We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hostel with the best Host ever: Francesco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Taormina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Taormina to your Saves list
Hostel Taormina
Circonvallazione, 13, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
“Very good Hostel with the best Host ever: Francesco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My best friend and I were travelling through whole Italy.

At our 5th stop we arrived at 10:30 pm at the trainstation Taormina. A taxidriver brought us to the "Hostel Taormina". Actually the working time ends at 10 pm officially, but Francesco said we could come in and it wouldn't be a problem. This guy is the most handsome host I've ever met. He is friendly, funny and you can come to him or phone him, whenever you want. He gives you also nice advices where you can go for little money.

The Hostel has a wonderful location and a fantastic view over the beautiful city Taormina.
You get a lot of discounts in some restaurants and other places if you stay, that you are staying in this Hostel.

It's very clean (Francesco cleans the Hostel twice a day) and a nice place to meet other guests, travellers, etc..

All in all it was the best Hostel I've been to, and believe me, I've been to many Hostels. And for this price you won't find anything like this Hostel in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    34
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
14
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trossingen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

"Hostel Taormina" is the place to be! It is a little hard to find (description is improvable) but it is worth it. The sea view is unbelievable! This could not be any better.

There are a lot of restaurants where you get a discount when you tell them that you are guest in Hostel Taormina.

Hostel Taormina is a very small hostel, but there is everything you need. There is a kitchen with all the supplies (and a TV), two bathrooms and a lot of space on the terrace. Well, maybe sooner or later they'll buy some nice and solid furniture for outside...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hostel Taromina for two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff (both named Francesco) were helpful and friendly. The terrace that looks over the town and the sea is a great place to meet other travelers, and the location is perfect.
The hostel is a short hike up the hills of the town, close to all the restaurants and shops of the centre and a short walk to the Greek theatre and the cable car to get you to the beautiful bays below - We walked down the steps and took the car up, which I reccommend - it's quite a hike in the heat.
We stayed in the mixed dorm which had 4 bunk beds, and was full. The beds aren't too comfortable but the sheets and room was very clean and doors led out to the terrace. There is a small kitchen you can lounge in and cook in.
The wifi works well in the kitchen and out back of the hostel near the entrance but not in the rooms or the terrace. This didn't bother us as it almost forces you to be social on the terrace.

You can rent snorkel gear from a dive shop on the left side of the bay Isola Bella and swim to the blue cave, which I highly reccommend. We didn't use fins as it was cheaper and the swim was tiring but doable. The fish were abundant and the water crystal clear.

Overally I loved my time at hostel Taormina and miss it already!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastián - Donostia, España
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was there with some friends in August and I have no complaints!!!
The staff is really helpful and gave us many advices and information about where to go, eat and party as well ;) You even get discounts in some restaurants and pubs if you say you are staying in the hostel.
Of course, do not expect luxury for the price (which is indeed the cheapest in the town). But it has all the basic stuff to make your stay comfortable.
No doubt I will choose Hostel Taormina for my next stay in Taormina!!
:D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hostel has a great location in the center of the town. The two boys that lead the hostel are very friendly and take care of the guests. Great terrace. The rooms are average, the bathrooms could be better (and more).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It's been a wonderful experience to stay with this lovely people of the Taormina Hostel. Best in Sicily. They are helpful and very good people. I felt like home over there, and the view of the afternoon was one of the best in my life!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattwil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Taormina was one of the best places we visited during our Italy-Trip - and this also because of the wonderful hostel with its familiar atmosphere. The staff was so friendly and we felt very, very welcome. They gave us much information about going out and discovering Taormina. I think they do everything to make their guests happy. :)
There was not very much space in our sleeping room, but we didn't care. You can sit on the terrace, there's much space. This is a good place to meet other guests. We liked to cook something in the kitchen and sit on the terrace for eating.
We liked the hostel so much that we asked for two more nights - fortunately, we could stay! :)
I really recommend the hostel and the town to everyone who travels to Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Taormina

Address: Circonvallazione, 13, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful city, the Pearl of the Mediterranean Sea, that is rich in culture and natural beauty, awaits you with its beaches, mountains, monuments and history. We are here to welcome you and to help you discover our city and its district. Taormina is wonderful in summer and, because of its mild weather, it is wonderful in winter too. Furthermore, behind the town there is Mt. Etna that, in winter, has a mantle of snow, perfect for those who love to ski or to slide slowly down its slope. Taormina is the starting point for excursions to the whole of Sicily, where you can admire the Sicilian Baroque buildings and the classical and architectural beauty of places like Noto, Modica, Ragusa, Syracuse, Agrigento, Palermo, Acireale, and Catania, where there is “nightlife” all the year round. Our hostel has cosy shared bedrooms. The use of sheets, pillowcases and blankets is included in the price. Hostel Taormina has large, bright, cosy bedrooms, that are furnished with personal wardrobes with padlocks and have large shared bathrooms, where cleanness and comfort are always guaranteed. The hostel offers discounts with bars, restaurants, pubs, beaches, rentals (of cars, scooters or bicycles) laundries,for excursions and a shared area for relaxing, chatting, playing or reading and a solarium with a large terrace and a breathtaking view of the Greek Theatre, the sea and Mt. Etna. We are always at your service and ready to help, giving you suggestions for your holiday here.We are here to plan your holidays in the best way possible and, above all, to meet you. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Taormina Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Taormina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.