things to say about this hotel and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Tauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Tauro Hotel

Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Tauro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monte Tauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Tauro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.