We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I Stayed here quite sometime ago but completely forgot to add my review! The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble! A real gem in an amazing place. I stayed on my own whilst on business in the area. The breakfast area had a relaxed atmosphere but was every so tasty! I can see why they win so many awards!

Amazing views of Mount Etna!

Keep it up - i will be returning! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    114
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
153
856
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ducale for 12 nights in August 2012 for our Honeymoon. Initially we booked a Junior Suite, but were delighted to be upgraded to a Deluxe Suite with a view overlooking the Strait of Messina. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the very friendly and very helpful Antonio who guided us out to the hotel’s terrace. Even though it was dark, we could still make out the magnificent Mount Etna rising before us. We were given a complimentary glass of Prosecco each and we ordered a delicious meal from the menu (Lasagne for me, Tortellini for him). Finally, after a busy wedding week - we were in total relaxation mode! More excitement ensued when we saw our suite, decorated in traditional Sicilian style, with the aforementioned terrace overlooking the Strait of Messina, a complimentary bottle of Prosecco on ice, and a hot tub outside. The next morning we were even more stunned by the view from the main hotel terrace, we couldn't stop gazing out at the sublime smoking Etna over breakfast, I think we had to keep pinching ourselves to realize where we were. There aren’t enough superlatives to describe breakfast – so many mouth-watering choices...and make sure you try afternoon tea from 4-6pm at least once. Although Villa Ducale is a good bit from the beach this is not a problem whatsoever, the shuttle service is second to none. Make sure you book it though, we forgot a few times and had to get taxis - not cheap at 15 Euros a go. There's also a local bus service, but as we were on holiday time we kept missing it. Alternatively you can walk down the many steps from Via Madonna della Rocca to town. We did this a number of times, but only in the morning or evening so we didn’t collapse from heat exhaustion! Hotel shuttles go to town and to two of the beach clubs; they'll also bring you to Villa Carlotta if you want a dip in the pool. You can also get the Funivia from town to Mazzaro beach, and then walk a little bit over to the public beach at the aptly named Isola Bella. During our stay we did a couple of tours, one to the Aeolian Islands (we were lucky to see an eruption on Stromboli!), and one to Etna. We did the Etna-Alcantara off-road tour with Legendary Sicily. It was amazing - and Eddie our tour guide was fantastic, so knowledgeable and really sound (as we say in Ireland). The staff at Villa Ducale will help you with your itineraries and booking tours, they're a mine of information so make sure you chat to them about what you'd like to do. Right, what else? Oh, Castelmola - the beautiful, if somewhat precariously-perched village above Taormina. Walk up there if you can, it only takes about 20-30 minutes from Villa Ducale, and is so worth it for the panoramic views at the top. We ate at Villa Ducale on a few of the nights, and thought the food was delicious; we also ate at many of the lovely restaurants in Taormina (that's for other reviews!). Also, a little tip – there’s a lovely restaurant a couple of minutes walk from Villa Ducale, it’s called Al Saraceno, and it’s on Via Madonna della Rocca. We ate there on a couple of nights when we didn’t feel like heading into town, but we wanted a change from the hotel. It’s definitely worth a visit for both the food and the wonderful open air terrace overlooking – you guessed it – our favourite volcano! I want the last thing I say to be about the staff. I’ve found that in a lot of hotels staff can be either too aloof or too close for comfort. The Villa Ducale staff seem to have found the winning formula, and have got the balance just right. They are friendly, courteous, and helpful - all without being overly intrusive. We hope to be back for a future anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the best boutique hotels I have stayed in. Booked hotel due to positive reviews, which were all true. Transfer from the airport to the hotel and back was booked directly as we didn't rent a car knowing that the hotel offers a shuttle service to the centre and back. We were made welcome from our first step in the hotel. Upon check in we sat down at a table enjoying great views of Taormina from the terrace; my wife and i were offered prosecco whilst my 3 yr old drank some juice as a welcome drink. The receptionist gave us all the information needed as she sat with us making us feel very comfortable and 'home'. All our luggage's were taken to our room upon arrival whilst we enjoyed our drink overlooking the view. The room that was allocated to us was great, not big but ideal, with 2 beds, en suite bathroom, a balcony and a terrace - views were amazing day and night. We decided to dine at the hotel on 2 or 3 occasions. Although they do not offer a wide range of dishes, what was offered was always fresh and well prepared, cooked in traditional ways - offering anything from salad, pasta, grills, seafood and fish. Breakfast was great, afternoon tea normal and the per dinner drinks and appetizers very well presented. All the staff were very polite and spoke English very well. Our daughter was made to feel like a small princess as she was greeted with everyone by her first name. Taormina is a great place to visit. We were there in October and the weather was nice and sunny. Although for us it was a short break we really enjoyed it and will be back....to the same hotel for sure.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel Viall Ducale feels like you are staying at the villa of your good friends -the staff are all warm and welcoming, you are made to feel right at home with a welcoming glass of wine and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Sitting in the eating area there is the most spectacular view of Mount Etna and the town and ocean below. The food is delicious and they go out of their way to meet special dietary restrictions and requests. We didn't mind the walk up and down to town...it is about 600 steps, but it's easily done and feels good after all the eating you do in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This time we returned with our son and daughter-in -law to a warm welcome back from owner Rosaria and the staff! You are immediately made to feel right at home in this beautiful villa where Rosaria grew up. Our rooms were extremely comfortable with the most breathtaking views! We especially enjoyed the dining room views for breakfast or dinner! During the day the hillside views of the sea and Mt. Etna are amazing but equally as beautiful at night looking out at the lights of Taormina below. We took advantage of the shuttle service but you should not miss at least walking down into Taormina! We will definitely return again to beautiful Villa Ducale!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mg523,
it was so lovely to have you back to Villa Ducale last November .
We love all our guests and feel so touched when they come back several times like many do and like you did. You have a fantastic family and it was nice to spend some time chatting and enjoying a cup of tea together in our terrace.
I wish you all the best and look forward to your next stay at Villa Ducale.
Warmest regards,
Mrs. Rosy Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived at the beautiful Hotel Villa Ducale and were greeted by owners, Andrea and Rosaria, with warm and open arms. We immediately were served a hot cappuccino and a delicious expansive breakfast. I truly felt as if I was visiting my aunt’s beach house. The staff is just as warm and caring as the owners, who go out of their way to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. This chic villa is situated on the top of Taormina and has undoubtedly one the best views in the world… Taormina, the Greek theatre, and Mt. Etna are all at your fingertips. Attention to detail is present all around, from the property to the staff and beyond. To say we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hotel Villa Ducale would be an understatement. This little inn, is truly a hidden gem and a perfect ten. For a full review check out www.atouristtrap.com!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ducale for four nights on our honeymoon in November. We had read the numerous amazing comments on here before booking but were still absolutely blown away when we arrived. We were in the rooftop suite, which overlooks Mount Etna, and were completely charmed by our room and the hotel itself. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, provide advice on travelling and excursions, park and unload your car, and one of them gave us a lift back to the hotel when he saw us in Taormina on his day off!

We didn't find the steps into town too difficult, but I would say avoid heading back up in the hottest midday hours. We ate in several of the restaurants in the town, but the food at the hotel itself was fantastic and we'd have happily eaten here every night.

I know we were there for a special occasion, but Villa Ducale will alwys be special, and I very much hope we get to return there again at some point in the future.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but all the other couple we spoke to seemed very happy wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#1 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Each and every bedroom has been individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian contemporary and traditional style, and each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.