We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pensione Svizzera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Pensione Svizzera to your Saves list
La Pensione Svizzera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Pirandello, 26, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Palermo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very cozy hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but found the staff very helpful and kind. Also, spoke english very well. We recommend it! Only a two minute walk to the main part of town and a two minute walk to the bus station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    221
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
372
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The positive reviews of Pensione Svizzera are all correct: great, convenient location. Our room on the 4th floor had a breathtaking view, and the breakfast and wait staff are wonderful.

I would note, though, that the stairs to the 4th floor are no joke, and that the walls really are quite thin.

Room Tip: Ask if a room with a balcony is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Svizzera in Room 11 on the 2nd floor for five nights in mid-October. Not only did the room have a great view of the Sicilian shoreline but we could easily see in in the distance mainland Calabria. Being car-less travelers, we found the previous posts noting the proximity of the bus and cable car stations to be true and of great help in making our excursions easy. The staff was uniformly helpful and the breakfast items were good and plentiful. There's a great restaurant about a block towards town on Via Luigi Pirandello called Trattoria da Nino - It wasn't too expensive and yet so good we went back there the next night.

The only "but" if you could call it that was that the TV was tempermental and too complicated for us. We had to get the staff to switch on the cable box (which they cheerfully did) each evening if we wanted to watch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecclefechan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our room was spotless and well furnished although space was at a premium especially in the bathroom.
The rooms are also not well insulated so you will hear your neighbours.
Our room also had a very pleasant terrace.
The breakfast was plentiful and had a lot of variety.
From the two private beaches on offer, the Paradise Beach club had a 'nicer' stretch of beach but don't expect unspoiled, clean beaches in this part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here in Oct 2012. What a lovely, friendly, meticulous and well located hotel. It is minutes from the bus station and just a brief walk to all the action. They even arranged a tour of Mt Etna for us with a private guide who was fabulous. Breakfast was by far the best we had this trip....and that includes all 9 hotels we stayed in. I would stay here again, given the chance, and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would give this hotel 20 stars if I could. The woman at the desk, Maria, was friendly, kind, generous, helpful...etc. the building was beautiful, clean, and well-located. We were very near the cable car, and about a block from the main street. We had a room on the top floor with a patio and a view to die for. The breakfast room and patio area were the best. They gave us a great complimentary bottle of wine as a welcome, and when we asked for another that we offered to pay for, they just gave it to us. I wish we had stayed there for our entire visit! Highly highly highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get the room on the fourth floor with a patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my husband are just back from a wonderful stay at this Pensione. It has a really great location right in the centre of Taormina. The rooms are cosy and kept very clean. The staff from reception to the breakfast room, to the cleaners are very friendly and helpful. The night porter (Luigi) is a very talented artist (cartoonist) and will do you a nice little sketch if you ask nicely :) The breakfast is lovely, we looked forward to this each morning as much for the breakfast itself and the friendly staff. Return visits are definitely on the cards to Svizzera.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Svizzera

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello, 26, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#10 Family Hotel in Taormina
#11 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you’ll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina’s main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzarò, Taormina’s most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pensione Svizzera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.