We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional service at a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Schuler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“traditional service at a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I just completed a three night stay at Villa Schuler, 16-19 March. The rental car drive from Catania to Taormina, in the dark, was a bit of a challenge so we felt good about a professional and at the same time warm, professional reception at 21:30, and the eye for detail ("no worries about your car, we'll park it in the garage you booked"). The junior suite on the top floor with its magnificent view is well worth the minimal extra cost. Breakfast at Villa Schuler is delightful, staff purposely renders old-fashioned service rather than having you queue for a messy buffet - and there is an extensive choice (the mozzarella is not to be missed!). The best part is the location: a walkup through the hotel's botanical garden and you are in the middle of Taormina's main street. While Sicily is suffering the same unseasonal cold this March 2013 as the rest of Europe (relatively speaking) it didnotaffect our stay: Villa Schuler has central heating and the view of the snowcapped Etna from the hotel's rooftop terrace was a great compensation. Thanks to the invariably friendlly and service oriented staff.

Room Tip: Front-side, topfloor Junior suites are worth the extra money. When travelling by car renting a garag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    158
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
113
486
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have visited this hotel 3 times and would go back again and again! It is lovely with lovely gardens, beautiful view, wonderful staff and great accessibility to the town of Taormina. The breakfast are delicious and offer a great variety of food. Eating on the terrace is truly a treat and we have been able to eat out there every day for all 3 visits. Just can't say enough about this hotel! Heaven!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Anne B,
your positive feedback proves that personalized services make the difference. The constantly growing number of our regular guests motivates our entire team. Looking forward to your fourth visit
Christine and Gerhard Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Schuler for 2 wonderful nights during our trip in Sicily. It was a stopover before continuing our journey to visit my family in Agrigento (Burgio). We booked this hotel 2 months in advance from New York and we were extremely happy with our decision. We had a top floor junior suite with an amazing balcony & gorgeous views overlooking the sea. The room itself was spacious and there was an extra sitting area with a table and chairs in the room in addition to the outdoor balcony area. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, there was a safe in the room for our valuables and the bathroom was a decent size with a Jacuzzi shower & the AC worked very well in June (2012). The hotel is located in such a wonderful convenient location, steps away from Corso Umberto right through their beautiful garden. Everything is in walking distance. The complementary gourmet breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea and Mt. Etna was just breathtaking. The food was outstanding & offered more than the traditional “Italian” breakfast…. the options were plentiful and the food was delicious. The service was also great, the waiters & waitresses were attentive & accommodating. I was also happy to know that most of the staff were fluent in English (even though my boyfriend and I both speak Italian). We were also able to park our car at the hotel and not have to worry about it for the 2 nights/3 days that we were in Taormina. The front desk was also very friendly & answered all our questions. We did not utilize the top floor terrace (since we had our own) but we did go up there to see the view & it was a great space & had wonderful views. We contemplated staying one extra night but since we had other hotels already reserved for the rest of our trip we couldn’t stay. This hotel was recommended to me by someone on Tripadvisor & I am so glad I took their advice. It was not the first time for us in Sicily, but it was the first time for us together in Taormina and we loved every minute of it. If we ever get back to Taormina, we’ll definitely stay at Villa Schuler again!

Room Tip: "Top floor junior suites" offer amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear guests from Queens, NY

Thank you for a remarkable review remembering a pleasant stay 8 months later.

Our approach is delivering personalized services and your promise „if we ever get back to Taormina“ makes us happy.

In the meanwhile we completed our seasonal winter refurbishings. Many innovations and improvements took place in the last 3 months and we are going to start the new season, as scheduled, on March 9, 2013.

Arrivederci e grazie!
Christine and Gerhard Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Taormina is commercialized but this is not a problem as it is such a delightful place to visit. Hotel Schuler is located just a few steps from the main street via their gardens. Everything is within walking distance and Taormina has some of the best restaurants, if you are willing to choose and pay for the best ones.
We opted for a room with a large terrace that had wonderful views of the sea and Etna. Besides the terrace our room included a separate area with a table and chairs.
Breakfast was excellent and it was a joy to sit in the shade eating breakfast with wonderful scenery.
The hotel is very well presented, charming and recommended.

Room Tip: Double room with bath and balcony recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Villa Schuler is conveniently located near the Corso Umberto of Taormina but it is separated from the confusion by a beautiful garden, ensuring uiet nights and great sleep. On the other side you have a stunning view of the sea side. Rooms are ok, but the real highlight is the FANTASTIC breakfast they offer you on the sunny terrace facing the seaside.
Can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location, nice facilities, and reasonable prices are a recipe for success. Extremely polite and professional staff makes check in/check out a breeze and the complementary gourmet breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Mediterranean Sea something to write home about. Beautiful gardens and minutes from numerous restaurants, shops, and sites. Outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and her friend stayed here almost 10 years ago, and our recent visit together only confirmed her recollection that it is a gorgeous hotel in a gorgeous place, and unreasonably priced to boot. We agree with other reviewers that the included breakfast would be exceptional even if it wasn't accompanied by a breathtaking view overlooking the Ionian Sea. Our room (#1) was huge, comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed, although lacking a view. Villa Schuler is an easy uphill walk from the main shopping area in Taormina, but also a quick walk from the very lovely botanical garden. The staff was friendly, helpful, and fluent in English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to read that also this new visit to our hotel fulfilled your expectations. Your review was posted on the day before our traditional winter closure for refurbishings and so I would like to inform you that we will reopen on March 9, 2013 with lots of improvements and innovations.

We are all looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Christine and Gerhard Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#5 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel di charme in una antica dimora del centro storico, immersa in un curatissimo parco con stupenda vista mare ed Etna. Giardini e terrazze, saloni, ascensore panoramico, giardino d’inverno, rooftop lounge&terrace, Wi-Fi gratis e navetta per le spiagge. Servizio 24 ore. Parcheggio e garage: una rarità per il centro storico di Taormina. 21 camere e 6 Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Schuler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.