We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 88 hotels in Taormina
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived at the beautiful Hotel Villa Ducale and were greeted by owners, Andrea and Rosaria, with warm and open arms. We immediately were served a hot cappuccino and a delicious expansive breakfast. I truly felt as if I was visiting my aunt’s beach house. The staff is just as warm and caring as the owners, who go out of their way to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. This chic villa is situated on the top of Taormina and has undoubtedly one the best views in the world… Taormina, the Greek theatre, and Mt. Etna are all at your fingertips. Attention to detail is present all around, from the property to the staff and beyond. To say we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hotel Villa Ducale would be an understatement. This little inn, is truly a hidden gem and a perfect ten. For a full review check out www.atouristtrap.com!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,138
    110
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
153
827
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ducale for four nights on our honeymoon in November. We had read the numerous amazing comments on here before booking but were still absolutely blown away when we arrived. We were in the rooftop suite, which overlooks Mount Etna, and were completely charmed by our room and the hotel itself. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, provide advice on travelling and excursions, park and unload your car, and one of them gave us a lift back to the hotel when he saw us in Taormina on his day off!

We didn't find the steps into town too difficult, but I would say avoid heading back up in the hottest midday hours. We ate in several of the restaurants in the town, but the food at the hotel itself was fantastic and we'd have happily eaten here every night.

I know we were there for a special occasion, but Villa Ducale will alwys be special, and I very much hope we get to return there again at some point in the future.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but all the other couple we spoke to seemed very happy wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights, the last 3 nights Hotel Villa Ducale was open for the season. The off season special rate made this long weekend the value of the decade! I can second all of the glowing reviews about the service, views, personal attention, friendliness yet complete professionalism. We had a suite (#4) across the street from the main lobby/dining that was large, luxurious with beautiful view of the Straits of Messina and a balcony with table and 2 chairs. The furniture and accessories were lovely. The bathroom had a double vanity and great rain shower. The king bed was very comfortable with great linens.

I never pulled out my credit card until I checked out. You never sign a bill, have to tip (though we did tip the shuttle drivers) and when you check out and pay, you put cash into a box where they collect gratuities and share with staff on a monthly basis. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with many fresh food choices. We had 1 dinner there which was exceptional, and the Sicilian wines are now on my must have list.

The owner and his wife truly make you feel like family guests...and we had the pleasure of riding down to the town with the owner's parents who used to live in the villa which was converted to the hotel.

The 5 stars are well deserved and this is definitely added to our "we must go back" list - hopefully in June when there is a great film festival in Taormina at Teatro Antico. We salute the proprietors for their exceptional hospitality, their well-trained staff, and their first class property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sally P.,
a very special thank you for your compliments regarding your stay at Villa Ducale extended to our staff, my self and my family.
The concept of Villa Ducale as you realised in to stay like in a private house and feeling like a guest not a simple client but in a luxury envinronment where you feel well in mind and body. I and my wife simply love our job and love to have so many fantastic people enjoying our hotel, we make money but also look for something special in life !
I am definetely looking forward to see you back in June, during the film festival but also in different times in Taormina it is always so exciting !
Let me wish you a Merry Christmas on behalf of my family and the entire Hotel Villa Ducale staff
Mr. and Mrs Quartucci, the owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a truly charming hotel, and it deserves all the fuss people make on TripAdvisor. The breakfast was one of the best we've had at any hotel throughout the world, and the service was exceptional. We stayed in a suite and it was charming and spacious, and we loved the gorgeous view from the common room of the hotel.

If I had to name a fault, it would be that while the decor was charming and luxurious, it wasn't stylish enough to qualify Villa Ducale as a design hotel. Monaci delle Terre Nerre (on Mt Etna) is a new and nearby option that retains the same personalized service, but also has phenomenal style. I recommend staying at both hotels when you go to Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear ThirtybyThirty from New York,
I would like to thank you for expressing so many nice words and compliments after your recent stay at Villa Ducale.
You say that in your opinion Villa Ducale is not stylish enough to qualify as a design hotel. You are right, in fact we do not claim to be a design hotel, we simply do not need it! We are Taormina not Mount Etna is like being Manhattan and Niagara falls !!!!!
We hope to have you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed two nights should have stayed a week! A stunningly positive hotel experience taking accomodation to a new level. Superb staff treat us like family, welcome drink on the terrace and detailed professional information given on the hotel, area and Sicily in general. Traveled Italy for a month by car and the Hotel Villa Ducale tied for first place with the Excelsior in Florence! Exquisitly decorated, excellent breakfast and dinner, amazing rooms with views to die for!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite but they all looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great stay and a wonderful dinner at Villa Duclae. The views are unobstructed and will last forever. The room was quaint, cozy and well decorated for the region. Our dinner was excellant and again the view at night is worth the price of the dinner. We will return ASAP. Thanks to the staff especially Rosaria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Villa Ducale was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The rooms were well appointed and lovely to look at and the views from the room’s little terrace of Mt Etna and beyond were perfect.
Breakfast was a sumptuous feast served on the main level in a setting of great beauty. The staff were warm welcoming and very helpful. The shuttle to town was perfect. I'd return in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taormina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Each and every bedroom has been individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian contemporary and traditional style, and each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.