We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel full of pleasing little surprises” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Schuler to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Schuler
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel full of pleasing little surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After the first 24 hours of our 3 days at Villa Schuler, this was my initial journal note: “While it may not be the most ‘chi-chi / glam’ of your options in Taormina… (A) so far, not even a single, slight disappointment; (B) almost too many pleasant little surprises to remember; and, (C) if not ‘the best’ (and that would be a fair claim) location, then certainly among the top 2-3 locations in all of Taormina… at the center of all that we’ve seen and will want to see here (perfect for pedestrians).”

As our stay progressed, here is the rest of what I eventually wrote:

*Bedroom door is thick; rock-solid; closes tight, sound-proofing you from the hall (which is quiet in any event)

* Electrical outlets are everywhere and easy to reach… on each side of the bed, on every wall, at the desk (2), in the bathroom (2)

* In the pristine bathroom there are also: 5 (!) hooks for hanging clothes; 2 large towel rods plus one of those warming wall-mounted towel “ladders”; and, several small built-in marble shelves where you can array more toiletries and cosmetics and miscellany than you could possibly have brought along. Another great bathroom touch – one set of towels is white, and the other is gold (so my bride didn’t have to concern herself with confusing my towels with hers)

* A final detail of the bathroom (practical and also a bit a fun): Very high ceilings carry into the bathroom, which is why the high venting window above the shower is motorized, with the switch situated on the wall next to the toilet (this window opening / closing motor is of high quality – what else? – producing an expensive, confidence-engendering low hum when operating)

* Large fitted wardrobe / closet with several large drawers (that open/close smoothly) and shelves, as well as hanging rods… we thoroughly unpacked everything into these spaces… not only the hanging clothes and folded clothes from our over-packed suitcases, but we were also able to shelve our suitcases at the top to get them out of sight). And, these weren’t the usual hotel drawers and shelves with a bit of grit and dust in the nooks and crannies either… these were clearly wiped clean by the housekeepers

* The bed coverlet (a.k.a. “bed spread”) was freshly washed and pressed with a nice white and pale gold pattern with monogram

* Fresh terry mats are on each side of the bed, atop squeaky-clean tile floors (are you getting the picture about the level of housekeeping here?)

* At each bedside is a lamp and a goose-necked LED reading light (for late reading without disturbing your bed-mate)

* On the balcony railing is a tightly strung, unobtrusive clothesline with a lot of clothespins for drying whatever

* Very high quality windows (French doors for our room) with curtains as well as fitted shutters that will absolutely block any outside light

* Breakfast service is efficient and kind (warm, hospitable staff who genuinely convince you they want to satisfy every request). My wife of 34 years is no fan of orange juice, yet she practically swooned over the fresh red orange juice here. And tables are set with full linens and nice stemware at a level you might appreciate if dining rather than breakfasting

* The garden was exceptionally well-tended with Latin names / signs on every specimen. And all the palm trees on the grounds have been obviously well trimmed throughout their considerable lifetimes… they are Cannes-level in appearance

Overall impressions: A very clean, fresh atmosphere with more little comforts and conveniences designed-in than at virtually any other place we’ve stayed. Only the toiletries were a bit basic (though of nice quality). Anything that can be done with good taste or style has been – even the pipes under the bathroom sink are of polished chrome – and spotlessly clean, of course. I can be a neurotic, grouchy, picky traveler, and 3 days here made me an enthusiastic fan (obviously, I couldn’t stop writing down all the pleasing little surprises – if you’ve read this far, thanks for your indulgence!).

Room Tip: Room 16 on the 2nd level is a corner room, and thus has not only a balcony facing the sea, but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Wooow !!! Simply „thank you“ for your kind words !

With your unique and detailed list of observations about our hotel and about our team you put a smile on a lot of faces around here.

