We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget The Ritz and The Four Seasons, this is a 5 star experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Forget The Ritz and The Four Seasons, this is a 5 star experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Staying at Villa Ducale is a very special experince. From the moment you arrive you know you will be well looked after. It has the most incredible location with beautiful views of Taormina and smoldering Mount Etna. What really makes Villa Ducale special however is its lovely staff. Nothing is too much trouble, everything is done with a genuine smile and professionalism. We also enjoyed dinner at Villa Ducale dinner, why would you eat anywhere else when you could enjoy the best views in town. All meals are cooked using locally sorced foods and where fantastic. Breakfast served on the terrace in an absolute treat with a wide selection of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits and cakes, everything you possibley want. An extra treat is the complementary pre dinner coffee and cake. Our room was utterly charming styled in a friendly homely manner with stunning views. I have had no hesitation recommending the Villa Ducale to friends and family. Our stay was so much more than just a nice place to stay it was and experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    112
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
153
838
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We picked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and it is indeed by far the best hotel in Taormina. Villa Ducale is just perfect, from the top notch service and hospitality, breathtaking views, beautifully appointed rooms, gourmet food, we couldnt have asked for more! The rooms, both private and public, are beautifully appointed. We stayed there in July-August 2013 and were extremely pleased and charmed with everything! We would like to especially thank Santi whom I promised this long overdue review! he made all our wishes come true! you are the best Santi! ciao from my husband and son too! truly enchanting!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

First of all I would like to apologize for so delayed review.

We had 3 amazing and unforgettable nights at VILLA DUCALE on our honeymoon trip this July. As person with more than 10 years’ experience in travel industry and checking, staying in a plenty of hotels during familiarization trips I can see definitely – VILLA DUCALE is “simply the best!!!”

We chose it by feedback on Tripadvisor as the best hotel in whole Sicily. Yes, it is!

From very first step at late night of check-in day until our check-out we felt like in paradise. It’s really worth! We stayed in Superior Room with amazing view to bay and Taormina centre.
There was huge terrace with sun beds where you can relax during the day and lovely balcony.

All meal was just perfect – breakfast, afternoon snacks and candle light dinner!

Very convenient shuttle service to Taormina and back.

After Taormina we went to Syracuse to stay 1 night. That hotel has shuttle service to the beach. When we decided to swim a bit and started fording into the sea my wife realized that there is no wedding ring on her finger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I tried to calm her as much as I could. “Be sure, you left the ring in Syracuse hotel”. After 2 quite nervous hours on the beach and few beers we came back to the hotel. Both stormed our room and bathroom – but there was no ring… Bad sign to lose wedding ring? Then I switched on my mobile phone and found around 10 messages about “missed calls” from VILLA DUCALE, moreover it was SMS from Mr. Ajith – they found the ring in the bathroom! At the same time I found e-mail with the same salutary text. We called them and promised to pick up the ring next morning. Actually our original route from Syracuse was down to the island to visit Ragusa, but the ring was # 1 now! And 120 km distance between Syracuse and Taormina was like light walk before the sleep. We reached VILLA DUCALE around 9:00 – breakfast time and after ring “return procedure” we were kindly invited for cup of coffee with beautiful Etna view. Wife even asked for glass of prosecco to relax finally.

It was my second trip to Sicily and first for my wife, but we are sure we will return here in 10 – 15 years. And for sure we will return to VILLA DUCALE!

Once again - HUGE THANK YOU ALL VILLA DUCALE STAFF!!! Wish you all the best and Happy New Year!

