We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Pensione Svizzera to your Saves list
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Pirandello, 26, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Lovely hotel only 5 minutes walk from the old city center. Comfortable, affordable, clean, good breakfast with very friendly service and seaview. I really enjoyed the lounge chairs in the garden after a hectic day in Taormina. And between 5 - 7 pm there is free tea and cookies. Nice gesture!

Room Tip: The family rooms nr. 3 and 4 are have 3 good beds and a child bed. The positive remarks: comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    222
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
376
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Walking distance from beautiful Taomina. Great value for money, friendly staff, good breakfast and fantastic cappuccino served by a very friendly breakfast waiter. The hotel is located in between two one way streets, so yes you hear some traffic .. But not annoying. Nice court yard to relax, free tea for all guest between 17-19. The family rooms are nice and spacious, but don't have sea view.

Just another tip, leave the restaurants inside the city walls and try the Trattoria's outside .. Like eg Trattoria da Ugo

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is in a good location just 5 minutes outside of the city walls and it's nice to get away from the crowds. The staff were efficient but I didn't feel they were really that friendly.. The night staff were better and very helpful. Whilst the rooms are fresh and clean I was very disappointed with mine (room 1). I knew it would be on a side street but I didn't expect it to be at street level. It was also very dark and you couldn't open the shutters without being seen. Although there's not a lot of traffic you can hear the Vespas and cars as they go past so you couldn't have the windows open. Although I didn't really need air con at this time of year there were no controls for it anyway. Breakfast was good and the best cappuccino I've had so far but overall I felt it was very poor value for money.
My friends were on the 4th floor with part sea view. Nobody mentioned the 70 stairs to climb and no lift/elevator. I suppose it was a good workout!
The wifi you have to log in every time you use it which gets a bit frustrating. And although they advertise Sky TV there wasn't an English speaking channel amongst the whole lot A great town to visit but a very disappointing room in the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 1 - poor light and right on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro R, General Manager at Hotel La Pensione Svizzera, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Madam,
I'm sorry to contradict you on some aspects of his review.
At check -out, complaining that you do not like his "economy" standard room .
If there he had said before, we would have found a solution with an update, but it was not so .
The climate controls are located at the front desk during the winter months since we have heaters , but you could have asked for.
About the rooms on the fourth floor , is specified on our website which are located on the fourth floor and is written on the booking confirmation to your friend The rooms on the fourth floor are sold separately from the remaining sea -view rooms with a lowest price.
.
Where did you read that advertise Sky? On confirmation of your booking makes no reference to Sky , however we have foreign channels as specified in the booking confirmation , type the BBC, ZDF , etc.etc.
Gawin the night porter and Matthew, the man of the breakfasts I thank you for the compliments given to them.
See you soon , hoping to have her back among our most loyal customers in Taormina, possibly in one of the 13 spacious rooms overlooking the sea.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While looking for a hotel in Taormina I was a bit unpleasantly surprised by the hotel prices. La Pensione Svizzera offers a good deal. It is close to the town center and right next to the cable car that goes down to the sea. It is clean and has a very pleasant outdoor space to relax on a sunny day. We paid extra to have a sea view. Make sure to ask for a room on the higher levels of the hotel as at the first floor we mostly had a view on the terrace of the opposite house.
Staff is friendly and helpful. The woman that welcomed us spoke three different languages which is a good surprise in Sicily. Would definitely recommend to people looking for value rather than top notch.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. There is a lovely garden and conservatory to sit in during the day time and a separate car park a couple of minutes walk away.
The nearby restaurant is very good and opposite there is a handy cafe that does drinks and snacks.
A good choice of breakfast food. Sky TV in rooms.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietro R, Manager at Hotel La Pensione Svizzera, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!!

We hope to see you again among our most loyal customers.
best regards,
Pietro Rizzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our 3 nights were perfect. The location, easy walking to everywhere, including town centre, Greek Roman theatre, tram to the lower town/beach, bus station and great restaurants. There was complimentary wine in our room, lovely touch. This is a great little hotel, with many choices for breakfasts and we especially enjoyed all the private garden and inside relaxing spaces.
Their recommendation to Tischi Toschi Restaurant was a highlight of our stay in Taormina.
Fantastic and we were royally treated by Luca and his lovelyi wife.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent our first night in Sicily at this lovely hotel. Upgraded to a corner room on an upper floor and enjoyed far-reaching coastline views. Short walk to forum, good restaurant right up the hill, filling breakfast in the enclosed "outside" breakfast terrace, comfortable bed, and a great starting point for our Sicilian vacation.

Room Tip: There's no elevator but the walk to the third floor is worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello, 26, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#10 Family Hotel in Taormina
#11 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pensione Svizzera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.