We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star?! Possibly, Self Appointed Stars” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caparena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caparena Hotel to your Saves list
Caparena Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Via Nazionale, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“4 Star?! Possibly, Self Appointed Stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I don't know where to start with this Hotel from the Rock Hard Bed to the Terrible Service. They do not take US Dollars and Refuse to exchange US dollars to Euros so when you go be prepared to not have any way to get Euro's. I can understand if they were a 2 star hotel and Didn't convert $$ for us, but we are talking 4 Self Appointed stars, I was on a trip with 28 People and not ONE person was satisfied with their stay. So we (Bf and I)go to the wellness center and they charge us $25 to sit in the Jacuzzi for 30 Minutes. Did I just say they charged us to go into the Jacuzzi, Yes> and a time Limit, Bwahaha!! To get to the beach we had to have a maintence guy come (which took time waiting around) to come open the gate because they "accidently" locked it. In the Bar we waited literally 25 minutes to get any service, we had to keep calling and keep calling from the bar to the front desk just for them to send someone down to the bar. Can't walk ANYWHERE because it is on an extremely busy road, Do yourself a favor and stay at D**DORO . PS NO HOT WATER IN THE SHOWER!!!!!! Big NO NO

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    94
    44
    21
    27
See reviews for
66
122
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

How this hotel got a four star rating is a mystery to me.

We paid 260 Euros for two nights here and I will not be going back. When we arrived we were greeted by the very nice reception staff and shown to our cube....erm room, which was facing a brick wall. On top of the brick wall was what can only be described as the M1 motorway at off peak.
The TV wasn't working, the toilet would not flush and the door handle was hanging off on the outside. When we reported this to staff It all seemed a bit trivial to the receptionist who was too busy to take any concern. Half an hour later an engineer arrived and fixed the tiolet and TV. The door was never repaired.

Breakfast was good but on day 1 we had to wait half an hour for a coffee as the waiter kept on getting side tracked with other orders. The view from the breakfast table was excellent until the frieght train went rattling past but all in all very nice!.

We had spent the last four days in different hotels accros the island without problem but by the end of day two the missus and me were covered in no less than 45 bites to the arms, legs and face. After leaving the attacks stopped.

In conclusion it would have been nice if the hotel advertised that there was a busy road on one side and a railway that actually ran through the middle of the resort between the hotel and private beach. The wellness rooms were too expensive (25 Euros to dip your feet in the jaccusi) and the hotel is a long way from the centre of town.
On the other hand all parts of the hotel were very clean, the staff were polite and there was a free shuttle that took us from the hotel and back. But not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week in Taormina, stying at Hotel Caparena. I have read previous reviews and it would appear that some small issues have led to completely over the top condemation of what is an excellent hotel. The cleanlinees of the whole complex was excellent and overall the staff were friendly and very helpful, sometimes it just depends how you ask! Our room was spacious and spotless. We were half board and thought the quality of the evening meals were excellent, as was the service. Beach and swimming pool faciliities were very good.

On the negative side there was an issue with the water temperature of the bath/shower. We did raise the matter and it did improve but it was never anywhere near as hot as we would have liked.

What was most annoying to us was the access to the Wellness Centre's excellent Gym and spa facilities. We could use the swimming pool during the day free of charge but the Gym was a staggering 10 Euros per person for 2 hours. Prices to use the Steam Room and Jacuzzi were equally stagering. Most hotels we have stayed in have offered these facilities free of charge to guests. The whole time we were there the Wellness Centre was empty, no surprise really! Even a small charge for hotel guests would have been acceptable.

In summary there were one or two issues that would put a question mark against a 4 star rating - primarily for us the Gym and Spa access. However, we enjoyed our stay at the Caparena and would most certainly go back there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A lot of people take great delight to complain about a hotel they stay in. I cannot believe a hotel would not try and accommodate them if they felt so strongly about something. Or do you prefer just to complain? My advice is - when you go on holiday, relax and take it easy, don't bring your anger to all who surround you. You are the problem, not the hotel or other people, so just bare that in mind.