Jonas and Milda from Lithuania

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Jonas,
so nice to hear from you ! Thank you for writing such beautiful review and to remind me the story of the ring. I am happy to see that you still remember how this case was solved by our great staff and that you have only sweet and nice memories of Villa Ducale.
At Villa Ducale we believe that your experience with us must not be only a great sea view, a wonderful room and a delicious breakfast or dinner but to receive a true customer service; this is constantly our goal and since the first minute of our day at work we were trained to provide the very best service possible!!!
I really hope you don't have to wait 10/15 years to come back..... nowadays distances are shoert !!!!
My sincere wishes for the new year to your and your partner,
Regards,
Alessia, reception manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us very highly, and we now understand why. It is beautifully sited on the hills above Taormina. The rooms, both private and public, are beautifully appointed. The staff were ALL so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. They seemed to be there just to make sure that our every wish was met.
The breakfasts were simply astounding, from the range of food available to the taste of the food and the service - all with one of the most breathtaking views in the world, including watching the steam and smoke coming from Mt Etna.
There was complimentary morning and afternoon tea available as well as savoury accompaniments to pre-dinner drinks.
Dinner, too, was delicious and enjoyed on the balcony with the beautiful night view across water.
The walk to Taormina was too steep for us, but the hotel offered a shuttle service and on one occasion we took a taxi back up the hill at very reasonable cost.
We cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Signora Rose from Australia,
I want to personally thank you for the beautiful words you expressed after your stay at our Taormina boutique hotel Villa Ducale last october.
It was a real pleasure to meet you every day and have a short talk, to explain the way we make our delicious food and share the little secrets of Sicilian food and tips for Taormina town, Mount Etna and our marvellous beaches.
Thank you for appreciating our hotel staff and our beautiful cozy rooms.
Best wishes for a great year 2014 !
Signora Rosaria Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

4 wonderful days at Villa Ducale after flying in from San Diego. October 2013. At first we were not sure about being out of the "downtown" but it worked out perfectly. Taormina is very touristy-crowded,lots of tourist shops, cruise ship/bus tour groups,etc. V. Ducale was perfect- you could go down into town-walking or shuttle bus- and see the Greek theatre,churches,shops,beach,etc but then go back to your beautiful oasis on the hill.We ate dinner in town once but found that dining at V Ducale or Saraceno down the street were all we needed. The big glasses of prosecco,fantasic views of the Etna and the sea, and the wonderful friendly staff were fantastic. So good that we are going back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had originally booked another hotel but switched at the last minute to Volla Ducale. It was well worth the upgrade! Our time at Villa Ducale was beautiful and we already can't wait to plan a return.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the wonderful manager, Paolo, chilled glasses of Prosecco and gorgeous views of Mt. Etna. As we settled in, we noticed the bed was set up with 2 twin beds pushed together. After encountering this in Palermo (at a 5 star hotel), we asked to have a king size bed. They quickly changed the mattress and converted it the requested king. Voila! Issue quickly resolved.

The room we stayed in is represented on the web site. It was appointed with nice linens (the bed linens were even scented!), beautiful bathroom with luxury toiletries, bath robes, slippers, free wifi, dvd player, well controlled air conditioner/heating .......No detail was unattended.

This is an intimate hotel. In the mornings we enjoyed a bountiful breakfast that had gorgeous selections. I'm gluten sensitive and they daily brought selections expressly for me without my requesting them. We enjoyed the complementary high tea and cocktail hour. We also ate an enjoyable dinner. It really does feel like you are staying in a home as opposed to staying in a cold hotel.

The shuttle was wonderful and had plenty of convenient pick up and drop off times. We used this service frequently as well as walked to town center via a 20 min trip along a footpath.

Above all, the service was exemplary. The staff really went out of their way to accommodate us and other guests. Rosario (the owner), Paolo (manager) and Alesia (staff) were wonderful, friendly and accommodating. The women who worked the restaurant were wonderful as well!

Taormina is a charming town and Villa Ducale deserves all the accolades!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Villa Ducale was one of our best vacations. The view from our balcony and from the patio area is breathtakingly beautiful. The staff treats you like family and provides all the help you need to have the vacation you want. Free shuttles make it easy to move between the hilltop location and Taormina, and the quiet of the hilltop location is relaxing. Breakfasts, tea, happy hour and dinner make it possible to stay at the Villa and have all the food you need for a day, and the food is always beautifully presented and tasty. No wonder tour books rate this as one of the best hotels in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#1 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Each and every bedroom has been individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian contemporary and traditional style, and each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.