We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Villa Schuler --- my 1st Choice !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Schuler to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Schuler
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Villa Schuler --- my 1st Choice !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If anyone is planning for a relaxing break in Sicily, Taormina should be your first choice, and “Hotel Villa Schuler” on the top of the hill, near to the Old Town, is always my first choice! Good location, cosy, neat, clean, stylish but not too grand, with magnificent views facing the Mediterranean Sea! Their sea-view rooms have 1 or 2 lovely balcony! Every morning, we started our day with a relaxing breakfast at their garden overlooking the Sea, with soothing sea-breeze & birds humming here and there! It’s such a great place to relax yourselves… no one will be talking loud. Everyone is friendly and polite, including the guests! The staff there are extremely helpful and friendly! It’s my friend’s second stay in Schuler… and sure it’ll also be my second stay next time when I visit Taormina !!


剛從Sicily (西西里) 回來, 忍不住一定要介紹這家 “Hotel Villa Schuler” 給大家!首先,到Sicily 的話,請以Taormina 為基地,而最好是住在山上的酒店,因靠近 "Old Town”, 又多好餐廳; 而且居高臨下,“地中海" 美景盡收眼簾,而這家 "Hotel Villa Schuler” 的位置佷方便,也靠山邊,他們的 "海景房" 還有1-2個露臺,每天早餐在他們的花園餐廳,鳥語花香!酒店設計有特色但不華麗,簡單,清潔,最重要是這裡每個人說話都輕聲,服務員每個都有笑容,有禮貌(包括客人)!這是我朋友 第二次來這裡,我下次來Sicily 的話,也必定再來Villa Schuler !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    174
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
121
537
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel Schuler is a perfect base for exploring Taormina town and the region. The hotel has a wonderful personality, with friendly informative staff and is very efficiently operated - every need seems to have been considered,

We'd certainly love to visit again.

The hotel does seem to be largely used by German speaking guests, but all the staff speak excellent English.

Notes:

- Look out for the "Garden Villa" - ideal for a family with 1-2 children. Includes a small kitchen and a small private patio with two sunloungers and an outdoor shower, with the villa being located in the hotel's garden.

- The garden is wonderful, and well maintained with many tropical plants and features - and you can walk through it when going to/from town.

- Breakfast's were wonderful, with the opportunity to sit in the sun overlooking the Med, or pick a shadier spot. The only slight change would be to serve coffee or tea on seating !

- The hotel doesn't provide other meals - but does provide excellent recommendations and will arrange bookings.

- The location is perfect for Taorimina town - located just off the main high street. However. with the buffer provided by the garden its also quiet too (although there was a party at the hotel on the Saturday night that was a little loud)

- Don't be deterred by the lack of a hotel pool. There are a number of areas to enjoy the sun (including a small roof top terrace with sun loungers). Its worth taking the opportunity of a day trip to one of the local beach clubs (arranged at reception) which will have a pool and beach access and are a short minibus ride away. The hotel will even loan towels. (Tip: try and book the timing for the return trip when making arrangements at the hotel reception.

- On the last day, we liked that although checkout was 11am, the hotel provides a shower room for guests to use. We were able to have a full day in the town, before showering and changing at the hotel and having a cold drink on the terrace before our driver arrived to take us to the airport.

- Free wifi (for as many devices as you like) is provided - pick up the access codes at reception. (Its not good enough to Skype, but certainly fine for web browsing and e-mail)

We were lucky to arrive on the last night of the annual Film Festival (in June). Amazing experience to walk through the balmy streets of Taormina back to the hotel at midnight after watching an awards ceremony at a Roman Theatre followed by a showing of the Lone Ranger (all for €5).

Room Tip: As a family, look at the Garden Villa option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

So many pluses!

Our rooms had stunning views of the coast and sea

Just walk through their garden and you are minutes away the hub of Taormina, but when you’re in your room or hotel grounds it’s quiet and secluded

Breakfast on their outdoor terrace was the stuff of picture postcards. They served by far the best breakfast we had in Sicily, with granitas, fruit, breads and choices of hot cooked dishes. Not a buffet – but actually prepared to order and served.

Rooftop terrace was fantastic at night to sit with a drink, talk and take in the views

Parking is a breeze – simply reserve a parking space in their garage

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

During our honeymoon in Sicily, we have decided to visit Taormina for 2days. Aswe found some nice reviews on TA, we have chosen to stay in Hotel Villa Schuler. It was a perfect place- all that old-style beautiful details and decorations made this hotel really unique, with top location, friendly staff and the terrace with unbelivable view. Very tasty breakfasts served a la carte were also a nice surprise. We recommend this place as the best to stay in Taormina:)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Three friends and I stayed at Hotel Villa Schuler for two nights after being let down by another hotel in Taormina. The staff were very accommodating and found us a couple of excellent rooms after we turned up hot and bothered off the street. The breakfast was excellent, with fresh and local produce. The roof area is a must and provides a wonderful vista of Taormina and the coast; an excellent spot for an evening G&T. Staff were always friendly and helpful, especially when one of our party suffered a serious asthma attack in the early hours and required a doctor. Great place for a relaxing stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Villa Schuler after stumbling across it while looking for somewhere to stay in Taormina. The location is fantastic, the staff incredibly helpful with various questions and restaurant recommendations and it was excellent value for money given the location and views (the roof terrace is beautiful). I will be coming back here in the future for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Villa Schuler to start our trip in Sicily. It is quite expensive but I guess this is the standard in Taormina. The room was beautiful with 2 small balconies with sea view. The breakfast, served on the seafront terrasse, is "à la carte" and was very good. The location is convenient as it is walking distance to the center and cable car to go to the beach. Last but not least, there is a parking, which is an incontestable advantage in Taormina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#5 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel di charme in una antica dimora del centro storico, immersa in un curatissimo parco con stupenda vista mare ed Etna. Giardini e terrazze, saloni, ascensore panoramico, giardino d'inverno, rooftop lounge&terrace, Wi-Fi gratis e navetta per le spiagge. Servizio 24 ore. Parcheggio e garage: una rarita per il centro storico di Taormina. 21 Camere e 6 Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Schuler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.