We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Antonio

Villa Antonio
Via Luigi Pirandello, 88, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
0942 625502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 216 Restaurants in Taormina
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Romantic restaurant with indoor heated pool and outdoor terrace with a spectacular view on Isola Bella.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner at Villa Antonio during our recent stay there, after being referred to the place by our hotel. The restaurant is top of the bill on TripAdvisor, so we had high expectations.

Prior to Villa Antonio, we had eaten at 3 other restaurants in Taormina - all of which were pricey but none of which had blown us away. Villa Antonio fell into the same category, though we thought it was slightly better than the others. We couldn't really fault the food or the service, both of which were perfectly nice and more than adequate.

The setting in an old building was very impressive and romantic, but unfortunately the restaurant's otherwise beautiful terrace is located right next to a fairly busy through fare - which means the atmosphere is somewhat polluted by the constant noise of passing cars and buses.

We both agreed that the place was nicer than the 2*Michelin restaurant we had gone to earlier in Taormina - but also felt that this place does not deserve to get the highest score here on TripAdvisor. That said, we'd still recommend it to anyone looking for a nice night out with good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    47
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My fiancee and I spent a week in Taormia in August 2012. We visited all the usual suspects in terms of other restaurants.

The food, service and ambiance make this by far the finest dining experience in Taormina. The quality of the food, by comparison to El Jebel was sublime.

It was the freshest, most beautifully prepared food one could imagine and simply not comparable to any other restaurant in Taormina.

Service was attentive but not in the slightest intrusive.

This is an absolute must if in Taormina. Nothing else compares.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect choice for a romantic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I booked a table at Villa Antonio recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I have to say that our meal in this restaurant was excellent in every respect. I had the tasting menu at 65 Euros which included couscous to start with spaghetti as the pasta and a main course of the most delicious tuna. My wife had ravioli and amberjack fish, both pasta and fish dishes were among the best we have ever tasted. As a surprise for our wedding anniversary the manager presented us with a cake, all the staff applauded as we blew out the candles giving it a real sense of occasion.

The restaurant is perched on a cliff with the most amazing view. In total our meal came to 180 Euros, I couldn't recommend Villa Antonio enough.

In summary, a great restaurant with beautiful food, friendly staff and a fantastic setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with a Sicilian Spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visited Taormina in June, with a group of close friends. The first evening we tried to go there without a reservation but failed to find a table. Therefore, I recommend people to make a reservation in advance. The second evening, we had a lovely dinner in a very nice atmosphere. The waiters were very kind, the menu for the ladies didn't have any price on, which i liked a lot, and the food was delicious. At the end of the evening, before we left, the owner of the restaurant, a very nice lady, came to our desk and gave all the ladies very nice bracelets as presents and asked us about our opinions. Eventhough, she was not speaking english, she listened very carefully ( thought the translation of the chief waiter) and showed that she really cared about what we are saying. She was really interested in our critics about the way the meat was cooked, she tried to understand and she said she will do our most to make it better. I really enjoyed my time in Villa Antonio and really liked their attitude and the care they show to their guests. I recommend this restaurant to every traveller.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Decadent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Bring your big boy wallet but this place is amazing. Sweeping views from Isolabella to Giardini Naxos. Fine dining at its best. The servers are professionals and the menu is up to par for what they are charging. So often places charge high prices for the views/location. This place actually delivers with food/decor/service. Multiple amuse bouches, tastings, and palate cleansers.
The plates are well sized too.
100euro for lunch without wine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Antonio also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Villa Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.