We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location six star service and attitude!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant location six star service and attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed two nights should have stayed a week! A stunningly positive hotel experience taking accomodation to a new level. Superb staff treat us like family, welcome drink on the terrace and detailed professional information given on the hotel, area and Sicily in general. Traveled Italy for a month by car and the Hotel Villa Ducale tied for first place with the Excelsior in Florence! Exquisitly decorated, excellent breakfast and dinner, amazing rooms with views to die for!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite but they all looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,112
    108
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
147
798
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great stay and a wonderful dinner at Villa Duclae. The views are unobstructed and will last forever. The room was quaint, cozy and well decorated for the region. Our dinner was excellant and again the view at night is worth the price of the dinner. We will return ASAP. Thanks to the staff especially Rosaria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Villa Ducale was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The rooms were well appointed and lovely to look at and the views from the room’s little terrace of Mt Etna and beyond were perfect.
Breakfast was a sumptuous feast served on the main level in a setting of great beauty. The staff were warm welcoming and very helpful. The shuttle to town was perfect. I'd return in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Welcomed by the friendly and very professional staff! Marvelous location high above Taormina with Etna in the background! Luxurious and tastefully decorated rooms, spotlessly clean!
Scrumptious breakfast and top service!

Room Tip: We had a room with a private terrace with beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose Villa Ducale after reading all the wonderful reviews it had on Trip Advisor. What we didn't expect was even more than that! The welcome we received on arrival was something we had never experienced before on our travels. It was simply wonderful. Also, they couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions of where to go and how to get there. The shuttle bus to town and back was a life saver! We walked down each time but walked back up only the once! Our excuse was we were there for a relaxing time!!! They arranged our day trip to Mount Etna for us so we had nothing to worry about. The different types of food were amazing. We loved the idea of offering sweet treats in the afternoon and then savoury treats before dinner. All home made of course! The view from our room was simply stunning and we spent many hours on our terrace just admiring it. We miss it very much. Thank you Villa Ducale! We will be back on Sicily in the not too distant future as we have found the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking both the bay and Mount Etna. As far as I am aware most of the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When you are greeted on arrival with the phrase " welcome to our home" you know it is going to be special - and the Villa Ducale does not disappoint.
We booked a suite which looked out to sea with great views of the town and Mount Etna as well.
The facilities in the room were great and the hotel was just a perfect base.
Although the hotel doesn't advertise its restaurant they will cater for their residents for dinner - and if you plan in advance, they go shopping to the fish-market for something special.
The whole team there are friendly, helpful and very efficient - I really cant find much fault.
One of the best 4 night stays I can remember!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Graham W,
just a short note to thank you again for staying in "my home", happy to know you enjoyed it so much.
I and all Villa Ducale staff are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, owner of Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We just arrived back from spending 7 nights at Villa Ducale. It was far beyond our expectations. The service was great, the staff was more pleasant and helpful than we have experienced. Beautiful people always smiling. The food, well, I can't say enough about it other than it was perfectly prepared and the ambiance in the dining room with the panoramic view was amazing. The Villa Ducale was exceptionally clean, and in a perfect location. It has tremendous views and each room has a terrace that you could sit out on in private and enjoy the panoramic view with Mount Etna in the background. One could leave there feeling like royalty. Thanks to all of the staff, especially Paolo, Alissia and Antonio. What an introduction to Sicily and we would never miss the chance to visit this Villa again. Tom & Eileen from Canada

Room Tip: The higher the better, although the views are available at all levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taormina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Each and every bedroom has been individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian contemporary and traditional style, and each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.