We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atahotel Capotaormina

Save Saved
You added Atahotel Capotaormina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atahotel Capotaormina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 105, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this hotel a few times and l loved it. I love the view, especially from the bar and the restaurant. Breakfast has plenty of choice and tastes very good too! Well, the swimming pool is small and it's hard to get a chair and a good spot to sit, so we try to go early and save a chair. Having a drink at the bar watching the view and listening to the piano is a must!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    178
    37
    19
    4
See reviews for
93
296
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although we did not spend a lot of time inside the hotel, it left a very good impression. There are a few 5-star hotels around, but I'd say that Capotaormina has probably the best location and superb facilities. For us, the best part was its private beach and pool area. During our stay, we saw lots of small boats coming to the bay to see the fab mt. Etna view and our hotel pools/beach area. We got a strong feeling that this is one of the local attractions :) The rooms are not really big. Our Superior room was actually built around a huge bad and there was no much space left :) It is a bit outdated, but still good quality and clean. In any case, you don't spend much time in your room.. The breakfast is good and quite enough.

The staff is excellent - the service is fast, they are always helpful and speak good English. There is one lady to help Russian-speaking people. She really deserves a praise as she gives twice as much information as her colleagues. So, if you speak Russian turn to her for advise and help. One thing about the service level - as we were leaving to excursions early in the morning, we could choose between a breakfast box and going to the restaurant before its opening hours. We selected the second option and the table was always served for us at the time we indicated.

The hotel also runs a shuttle bus that brings you to Taormina Bus Terminal and back that is very convenient if you plan to go somewhere or have a dinner in the city. I would recommend to visit a mountain village called Castelmola. It will take ~15 mins by bus and return ticket costs 2.8 EUR. You can also go to Taormina on foot or take a cableway (3 EUR one way per person) - both will take you around half an hour. And while you walk towards the cableway, you can also go down and visit a lovely nature park called Isola Bella.

Overall, our rating for the hotel is Excellent and we have enjoyed our stay ery much. Even if you plan to travel and will not spend much time in the hotel, it is still a lovely place to return to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A great and spectacular location, literally carved out of the mountainside. Etna erupted during our stay and our view from the hotel allowed us to see the spectacular show from the balcony of the bar. But don't worry, there's no danger to you when Etna wakes up and says "hello"!

The hotel has a lovely beach and a beautiful pool area. Staff are very friendly, breakfast is excellent and the rooms are very large and clean.The regular hotel shuttle buses to Taormina centre are also fantastic and there's a nice gym.

Only a few downsides; the hotel is slightly dated in terms of decor and the elevators to the pool can be slow to get access to when busy. Eating in the restaurants is expensive and you also have to pay for a wireless service that's not particularly good.

However, on balance, a fantastic holiday in a great hotel. Would I stay here again? Yes please!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautifull Location with a View of Mount Etna,Isola Bella to the left and Giardini Naxos to the right. Take the elevator to the cave below, private beach to the left or pool to the right. Excellent restaurant by the Sea, the grilled fish was to die for. Don't limit yourself using the elevators, you can walk right on the side of the hill back to the hotel from the pool area and take some beautiful pictures of the hillside on the way up, don't let go of the children hands.

Room Tip: Sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The fashionable in the 80's yet beautifully maintained entrance that welcomes you with a sophisticated allure. Take the lift to the beach and you descend 6 floors through rock arriving in caves where you walk to a private beach with white pebbles that kiss the pristine ocean water. From the terrace dining room, bar lounging, in the pool with bar service there are uninterrupted views forever. Rooms are comfortable but really you wont spend much time there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel and the driver was excellent, pointing out sights, giving us history lessons and telling us where to eat. The reception staff were friendly and gave us a brochure of trips that we could take during our stay when we checked in. The trips could be booked through reception and collection/drop off was from the hotel entrance.

Our garden view room actually looked out over the sea. The beach is a definite wow factor and the salt water pool was incredibly relaxing as no effort was required to stay afloat! I would recommend water shoes for the rocky beach. There is a wooden walkway between the sun loungers but it doesn't reach all the way to the water.

Breakfast - great. Lots to choose from and looking at Etna every morning from the terrace was wonderful.

Lunch in the hotel was a bit on the pricey side. We filled up at breakfast and kept room for dinner. There is a shop in the hotel lobby with sunscreen and various necessities, which was great as the hotel isn't beside any shops.

Getting up to Taormina was no problem as we were able to book seats on the bus everyday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I hate the use of the word Amazing but this hotel was out of this world. All built underground into the mountain. You take an elevator down several floors and it opens up into The Batman Cave....you go one direction to an infinite pool and you go the other way and you open up to a beautiful grotto of ocean swimming. Awesome

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taormina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#11 Family Hotel in Taormina
#16 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel’s location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L’Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy’s most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L’approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 meeting room 30 seats. 2 meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atahotel Capotaormina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.