We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping stretch in Taormina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corso Umberto

Corso Umberto
Corso Umberto, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$124*
and up
Ranked #4 of 27 Attractions in Taormina
Type: Shops, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shopping stretch in Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a place to go for shopaholics, there are all kinds of shops here selling clothes, souvenirs, Italian handmade goods, gourmet produce, restaurants, patisseries, etc. Such a delight to walk along corso umberto and window shop. It does get very busy on weekends and I can imagine more so during summer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    287
    75
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Nevadas, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Whoa! Shopping & Tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A crazy, fun-filled street. If you like shopping, you'll like it. Lots of places to eat, lots of ceramics; lots of tourists! At night, it is truly a lovely street to stroll down (the tour buses are gone). Lots of places to explore off this street.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
121 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“I See~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Before getting to Taormina, I didn't know that apart from the beach, it's a shopping haven for the rich and famous. An Italian friend of mine summarised to me that it's like Capri, which I visited previously. I didn't get what he meant until I visited Coso Umberto earlier. It's filled with major brand names and it's definitely a shopping haven for the ladies. My tip for you is this: pick a spot in the sun and spend the day reading a book and engage in people watching at the same time. It's wonderful to see local old ladies making their way slowly through the crowd with their backs hunched, Romana ladies holding their babies begging for money, the rich and wealthy middle-age ladies wearing their mink coats chatting away and the list continues. Commendable visit. By the way, it is within the old city gates and cars are forbidden to get in here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delightful Place to Wander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I loved the "feel" of Taormina and wanted to spend much more time here than I had available. The people were very friendly. The shops were intriguing. The views were lovely. It just felt like a special place. Mt Etna erupted the day we were there and by the end of the day we were all covered by ash and cinder (kind of gritty). The people who live there experience this frequently but go on with life with joy. Note: I visited in November when there were few people about. I understand in high season this main street is quite impacted so you might not have the same sense of pleasure as I did in wandering about.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Creek, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best street in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I enjoyed all of the activities and the entire feel of the place. The street has everything you could want, shops, artisans, restaurants, side alleys with special treats, and street performers. There is an electricity about the Corso Umberto that fills you with joy. There was NOTHING that I disliked about it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corso Umberto also viewed

 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Corso Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corso Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.