We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Friendly, helpful staff, villa was very nice. Location was great. Short walks up and down. Great views and very quiet. Good food as well. From the villa it is a short walk to downtown Taormina. Nearby is a Saracen Fortress (2 mins from hotel). Cost was very reasonable for what you get. Villa was very spacious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    119
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
160
909
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've just returned from 3 memorable days and nights at the Villa Ducale perched high above Taormina. At the point of booking, Paolo told us that the Villa would be our "home" from the moment we arrived and that is exactly how we felt. All the staff welcomed us like family, introducing themselves (not intrusively) and remembering things the way we liked them, so we didn't have to ask twice. Our car was parked for us, upon arrival, in a safe (free) spot up the road and our cases were taken for us. We were offered complimentary coffee, as our room wasn't quite ready for us and Alessia spent time explaining the hotel's services and also making recommendations for sightseeing, touring and dining in the locality. She was very informative and helpful.

We stayed in the rooftop suite which had a stunning view of Mount Etna, the hinterland and the sea. It was very spacious, comfortable and very private with its own separate access - ideal for a honeymoon! The hotel's restaurant is set on an open air terrace with the same amazing view, meaning that we could enjoy it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfast was absolutely amazing with a fabulous spread of fruit, homebaked sweet and savoury dishes, freshly prepared every day. Equally, each evening, complimentary canapes are served with drinks (paid) between 6 - 7pm. A very nice touch and tempts you to stay at the hotel for dinner!

A very convenient complimentary shuttle bus service is offered throughout the day and evening. This is essential, as parking in Taormina is not really an option and with the hairpin bends, it's a much nicer way to travel back. For those with a head for heights and a reasonable level of fitness, there's a very scenic footpath from near the hotel down to the centre of town, but it's 641 steps! Excellent exercise if you are up for the challenge!

We met Rosaria, the charming owner of both Hotel Villa Ducale and its sister hotel, Villa Carlotta, which she invited us to visit during our stay. This we did, and we were equally warmly welcomed, with complimentary coffee & homebaked biscuits and a tour of the hotel's facilities.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Ducale and would like to thank all the staff who looked after us so well and made our stay so memorable. Very deserving of its Trip Advisor "Winner" award for 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Etna and the Sea. Unbeatable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been meaning to write a review every since we returned home! We cannot say enough wonderful things about Hotel Villa Ducale! We have stayed at many hotels in the U.S., Canada & Europe, but have never experienced the superb hospitality that was shown to us by ALL the staff at Hotel Villa Ducale! Upon our arrival, Hotels.com messed up our reservation & they went over-the-top to make certain that we had a room. Not only did they find us a room, on the first night, they also gave us complimentary beverages & did not charge us for the room (because of Hotels.com error).Our 2nd night there, they moved us to an even better room than what we had booked! Never have we felt so pampered & well taken care with the utmost respect.
We were only going to stay a few nights & then head down to Siracusa, but we ended up staying here longer! The views from our room & the large terrace where you can sip on a drink & eat the fabulous breakfast (that is made fresh daily), are breathtaking. Sometimes, we just sat there & stared out at the magnificent view rather than go into town. It is truly pure heaven! I must say that the breakfast is FABULOUS! Everything is fresh, fresh, fresh!!!
The restaurants that they recommended to us were also top notch! We did celebrate our 10th anniversary at the Hotel & the food was excellent!!

I cannot give this hotel one negative. Fabulous, perfect, beautiful, breathtaking ,great location, personable, hospitable, exceptionally clean, professional are just a few words to describe Hotel Villa Ducale!

We ARE going back this coming November to celebrate our anniversary once again & God willing, we will be back each & every year!!

Thanks to all the staff!! You should be proud!!!

Elizabeth & Michael Huxley

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We only had little time to spend at this beautiful hotel, however, enjoyed every bit of it. In the morning a great Sicilian breakfast menu awaited us together with stunning views onto Mount Etna from the hotel terrace. Really looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

There's a reason why this hotel is rated #1 in Taormina. Actually, there are several reasons. First and foremost, the staff. Every single person seems to be dedicated to ensuring that you have the best possible stay in Taormina. Paolo and Santi and all the employees of the hotel are wonderful. Second, the location. High above the town, looking down on terraces and up at the peak of Mt. Etna from the dining room. Third, the thoughtful conveniences like a free shuttle into town and the availability of dinner-to-order from the genuine Sicilian cook in the kitchen. Plus great breakfasts. Fourth, the connection with the #2 hotel in town, the excellent Villa Carlotta, where Rosaria is the gracious hostess. You can enjoy dining or swimming there, just a short walk from some of the most spectacular sights in town.

One caution. There are only sixteen rooms at the Villa Ducale, and many people come back there every year. So book well in advance. It will be one of the most romantic experiences of your life.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are on the small size, but chances are you won't spend much time there. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

They forgot our birthday cake but still an amazing place with kind service. They do their best but sometimes lacks professionalism. Rooms are perfect. Clean.
I would definitely come back. Breakfast is just perfect. Well located at the top of taormina.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests from Brussels,
thank you so much for your very nice comment about your recent stay at Villa Ducale.
I am sorry that although you found our hotel to be an amazing place with kind service you mentioned that we forgot your birthday cake. After speaking to our staff they said you never ordered any birthday cake but simply asked in a very very busy evening if we could provide you instantly a candle; the candle did not arrive as at the moment we didn' t have any. Normally birthdays and anniversaries are our "core business" so if you had requested a cake you would have had ready on your table, for sure .I think it isn't true that we have lack of professionalism, however like any human being we are not perfect, so if you were disappointed in some way I apologize for that.
We are very happy to hear that you will come back, this time your cake will be right on the table, anniversary or not !
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci,the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the time we arrived which was quite late in the eveing, the hotel had laid on a wonderful meal for us consisting of cold meats and salads with several Sicilian Speciality dishes. The view was absolutely amazing Our rooms were just wonderful and our whole experience at the Villa Ducale could not have been more special. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Adelaide 23,
it was so nice to read your lovely review and thank you for staying with us from so far away such as Australia ! Thank you for your praises, as you noticed our staff is all focused on guests' satisfaction and life experience.
We would love to have you back one day in the future !!!!!
Kind regards from Rosaria Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#1 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.