Room Tip: Don't take Trip Advisor as the gospel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHG_Taormina, Direttore at Caparena Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr Marton,
thank you for your positive review..we have simply loved it!
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranleigh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

just reurned from sicly taormina hotel caparena not 4* , drinking out of plastic cups day & night at beach bar , no bar in hotel except our last day because of a wedding just a makeshift bar & first time with glasses, never no hot water in after complaining, lunch time beach bar no choice only toasted sarnies etc or dried looking rice or pasta, beach bar rest to expensive also staff at lunch time at beach bar did not seem interested , half board not good food always cold we sent back more meals than we ate , there was no pool bar to get a drink around the pool, also you were cut off unless you used schuttle bus , the good points were very clean &well maintained hotel & gardens as was our very nice room, oh also to andrew beach bar barman at night was very good apart from those horrible plastic glasses. backhurst michael

Room Tip: try & get a room with balcony & sea view & good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHG_Taormina, Direttore at Caparena Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr Michael,
thank you for your kind rewiev and your feedback.
We would like to inform you that, as per the italian law, the use of plastic cups, glasses, cutlery, plates is compulsory in all bars and restaurants serving meals and drinks on the beach. The main reson is for safety and security purposes.
We hope to have clarified this matter and to welcome again at Caparena Beach in Taormina on your next holday.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the first week of September in 2012, and we enjoyed it thoroughly.

The rooms

First off, I’d definitely recommend getting the deluxe/superior rooms. These rooms have balconies that overlook the sea (unless you’re on the ground floor, in which case you have a view of the gardens since the hedge at the end of the gardens is too tall to see over), and since the sun rises towards the deluxe rooms, you can enjoy the sun as soon as it rises. The rooms are clean, spacious and well air-conditioned with a small fridge which would need re-arranging to fit your own drinks inside. The standard rooms face in the other direction, which only has a view of the entrance to the hotel, along with a driveway, a few plants, and a sheer, 15 foot wall. The sun only seems to hit the windows in these rooms (they don’t have balconies) in the late afternoon, so it might seem pretty dull. However I can’t pass judgement on the rooms since I didn’t have a look inside, so I can’t compare the room I stayed in to the standard rooms. However the deluxe rooms were definitely the right choice and it was a free upgrade from a standard room because we booked 60 days before our arrival. There is a train track which runs alongside the hotel, between it and the beach. There are about two or three trains an hour which are fairly loud if you are used to a quiet area, and they do have freight trains at night which might disturb the lighter sleepers. But after a while you do get used to the sound and noise of the train, and it doesn’t affect the ambience too much. The tunnel from the hotel to the beach runs under this track, and it might be a bit of a shock if you walk in this tunnel while the train travels over you. The train track does hinder the potential views of the hotel since we stayed in the second floor and we couldn’t see the beach for the hedge that provides a wall between the gardens and the track.

The beach

The beach is privately owned by the hotel so only people from the hotel will be there during the whole day. People who aren’t staying at the hotel can also use the beach, however, but they have to pay for the use, and during our stay we only saw unknown faces paying at the beach entrance once on the Sunday, but otherwise it was only resident there. There are a few local sellers that patrol the beach with sunglasses, jewellery and all that kind of stuff who can hassle you a bit, but they’re not too much of a problem if you aren’t interested in what they’re selling. The sand itself was rather coarse and uncomfortable on the feet, so flip flops or similar footwear for walking might be advisable. There are varying sizes of sand grains from sand-sized to large pebbles along the short walk from the deckchairs to the seafront which can annoy you if you walk barefoot into the water. There are two plastic walkways that extend halfway down the beach to help ease the walk, however, which is very helpful. There are enough deckchairs for everyone, but be careful about borrowing towels, since you can only borrow one per day, and you have to sign a sheet saying you’ve taken the towel out so you can’t easily get around borrowing another.

The restaurant

Good and bad points about this place, but I will start with the good. There are two restaurants in the hotel – one near to the beach, and one upstairs in the hotel. During our stay we would eat our evening meal on the beach restaurant unless there was a wedding party on, in which case we would eat upstairs. I believe lunch each day we were there was also at the beach restaurant, although we only ate lunch once. The food is excellent, high quality and fresh and with brilliant presentation. The portions, although smaller than expected, definitely fill you up. The free food for half-board guests is part of a set menu consisting of three courses, with an optional desert as well. As a bonus, if you don’t like anything on the list for, say, the starter, you can order something from another course as a starter for no extra cost. You can also, if you prefer, order a pizza from the pizza menu and also have two other courses (or one course and a dessert) also for free. Be warned, the pizzas are like no size I have ever seen before. Roughly, the pizza was 15 inches wide, so it’s enough for two, or to take back to the room with you (they do give you a pizza box on request) and have for lunch the next day. Breakfast never changes; it’s always upstairs with the same cereals, yogurts, cheeses, hams, toast and pastries with very streaky bacon and scrambled egg (or fried egg on request). Tea (Twinings) and coffee is provided, and the coffee is definitely one for the black coffee lovers! The bad points – on the days where a wedding party took place (three days consecutively during our stay), the service in the upstairs restaurant was somewhat lacking. One day they forgot about us for almost an hour before they brought our starters, and we were sat for just over two hours for a three course dinner. Compared to the service on the other nights, it was a bit disappointing. It seems they would rather cater and prioritise the wedding party over the other hotel guests. The only fault in the food was one night we ordered a ‘Pizza Rosa’, which ended up arriving with a rock-hard crust and with the toppings three inches in from the edge! Be warned, ordering a bottle of water for dinner adds 4 Euros at the end of your bill for each bottle, and it’s roughly a one litre bottle. In the summer they have a disco at least once a week which the local young people attend en masse. The staff seem more preoccupied with their needs over the paying hotel guests.

