We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR SECOND VISIT - SIMPLY THE BEST PLACE WE KNOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“OUR SECOND VISIT - SIMPLY THE BEST PLACE WE KNOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent a week here in 2011 and could not wait to return. How do you improve on perfection? Well, Rosaria and her wonderful team had made some decorative changes to our room, all delightful, and we had a memorable stay again. The weather in the third week of May was superb and the magnificent views of the beautiful bay and Mount Etna are incomparable. Everything at this wonderful hotel is excellent, from the start to the finish of every day's stay.

We hired a car from Catania airport, and this gave us the freedom to travel to some of the beautiful sights of Sicily, including the ancient city of Syracuse and the incredible Greek temples at Agrigento, as well as being able to drive down to the town of Taormina whenever we wanted. However, for people who don't want to rent a car, the hotel provides convenient and frequent free shuttle service to and from Taormina, just a few minutes away by minibus. This is a very useful service especially in the evening as it allows you to have a few glasses of wine with dinner, if you wish, as you don't have to drive afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear A.R.,
it was so so nice to have you and your wife back to Villa Ducale after two years and it was wonderful to hear that you found our hotel even better than before. We have many reapeted guests , this is a big pride for me , we try to work hard for all of you and we love you all !
Please come back soon,
with my best regards
Rosaria Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,113
    108
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
147
799
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We returned to the Villa Ducale after a great experience a few years ago. It was just as wonderful as we remembered. It is beautiful, the food and service is great, and we hope we can return again. The staff was fabulous, so pleasant and attentive. A special thanks to Santi, Alessi, Santne and Elie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear friends from Massachusets,
what a lovely surprise to meet you again after so many years.
We appreciated your praises and we thank you for coming back..
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosy Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A huge thank you to the staff of Villa Ducale during our recent trip, what an amazing place. The hospitatily was second to none and Rossaria even bought us tickets to the theatre which was the most beautiful setting, nothing was too much trouble. We had a suite in the annex next to jacuzzi and bathing area, the attention to detail was superb. Late afternoons were spent sipping Prosecco on the terrace overlooking Etna with complimentary snacks/desserts. Breakfast buffet is wonderful, never before have I wanted to linger for so long. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the annex which had superb views and a privte terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked our stay at Villa Ducale because of the great reviews on tripadvisor , and everything they say is true ,it is a really amazing hotel. ( or our home for 8 days as we were asked to make it) Yes the breakfast is as super as everybody says as is the afternoon tea. The staff are just wonderful everyone of them ,what a very clever owner to employ such fantastic people ,they make such a difference .We can't wait to return to out Sicilian home !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is all about the service, attention to detail and the views. The rooms and bathrooms are not fantastic and there's no pool. However the staff are phenomenal; nothing is too much effort, they are extremely friendly and enjoyable to speak to. Loved the snacks from 4pm onwards which was an excellent touch. We would have happily sat on the terrace all day admiring the views. Other hotels could learn a great deal from Rosario and her team

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We're just leaving Villa Ducale for the second time and we're already booking for next year! I can't think of a better place to stay! It's a very welcoming place, it feels like you're part of the family. It doesn't feel like a hotel, it's relaxed and you could just spend the whole day there if you chose to. Everything from the breakfast to "tea time" to the apreritivo at 6pm makes you want to just sit by the terrace and enjoy the breathtaking view. I couldn't recommend Villa Ducale enough, we fell in love with it...
Sébastien and Michael

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Villa Ducale for another stay and we are always surprised by the many changes they have made to improve the service, the ambiance and the food. The staff and the owner Rosaria take care of every detail. They make your trip a very special memory. The views are the best in all of Italy. The breakfasts are out of this world and the evening cocktails and dinner from the veranda are very romantic. We will return again to this secret hideaway in Taormina!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taormina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Each and every bedroom has been individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian contemporary and traditional style, and each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.