We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roberto, Roberto, Roberto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laboratorio Pasticceria Roberto

Laboratorio Pasticceria Roberto
Via Calapitrulli, 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
+39 0942 626263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 216 Restaurants in Taormina
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Italian, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Roberto, Roberto, Roberto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We hunted the streets to find this little bakery but blink and you'll miss it. It's not an obvious stand out shop. What we did find however was Roberto and his Canollo. Both fantastic, Roberto sells it well and the taste is true Italy pastry! A third generation shop who's owner has an obvious passion and skill for what he does. Well done Roberto, we will be back before the weeks out!
By the way, I've put No, to the Trip Advisor question " is this one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant " Purely because it isn't a restaurant and it isn't a meal. What it is however is delicious pastries.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    98
    33
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Seriously delicious sweet treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a fab little bakery tucked away in a side street but worth finding. We ate the local speciality cannolli siciliani (I think that was the name). Its basically a tube of pastry with ricotto style sweet cream in it. It was absolutely delicious and very filling so make sure you are hungry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best cannoli in Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Best cannoli in Taormina if not in whole Sicily! An absolutely must!

It is probably the best-known Sicilian pastry. The cannolo, a crust filled with cream, takes its name from its long tubular shape and traces its roots to the Middle Ages. In the ninth century the Arabs brought sugar cane to Sicily, thus changing the sweeteners used in confectionery. Previously honey was used to sweeten Sicilian sweets. The cheese cream used to fill cannoli is sweetened with sugar, and is based on a recipe very similar to that used to make the cream for cassata.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly sweet and delicious :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited based on previous reviews and I am so happy I located this place. I have to admit I am very fussy given my Sicilian blood so I don't often given 5/5 but Laboratorio Pasticceria Roberto deserves this top rating. I would not visit Taormina without stopping here again. Amazing cannoli and Sicilian biscuits I tried lemon and mandarin. Don't miss out people - the only difficulty is deciding what you want :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevost, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time eating a Canolli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Well it was amazing at 2E each, it is a steal. We enjoyed it so much. Sat just outside the pasticceria and enjoyed the mouth watering concoctions. Bought more to go....
Not to be missed. Roberto is very proud of his pastries. P.s- Continue on to the Public Gardens a heaven of peace and wonderful views. Travelbug 1025

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laboratorio Pasticceria Roberto also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Laboratorio Pasticceria Roberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laboratorio Pasticceria Roberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.