We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach, good location, average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atahotel Capotaormina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atahotel Capotaormina to your Saves list
Atahotel Capotaormina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 105, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice beach, good location, average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is really good, very close to Taormina, which is a cute village. The hotel is built on a steep hill, so the view is great with Mt Etna across. The beach was very good, crystal clear water. The staff of the hotel was friendly and respectful. However, when we requested some additional toiletry for our room, the reception told us they could not send anyone to our room. So, we went to the reception to get the things. In such an expensive hotel, I would not expect such an issue with the room service. Also, the drinks and food in the hotel was expensive, but this was expected. The decoration of the rooms was outdated. We did not spend much time in the room, but still the room price increased our expectations. It all adds up to the first impression of the hotel.

Overall, it was a nice hotel, but the price/quality ratio is low. With these prices, you can go to other countries for beach vacation and stay in higher quality hotels with excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    206
    46
    23
    7
See reviews for
113
349
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in Atahotel Capotaormina 5 days end of July. The hotel overall is beautiful and everybody in the staff very very nice, Sicilian style, very chatty and welcoming. This was very appreciated. We got upgraded in a junior suite and the room was huge with a bit of seaview, very clean, everything you need. This hotel has the most beautiful view of Taormina and surroundings( Mount Etna, blue sea, Isola Bella, Taormina). It is divided in two parts, one with a small beach absolutely charming and beautiful with an amazing view on Isola Bella, quite moving sea but possible to enter without any problems, you should just know that the sea is full of currents and therefore a bit cold. On the other side, if you cross a corridor underground carved in the rocks, you get to the swimming pool area. The swimming pool is small but all along there is a bench to sit and enjoy the amazing view on the Mediterranean sea and observe the yachts. People mainly chatted and lied around in this swimming pool rather then swam(very deep so not for children). Luckily there is an entrance to the sea also on that side, the sea is much more calm, in the afternoon it is the best place to stay as the beach is in shadow. There is a small platform in the sea if you want to lie, very charming, not so the swimming pool area to lie around.The chairs are very close to each other if you want to have an umbrella. If not you can have some private spaces more in height between the rocks but they don't bring you any umbrella up so when the sun is really heavy, it is quite impossible to enjoy those lovely spots, it is too warm. We ate at the restaurant a la carte in the evening one time and we had a lovely moment and very good food, unfortunately even if it is expensive, you better stay in the hotel to eat because in Taormina itself, it is complicated to find appreciable food, all for tourists...The buffet at lunch looked good but you had to pay quite a lot of money (if I remember well sth like 50 euros per person), basically meant for Russians that are pooping out money. The breakfast is very rich, you can even get with your egg a super good fresh ricotta and the very best granito al limone. You can also taste the Sicilian way to breakfast, a brioche and a granito al cafe.You benefit from the most beautiful view, so romantic. Unfortunately it is less agreeable when it gets crowdy. there are not enough tables....
The most annoying for us was at lunch, everything from drinks to panino was so expensive in an exaggerated way, 16 euros a panino, a coke 6 euros...etc etc...
The highlight was the piano bar in the evening, highly recommended, amazing atmosphere and good cocktails.
I would recommend this hotel if you stay in Taormina, it is very nicely located and has also parking spot if you have a rented car which is very good believe me. Know that Taormina attracts jelly fish, it happens that there are. We did not see any at the hotel but at Isola Bella we did so I was not feeling very comfi in the water but this depends of the period. In general, we enjoyed our stay ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed two nights at the Capotaormina ATA Hotel. Our room was lovely, with an amazing view of Mt. Etna across the water. Inspite of other reviews complaining of dated decour, ours was very nice.

Breakfast was fabulous and varied, served on the terrace overlooking the sea and Mt Etna.

We also snorkeled in the sea, accessed through the tunnel to the private beach, and swam in the pool overlooking the sea. The pool is a salt pool, which I don't like, but the snorkeling was very nice.

The staff were very helpful. We had a bookkeeping issue (not their fault) that took a bit of time, and I watched the people at the desk deal very patiently and professionally with people using a lot of different languages.

I can't fault this hotel in anything. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced Mt. Etna. I believe there are also rooms with a view across the water toward Isola B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

this was actually beyond my expectations. when we arrived, we were immediately upgraded by the hotel staff. our room was spacious and had a balcony facing the sea and mount etna. fantastic view, and one of the best i've seen. now if you read all the reviews stating that the rooms are old, etc. they are correct. But really - how much time will you spend in your room aside from sleeping? the room was pretty clean, bathroom was spacious. the pool and beach were fantastic!!! swimming in the ocean with the fish, and having a gorgeous view of taormina and mt etna were just amazing. we were beach vegetables for about 4 days, and it was ok by us!

food: we only ate at their high end restaurant because it was closing for the season after that night. it was our favorite meal! freshly caught fish, which you can pick out yourself to eat, and it was soooo yummy. expensive, but yummy.

tips:
1. do yourself a favor and take the shuttle into town. you will need a voucher from the front desk for the ride there, AND for the ride back. book it early in the morning so you can get a seat. the cabdrivers will charge you 15 euro just to drive 5 min up the hill. we did not know this, but you can actually negotiate with the taxis, so try a little of that.
2. drinks or ANYTHING at the hotel is extremely expensive. it was 12 euros for a gin and tonic. if you go up to taormina, towards the end of the main strip, there is a supermarket. buy yourself beer, alcohol, etc. it will save you a TON of money. it cost us 15 euro for a bottle of bombay sapphire. almost the same as ONE drink at the pool.
3. please try different restaurants. the one in the hotel was great: la scogliara i think was the name. we ate at a few random places in town, and were very happy.
4. don't forget the sunblock! i did, and it cost me 24 euro at the hotel for a bottle of sunblock!!! wow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from staying @ Atahotel Capotaormina,upon arrival the staff upgrades us (,many thanks)
We would recommend this hotel.
Breakfast was a very high standard and the views outstanding,what more could you ask for to start your day.
The food in the Ala carte was excellent,the fresh pasta has to be the best ive tasted.(i visit Italy three times a year )

Many thanks to all at Atahotel Capotaormina

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been to Capotaormina hotel in the first week of September for a couple of days and I can recommend it to those who want to visit Taormina and at the same time have the beach at the hotel. The Hotel is located in fact at the end of a peninsula and partly excavated in the rocks. I really liked the room that had a corridor withe 3 entries: the first to the bathroom, the second to the wardrobe room and the third to the bedroom, which was very large. Out of the bedroom you could get to a balcony. One of best places of hotel is the restaurant, located near swimming-pool. Apart from food, the views on the sea, Etna volcane and Taormina are really spectacular. The same views can be admired from the restaurant at upper levels and from the bar at lobby level. A very particular details is the fact that the lobby is located at the top and other rooms in the lower floors. At lowest level you will find a corridor excavated in the rocks (like a cave) and reach the beach on one side and the swiiming pool (at opposite side).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This vacation was fabulous and the reason was because of this hotel.
From breath taking views to friendly staff every aspect of the hotel was excellent.
I travel a fair bit and have never bothered to write a review. This hotel deserves all the positive
feedback it receives and any of the complainers probably couldn't be happy anywhere.
A spectacular location with a genius of an architect.
ENJOY

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taormina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#12 Family Hotel in Taormina
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atahotel Capotaormina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.