We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with fantastic location and amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Schuler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with fantastic location and amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The welcome we received was the friendliest we have ever had. Since we were travelling as a family, we were given The Garden Villa which is very spacious and has direct access to the beautiful hotel gardens where our children adored playing hide and seek. The staff were incredibly helpful and were able to arrange trips for us to visit Savoca, Noto and Siracusa. Delicious breakfasts were served on the terrace with stunning views of snow capped Mount Etna. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel incredibly welcome. We would love to return to this beautiful island and would definitely stay in Hotel Villa Schuler.

Room Tip: The Garden Villa is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear friends from Edimburgh,
we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your family stay at our “Garden Villa Suite”.

This is our largest Suite and therefore “great for families”. It has no seaview but is cosy and private: 518 sq ft In a secluded corner of our own garden area with private access, one bedroom (130 sq ft), one living room with kitchenette, refrigerator and dish-washer (tot.238 sq ft), 2 bathrooms (one with Jacuzzi whirlpool bath-tub and one with Jacuzzi shower), hair dryer, individually controlled air-conditioning, telephone, free Wi-Fi, 2 satellite TVs with radio, safe.

It has an outdoor patio-solarium (345 sq ft) with sitting area and sun beds. Total area 862 sq ft. Breakfast can be served also directly in the courtyard or in the living room. Kids can play safely in the private courtyard. And they love that outdoor hot shower!

Gerhard Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    162
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
114
503
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

excellent location, very clean , one of the best during our two week trip to sicily . staff was great !!! hotel has on site indoor parking available at extra cost .breakfast is cooked to order and very good. a really nice hotel . .

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great room, great breakfast and stunning views. Staff were fabulous, when they heard it was my birthday they made us complimentary Cocktails on the terrace. Location is fantasic, just down some steps from the main street

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed in august 2012 for 2 nights . beautiful hotel with marvellous views form the veranda overlooking the bay. breakfast served outdoors each morning with an incredible choice of foods including fresh breads frsh fruit , eggs pancakes etc. Very courteous staff. We stayed in a graden level room with access to a courtyard. Hotel has a choice of shuttle services to the beach at very good prices , far cheaper than buying a cable car ticket and paying at th e beach. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location, and amazing breakfast. We had to leave verY early in the morning and they got our order for breakfast and served us an amazing food before the usual hour, was very nice. The rooms are spacious , clean and beautiful. But don't tAke the junior suit it is not good at all. The double deluxe are big, great sea view and very charming

Room Tip: The deluxe room , see view are great , don't take the junior suit , very disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest,
we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Organizing our traditional full breakfast even before the usual hour is part of our services. It is difficult instead to reply to your suggestion not to book a Junior Suite because you did not add any further expalanations to this statement.

Accurately detailled descriptions and photos of all our room types are on our website, so no surprises.

Gerhard Schuler, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Three nights in Taormina at the Hotel Villa Schuler will not be easily forgotten. The site is located just below the main street, overlooks the sea. Our room was not spacious but had nice open views to the sea and was well appointed. Breakfast was served with a full menu, included, in the room. The weather being perfect, it was served outside on a delightful patio overlooking the sea and with vistas of Mt. Etna.

To walk up to town you pass thru the hotel garden on the back of the property, thru a gate and then up the center of activity. I fould myself relaxing in the garden waiting for travel companions to join me and begin our day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at every turn.

I cannot recommend the Hotel Villa Schuler more strongly.

Room Tip: Facing the sea, above ground level. South corner room has a nice little outside patio with view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I just completed a three night stay at Villa Schuler, 16-19 March. The rental car drive from Catania to Taormina, in the dark, was a bit of a challenge so we felt good about a professional and at the same time warm, professional reception at 21:30, and the eye for detail ("no worries about your car, we'll park it in the garage you booked"). The junior suite on the top floor with its magnificent view is well worth the minimal extra cost. Breakfast at Villa Schuler is delightful, staff purposely renders old-fashioned service rather than having you queue for a messy buffet - and there is an extensive choice (the mozzarella is not to be missed!). The best part is the location: a walkup through the hotel's botanical garden and you are in the middle of Taormina's main street. While Sicily is suffering the same unseasonal cold this March 2013 as the rest of Europe (relatively speaking) it didnotaffect our stay: Villa Schuler has central heating and the view of the snowcapped Etna from the hotel's rooftop terrace was a great compensation. Thanks to the invariably friendlly and service oriented staff.

Room Tip: Front-side, topfloor Junior suites are worth the extra money. When travelling by car renting a garag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#5 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel di charme in una antica dimora del centro storico, immersa in un curatissimo parco con stupenda vista mare ed Etna. Giardini e terrazze, saloni, ascensore panoramico, giardino d’inverno, rooftop lounge&terrace, Wi-Fi gratis e navetta per le spiagge. Servizio 24 ore. Parcheggio e garage: una rarità per il centro storico di Taormina. 21 camere e 6 Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Schuler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.