We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Schuler to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Schuler
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent two nights at Villa Schuler at the end of September and really enjoyed our stay. Most notably, the staff here is outstanding, and their care and dedication shows. Our group was fortunate to enjoy a small reception with Gerhard Schuler, who proudly told us about his family, growing up around the hotel, ongoing innovations, and the interesting history of the property.

The hotel is down a short flight of stairs from the main street of Taormina, and the staff is happy to give suggestions for dining, shopping or sightseeing. The grounds include a wonderful garden area, which includes some nice rooms/villas. But to me, the nicest rooms are facing the sea. Each has a large balcony with a table and view of the sea. The rooms are good sized and extremely neat and clean. They also come with wifi (with a strong signal), which was not always the case during our trip.

Also noteworthy are the great breakfasts, served on the terrace overlooking the sea, with Mt. Etna visible in the distance. Service was leisurely but very professional.

We would look no further than Hotel Villa Shuler if we return to Taormina, and highly recommend it to others. The first rate service and good location are hard to beat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor facing the sea for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    174
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
121
537
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our 4 day stay at The Villa Schuler was the highlight of our 2 week visit to Sicily.

The room was clean and spacious, and we had a spectacular view of the bay
from our comfortable balcony. The breakfast, which was served, had several
interesting selections and was not only sumptuous but ample. The villa has a
large, well kept garden, and is located a few dozen steps (up) from the main
pedestrian / shopping street in Taormina where there are also several notable
restaurants. We took several trips from the conveniently located Villa Schuler.

Most notably however, is the friendly and helpful staff – they felt like family.

Room Tip: a sea view room is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Owner at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear guest from San José,

thank you very much for your friendly words about our staff. We have forwarded your review to them all. All of us greet you and whish you and your family all the best, a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Your review was posted in the week immediately after our traditional winter closure for refurbishings and so I would like to inform you that we will reopen on March 15, 2014 with lots of interesting improvements and tecnological innovations.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel. Greetings to the capital of Silicon Valley from

Christine and Gerhard Schuler & the whole team of the Hotel Villa Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned from a magical week in Sicily thanks to this outstanding hotel and the awesome wonders of Sicily. Quickly, what we loved:
- We had a Junior Suite on the top floor with jaw-dropping 180 degree views of the Ionian Sea, Greek Theatre and part of Mt. Etna from the room's terrace.
- We got a great rate on the room (159 euro), likely because it was end of season.
- Table service breakfast on the outdoor terrace with even better views of Etna and the Ionian Sea.
- Breakfast was delicious and fresh - bufala mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, fresh ricotta, croissants, fresh fruit, omelets, espresso, blood orange juice. Service was quick and friendly every morning.
- Examples of the outstanding service: we had an early excursion but breakfast started at 7:30. They easily and graciously accommodated our need to eat early and served just us at 7 AM; They also packed lunches for us for another day trip; they made reservations for us at local restaurants; the restaurants they suggested were very good, especially Tiramisu, where we had, overall, one of the best meals we ever had. The front desk staff was always willing to help with any issue and always with a smile.
- Free Wifi in the room which always worked very well.
- Perfect location with a 3 minute walk to the main drag, Corso Umberto.
Service here is 5 star all the way. However, there a few minor irritations associated with the room: cramped shower stall, no dresser, thin walls, little privacy on the terrace.
Overall, we would strongly recommend this hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite on the top floor so there was no noise from above. But if you have noisy neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motza Ilit
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

It is beyond me how anyone can possibly complain about a first-rate, well-run, spotlessly-clean hotel (or, for that matter, about its clientele). This place is absolutely amazing -- from reserved car parking to the complimentary drink at check-in. The staff goes out of its way to keep you happy and makes sure your stay will be unforgettable.
It is run like a European hotel should be run and the rates are extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Owner at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
a positive comment from an experienced traveller and senior reviewer. We wish you and your family all the best and many more lovely, genuine experiences on your trips around this wonderful world.

Christine Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a hybrid of Swiss German efficiency (almost too much) in Italy. Hard to put finger on it but everything seems to be a bit too buttoned up, hard for me to relax here. Everything was good to excellent. Breakfast has to be ordered, no buffet, which was not great having to wait for coffee, etc., but that is hardly a complaint, personal preference. Building is quirky because it is a converted villa and layout is not compressible.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Owner at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear RWBNYC,

Thank you very much for the effort you made to describe our hotel. We appreciate your estimation of our services to have been „good to excellent“. We really feel sorry about your statement that you could not relax here, even more as we are committed in hearth and mind to make our guests feel at home.

We are happy that we manage to do so in the majority of cases, which we can measure by the many reports we get on the cordial atmosphere in our family run hotel, on the opulent breakfast à-la-carte (included in the room rate and served on our panoramic seafront terrace) and on our relaxing gardens.

Yet we are surprised by your description of the building, which is a historic Sicilian Villa built 1902, carefully restaured, providing every modern comfort while keeping its traditional classic liberty flair and style.

It’s a pity, that we were not able to infect you with our passion for this values.

We wish you all the best and many relaxing moments in your future life.

Christine Schuler, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Perfect room with balcony overlooking the sparkling sea. Breakfast was made to order and very good with many choices and served with views of the sea and Mt. Etna. Very lovely with flowers and peace. The reception area is light and modern and staff is very responsive. Best part was to get to the main shopping area of Taormina you walk through the hotel's very sweet garden. We paid for parking and that is a must as parking is scarce around the hotel-worth it. Good wi fi. We would stay here again, no doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First of all the hotel is fantastic . it has excellent staff and a fantastic location . You eat a wonderful breakfast on the terrace with mount Etna and the bay all below you .A convenient short cut through a lovely garden takes you to the main street of the town with its excellent shopping .It has Germanic/Austrian staff who have been softened by the Italian charm who make it work like the proverbial Swiss clock..
the only problem for me is that every over 50 retired northern Europe couple appear to be there with their red faces and phrase book Italian . There are few Italian visitors so you don't get the feeling of local colour . There is not the organised chaos of a real Italian hotel which gives you that sense of really being in Italy . if you don't want this its a perfect place -but not the real thing for me .

Room Tip: you need a room overlooking the front , but you will be lucky !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Owner at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear fdj1946,

Thank you for the positive review on the quality of our services, views and location. We are happy that you appreciated all this. Please allow me first to correct one statement: out of our 15 multilingual employees we have 1 Austrian, 1 Belgian and 1 tunisian-born Italian, all others are Italians.

Taormina is the most popular touristic destination of Sicily and if the international mix of the hotel guests you met here was a problem and if you missed Italian guests here, please consider the period you travelled: November is an off-season month and not a traditional holiday period neither for Italians nor for northern Europeans, which also explains the 50+ agers.

If you prefer more Italian guests around you when travelling in Italy, you should try the summer months as July or August.

By the way: we think it’s absolutely great when travellers make an effort to learn the language of the country they are visiting, no matter what face colour.

Yours sincerely
cvs1956
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#5 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel di charme in una antica dimora del centro storico, immersa in un curatissimo parco con stupenda vista mare ed Etna. Giardini e terrazze, saloni, ascensore panoramico, giardino d'inverno, rooftop lounge&terrace, Wi-Fi gratis e navetta per le spiagge. Servizio 24 ore. Parcheggio e garage: una rarita per il centro storico di Taormina. 21 Camere e 6 Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Schuler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.