We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a Beautiful Garden Close to the Center of Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Schuler to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Schuler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel in a Beautiful Garden Close to the Center of Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Villa Schuler for 4 nights on the 4th floor. The views of Giardini Naxos from the 5th floor roof deck were amazing! The room was very nice with a bedroom, bathroom, sitting room area and balcony. The breakfast was AMAZING! The mozzarella was so fresh and the cappuccino's were delicious too. Service was great. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful. 24 hour bar service, they will also bring breakfast or drinks to your room if you'd like. The gardens behind the hotel were very beautiful. Great location ...just 2 minutes off of the main street Corso Umberto. They also provided limousine service to and from the airport and both of our drivers were very pleasant to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    188
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
133
594
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Simply gorgeous hotel. Decor, views and meals provided were a sheer delight for the senses.

Sea views from the room where amazing.

Perfect romantic getaway without the kids :-)

Terrific location with all Taormina's amenities in close walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights at the start of a 10 day trip to Sicily.

It is a really nice little hotel. Really helpful and friendly reception staff reception staff, simple rooms and beautiful views out to sea. It is in a peaceful setting but go up some steps at the back of the hotel and you are in the heart of Taormina.

Although there is no pool the hotel arranged a shuttle service to the beach each day. Staff were also able to recommend some great restaurants.

The best thing about the hotel is the breakfast. It is al a carte with fresh local produce and really lovely granita! A great start to the day.

We booked a top floor suite. The room was pleasant enough and I particularly liked the balcony but I wouldn't call it a suite. Oddly there was no chest of drawers in the room but lots of shelves! I got a good deal for booking well inadvance (30% off and free parking) but I think if I had paid full rate I might have been disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

When we were lost in the steep, winding roads of Taormina, we called Hotel Villa Schuler and they gave us clear directions. When we checked out in the morning and wanted to spend the afternoon on the beach, they held our bags, gave us towels, and let us shower in the hotel upon our return. When we left for Agrigento, forgetting some clothing hanging in the armoire, they held the clothes for three days until we could pick them up, and presented them clean and folded.

On top of all of this, the rooms are beautiful, the breakfast delicious, and the location perfect. We enjoyed our stay and would absolutely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only thing missing is a pool - otherwise the hotel, its staff, its ground, location and breakfasts are all 10s. A delightful stay in a great view triplex room. Very helpful staff. Free mountain bikes for those brave enough - even for a very experienced cyclist - the trip up the mtn or down to the sea is daunting due to grade, traffic or heat of summer. The bikes don;t look like they get alot of use or maintenance for those reasons.
The staff is a bit stiff at the desk, but Alejandro makes up for it.
A must is a night at the opera - open air in the Greek/Roman amphitheater.

Room Tip: A sea and city view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in Villa Schuler for one night in July 2013, on our way to Rome.
If you follow the hotel's instructions, you will surely get there, after lots of curves and narrow streets (awesome, by the way!).
Once you arrive, parking is easy: just drop your car at the front of the hotel, and the helpful staff will take care of it.
We had two double rooms, garden view, one with twin beds for our children and the other one with a king bed. The hotel is impeccable, recently renovated. It has a lovely garden and a wonderful terrace/sundeck with amazing views of Taormina and Etna. Breakfast is served outdoors (and indoors too, but the views are too nice to stay inside) and includes hot and cold dishes. Only downside: some bees flying around during breakfast.
Rooms are very comfortable and well decorated, with balconies facing the quiet garden (or the sea, if you are ready to spend some more euros). Jacuzzi shower provided good time for relax.
Location is great: just a few steps away from Taormina's charming center.
If you want to go to the beach, there is a funicular and a shuttle bus.
Good recommendations for dinning and sightseeing.
We regretted staying just one night - we will plan to have more time to enjoy this beautiful Italian spot on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel Villa Schuler deserves all the wonderful praises the other writers have given them!

We were very nervous taking our car into Taormina but it actually was not as bad as thought. If you book early, the hotel will reserve a parking spot for you at no cost! We simply drove up to the front of the hotel and left our car...the valet parked it for us in secured parking a few steps from the front of the hotel. We had access to the car whenever needed but only took it out once for a day trip.

Seaview rooms have amazing views as the hotel is set on the cliff high above the Mediterranean. The rooms are large with simple decor. The bathrooms are also large with the most sophisticated/excellent showers I have ever seen. Unusual for European standards.

We loved the location of the hotel...stroll through the gorgeous gardens...up a few steps and you are on the Corso (pedestrian only street full of shops and restaurants)!

Breakfasts were served on the the gorgeous terrace and the selection was varied....hot entrees available as well as fruits, cheeses, croissants and yummy cappuccinos!

We would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#7 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#26 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Taormina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#5 Family Hotel in Taormina
#9 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere. Superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Schuler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.