The staff

The restaurant staff are very friendly, and they did speak enough English for us, although they did appreciate us trying to order food and wine in Italian so it might be worthwhile to try if you can’t speak Italian yourself. Half of the receptionists don’t seem to speak as much English, and seem to look at us blankly if we had a complaint and just nodded their heads without seeming to take anything in, but the other half were friendly and spoke English well. The managers of the restaurant and reception areas are extremely friendly, however, and liaise with the guests frequently. The cleaners are also very friendly and most can speak English well enough for a short conversation.

The town centre

The hotel is located far away from the town (about 10-15 minutes by car) and with the lack of pavements it’s impossible to walk to. There is a free shuttle bus that runs from the hotel periodically every 45 minutes all through the day (even on Sundays) which is extremely beneficial. They do request that you book a seat on the coach, as well as booking a return time at the reception desk in advance, but in our experience in watching 30 people trying to cram into a 20-seater minivan clearly some people didn’t book or didn’t catch their correct minibus. The town is lovely though with its authentic feel, spectacular views and historic buildings and gardens. Be warned, though, the prices for drinks and food in the town is quite expensive near to where the minibus dropped us off. The further along the main high street you walk, the cheaper it does get. There is also a place to buy cheap bottled water (since they recommend you don’t drink the tap water in the hotel) at the other end of the town in a super market, but it does involve carrying the water along the street for about half a kilometre to the bus stop.

If you wanted to do some sightseeing of Mount Etna, I would recommend hiring a car rather than paying for the excursion. The cost of hiring a car is 65 Euros for up to two days (we rented a Fiat Punto, with automatic transmission from a company which was recommended by the hotel, and was the cheapest price of any local car company we had checked out prior to the holiday), while the coach trip is over 200 Euros per person. One thing to be careful of is Italian drivers and their reckless driving/overtaking, especially when they realise you are tourists in the car. Even the pedestrians refuse to move out the way if you are travelling along the road towards them! Etna is fairly easy to get to - the motorway which runs all down the coast of Sicily to Catania has a few places to leave and its very well signposted (look for a brown sign saying ‘Etna’) once you get closer to the place. On our days out to Etna we left the motorway at Acireale for the South, heading towards Nicolosi, and Fiumefreddo for the North, heading towards Linguaglossa.

One final note would be to explore the rest of the seafront. If you walk up the beach and then, in about 50 yards, there is a black, metal stairway leading up to the road and there you can find several beach cafés which are reasonably priced. We went to the restaurant ‘Tropicana’, which served up excellent selection of pasta and pizza dishes and had a lovely, local atmosphere.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get a superior room for sea views Email the hotel in advance for a personal requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromboli, Italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in late September some years ago and the memories are overwhelmingly positive. 

The rooms are big. A nice design touch is a doorway from the bedroom to the space inside the main door / cupboards / bathroom which in effect creates a small changing room. The balcony over looks the beach and the traintrack is invisible. View of sunrise is exquisite from the balcony. Watching the fisherman standing in small boats peering into the water was fascinating. 

The pool is great as is the beach. The garden was full of bougainvillaea - wonderful blooms. If you want a beach day this hotel is an excellent choice - on another holiday in Taormina we found the famous public beach to be unspeakably crowded and the restaurants nearby to be of indifferent quality.

The hotel has a great open lounge  (with a traditional cart parked on the side for no reason other than "why not?")

Reception staff were really helpful. 
The packed breakfast - for the very early starts were just right. 

Taxi prices mounted up a bit - but that was a personal choice, because we liked go up toTaormina for dinner. 

Breakfast was more than adequate. 

The general feeling in the hotel is one of quiet professionalism. 

We will return. 

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caparena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caparena Hotel

Address: 189 Via Nazionale, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#28 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caparena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caparena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caparena Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caparena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.