Christine, Gerhard and the Villa Schuler Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    174
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
121
537
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose Hotel Villa Schuler for our stay and wedding in Taormina. The hotel had a perfect location with only 1 minute walk to the main street Corso Umberto. Very quiet and relaxed athomsphere. If you prefer to take the cable car to the beach, this is only 10 minutes walk away or you can walk down the steep hill to the beach below which is much more quiet with all fasilities.
We celebrated our wedding with 12 friends and we all appreciated the heart felt service we received. From beginning to end we felt that we were welcome and that they were looking forward to receiving us as their guests.
The hotel suggested that we have the wedding dinner on their roof top terrace, no other guests had access to the terrace that night, and it could not have been better. The food was excellent. Their menu consists of typical Sicilan dishes and it all tasted wonderful. With the sunset coloring Etna in pink, the setting was complete.
Rooms were nicely decorated and furnished and had everything we needed.
The breakfast on the terrace was perfect - you choose from their breakfast menu and the food is quickly served. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but the staff recommended terrific restaurants every night and made reservations for us. The bar at the hotel is open 24 hours and hot and cold drinks are available there.
We truly enjoyed our stay and wedding - the hotel may not be a 5 star luxury hotel, but we would certainly prefer to stay there again due to the personlized service and care the staff showed us.
Einar & Anette, Norway

Room Tip: Choose seaview and maybe superior or junior suite if you require space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Have had a 1 week stay at an incredible great hotel. We stayed in a junior suite with breathtaking ocean views. We also had a private balcony with sun loungers. The breakfast was also quite super, with everything that belongs to. A wonderful hotel that can't be recommended highly enough, with an incredibly friendly staff - who gave us a super service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is wonderful place to stay. From arrival to departure the staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The views of the coastline and Etna are stunning. The excellent a la carte breakfast is served on the sea view terrace in fine weather.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a little extra but worth it. Room 6 has two balconies the larger one facing Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Location,location location! This has it all . Marvelous seaside views as well as views of Etna. Quiet garden an oasis just off the main pedestrian street. Cooked to order breakfast, friendly capable staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a view o f Etna and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent 15 nights in this lovely hotel and really got to know the hotel and all the staff. Everyone who works here seems to have the same mantra, which is to make your stay with them as enjoyable as possible.This of course comes down from the owner Mr Schuler himself, who gave us some great advice from restaurants to places to visit. Whenever they booked restaurants,beach lido's or tours we always had the best tables, front of the beach or tour guides.
For us they could not have done more

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I wrote more than 50 reviews on tripadvisor, very few hotels have got five stars. Villa Schuler definitely deserves five stars. This is by far the best 3 star hotel I have ever been, actually it is much better than many 4 star hotels. This is more like a home than a hotel in terms of hospitality, you feel as a guest in your friend's home.

Location of the hotel could not be much better, just 2 minutes walk to the piazza and main street where you can stroll around. There're many shops, cafes, restaurants on Via Corso.

The view from the hotel is spectacular, if you stay in a sea view room, you'll enjoy the view from your own room. The sea view rooms have rather small balconies, except for the junior suites, but this did not bother us much, there's a terrace on top floor and a terrace in front of the hotel where you can enjoy the view as well.

The room and bathroom was spotless clean. The room and the bathroom were adequately big and comfortable. The double bed and pillows were very comfortable to have a perfect sleep. The room was quiet, the air conditioner worked perfectly well.

Wi-fi was free and had a good reception from the room and other places in the hotel.

You can reserve a parking place in hotel's garage for 15 euros/night or if you prefer you can park in front of the hotel free of charge depending on availability.

Breakfast was a la carte with plenty of choices, all included in the price. Even the bread basket had lots of different kinds of bread and croissants, which you might not get in some 4 star hotels. Choices of eggs, omelette,cheese, fresh fruits, cereals, drinks etc etc... all included in the price, served fresh with a great smile and efficiently. You just ask for it and you get it.

The hotel made us a reservation on a very good trattoria for us, when we asked for their advice. Trattoria da Nino serves the best seafood with great hospitality.

The hotel has a garden at back of the building as well, with lemon trees, flowers etc. So if you prefer to stay at a garden view room, you'll enjoy the green.

Thanks for the hospitality Mr Schuler, it was great to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#5 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel di charme in una antica dimora del centro storico, immersa in un curatissimo parco con stupenda vista mare ed Etna. Giardini e terrazze, saloni, ascensore panoramico, giardino d'inverno, rooftop lounge&terrace, Wi-Fi gratis e navetta per le spiagge. Servizio 24 ore. Parcheggio e garage: una rarita per il centro storico di Taormina. 21 Camere e 6 Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Schuler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.