We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tired Hotel, Poor Rooms, Stay somewhere else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atahotel Capotaormina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atahotel Capotaormina to your Saves list
Atahotel Capotaormina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Tired Hotel, Poor Rooms, Stay somewhere else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After staying a few nights in Hotel Villa Carlotta in Taormina, which we loved, we were looking forward to staying by the beach. We chose this hotel as its location was perfect. This was the only good thing about it! The rooms were dirty, very tatty and tired! They called our room superior but as one of our friends said "It was more like Pontins"!. Very very disappointed as this is classed as a 4 star hotel and is almost a 2 star. The staff were not helpful, always tried to avoid eye contact. One of our rooms had stains over all the cushions on the chairs, skirting board hanging off the wall and the whole room including bathroom was dirty, They did move to another room which was only slightly better. We were recommended by reception to eat in the restaurant by the pool on our first night. It did have beautiful views and the food was average but 6 people £600! My only recommendation to anyone looking at this hotel is to stay somewhere else! Don't waste your money or your experience in Sicily which is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I never write reviews, but all the reviews I read were so helpful for us to book this hotel. We stayed here for only 2 nights and I wish we were able to stay longer. I agree with all the other reviews that the furniture in the rooms is a bit outdated, but so what! The rooms are spotless. We had a view of Mt Etna, which was spectacular. After a long day of transatlantic travel, I woke up the next morning and stepped out onto the balcony to a breathtaking view. The views from this hotel are outstanding and worth the extra money for a sea view room. If you enjoy a workout, the fitness facility is well equipped. Both the beach & the pool are amazing. We spent the morning at the beach & when the sun moved, so did we. The afternoon we spent by the pool. When at the pool seek a lounge chair on a higher level overlooking the sea. It's quieter, nice ocean breeze, and beautiful. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast, which was lovely. We ate all of our meals in town. Taormina is beautiful. My other bit of advise, that I wish I took for myself, if you see something that you like while walking around Taormina, buy it!!! I saw a great pair of earring that I was going to buy at a later time and couldn't find the store again. Sicily is beautiful and Taormina is magical. I will book this hotel again. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view!!!! This is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjr1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKLIN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were upgraded to a seaview room overlooking Mount Etna, views were simply breathtaking! The furniture in hotel room is outdated but the views and hotel location make up for it. Rooms and linen were spotless. The hotel has an underground garage manned 24 hours, booking has to be made upon hotel reservation. Breakfast was very good and taken on the terrace overlooking the sea, a lovely way to start the day. I will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must, just hearing the seagulls and sound of the sea from your bed is hypnotizin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARAKLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights as part of our 2 week honeymoon trip to Europe.
The hotel is amazing! It's literally built right into the side of a cliff. I've never seen anything like it. We had a superior room with sea-view. The room was nice and the view was beautiful. Room was spacious, nice big closet, and quite clean.
We didn't go to the beach...just the pool. But the pool is awesome and you can jump into the sea next to the pool.
My only complaint is the noise and lack of rules. There were kids running on the deck and doing cannon balls into the pool, splashing sun bathers. Kids screaming and splashing. People's cell phones going off and people talking on their phones as loud as possible.
For the amount of money we spent at this hotel, we expected fairly quiet and relaxing.
There were life guards yet they didn't say anything about the kids running on the slippery desk and doing cannon balls.
There should be a sign or something that says cell phones should be on vibrate. People would leave their phones at their chair and then go swimming and their phone would ring and ring and ring. Sooo irritating.
The food and drinks everywhere at the hotel are super expensive. It's worth eating there once but other than that it's best to go into town to eat dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19842011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fascinating hotel built into the cliffside with its own private beach which you reach by walking through cavern-like tunnels. Absolutely loved the views from this hotel and being set out on a pennisula into the sea you immediately feel like you are holiday, relaxing on the balcony with a wonderful view over the sea and isola bella.

The breakfasts each morning were served on a large terrace with a view of Mt Etna and included a glass of prosecco.

The shuttle service up to the town of Taormina was adequate and saved the hassle of trying to find parking outside of the little town and meant we could leave the rental car in the hotel carpark.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating as we ended up arriving near to midnight due to long drive over from Palermo that day and a quick phone call earlier that evening ensured that we could still checkin after our very late arrival.

The rooms were older in style but extremely spacious with separate dressing room and large balcony.

Loved the views from the pool as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days, i work in events and meetings so i know how a 4 stars hotel should be like and this is not it :
- everything looks old, from the pool to the carpet in the room.
- the service and professionnalisme is so far from what i am used to
- the beach has no sun
- the pool is packed and not enough parasols for everyone
- wifi is expensive
- restaurants are so expensive
really not friendly, really not luxurious, really not what you have payed for!! Please avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cecelle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

As many wrote before, the hotel's location is just perfect. So is the view from the breakfast area and the lounge terrace (where a big pile of snacks is served for every drink). I think all rooms have sea view, were, the half of them are also overlooking the Etna. The beaches (on both side of the "tunnel") are great, even if not children-friendly. Note, that the rocky beach gets sun only until 2 p.m., however, it has the advantage that you can have a nap in the shade. The bar here closes at 3 p.m. The other beach, with the sea-water pool is sunny the whole day (by the way, this pool can be seen in the movie The big blue with Jean Reno). Somehow the pool's material is too old as my feet got blue. The facade of the hotel and parts of the rooms are also outdated (e.g. carpets), but for us it was not a big issue. We enjoyed the bed that was huge and very-very comfortable, the gardrobe and the view from the balcony. Also the access to the beaches - via the elevator, was just perfect. And yes, the fish restaurant is very expensive, but we tried it once and the food was great - and so was the view too. Another plus was the breakfast buffet. What is not acceptable is that the internet was not free. Come on, we are in the 21th century! Overall, if you do not mind that the rooms are not in a 100% modern state, the location and the view would compansate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#43 of 89 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#36 of 89 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing