We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of Taormina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ducale to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ducale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Ducale for 4 nights and loved it. You will be greeted when you arrive as if you were family. The staff (especially Alessia and Santi) are wonderful. They will go out of their way to make sure that you can go see the best parts of Taormina and tell you the best ways to get there. The views from the breakfast terrace and room were spectacular. You are so high up that you could just sit and look at the views for hours. The breakfast was superb - really authentic Sicilian foods - like fried zucchini flowers, stuffed tomatoes, all types of cheeses. There also were homemade sweets for breakfast - strawberry cream pie, pear pie, cream puffs, as well as fresh fruits and Italian breads. The hotel is situated high up in Taormina - almost in Castelmola. It is a little hard to get there because the roads wind up the mountain, but you will be delighted when you get there. Great place to stay...wish we stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 12 is wonderful because it has a small balcony in the facing the bay and another terrace with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    115
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
155
886
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englefield Green, Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent seven of the best day's holiday we have ever had at Villa Ducale. The hotel itself is very lovely with the most amazing views of the sea and of Mount Etna. Our room (31) was large, stylish, with a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom. The room was cleaned immaculately daily. We also had a lovely little terrace - very quiet and peaceful with beautiful views.

The team at Villa Ducale were outstanding. Alessia, Sante, Antonio, Paulo and their support team were so helpful, friendly and chatty and the food was amazing - particularly the breakfasts. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble - we really felt like we were staying with friends.

There is no pool at Villa Ducale, but there is a large hot tub and sun deck - or you can visit a private beach - Villa Ducale have an arrangement with 3 beaches - we went 4 times to La Pigna which was very beautiful - also took a boat ride (twice) to the blue caves with Enzo which was very worthwhile and good value.

The Villa Ducale clearly has an excellent reputation in Taormina as we were always given best seats in restaurants (when booked by the hotel) and at the beach. In addition to the beach, we made use of the sister hotel - Villa Carlotta which is in the town itself. This has a lovely garden and pool - and roof top restaurant - which we ate at one night. Transport is easy and the hotel provides regular shuttle service to the town. While you are there you should also visit Castelmola.

Rosaria - the owner of the Villa Ducale (and Villa Carlotta) went out of her way to be hospitable and ensure we had a wonderful holiday - this even included an impromptu cooking class in the hotel kitchen at Carlotta - where we made pistachio and bacon pasta and panacotta - it was a great experience. Rosaria then went for a walk around Taormina with us and showed us some sights that we might not have seen as tourists. It really was beyond the level of service that you would expect anywhere.

By the time we left we felt like we were leaving close friends and family behind. We will definitely be back next year.
Nicola and Andrew

Room Tip: Please note that the pool is actually at the sister hotel Villa Carlotta and there is a very nice ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the lovely Villa Ducale for 5 nights at the end of August, and it was really top notch. Everything about this hotel was amazing, starting with the well thought-off stylishly decorated rooms, the location and the amazing views of Toarmina and the coast, the quiet and peaceful surroundings and last but by no means least, the wonderful staff (Santi, Alessia and Antonio and all the others). A big thank you for everybody for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Room 12 - Roof Junior Suite with terrace and sea view Room 5 - Suite deluxe with terrace and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just left Villa Ducale after 6 amazing nights. Everything at this hotel has been planned, thought out and executed to absolute perfection. The hotel itself is amazing, our room (we stayed in Suite 6) was incredible, the staff are so caring and warm, breakfast was absolutely amazing and showcased the best of Sicilian cooking even though many of the dishes where not intended to be eaten in the morning. I could go on but I would just be repeating what other guests have said, I will however repeat how amazing the view is from the terrace, VA BENE!!!

Can I highly recommend a cooking course with Aurelio who is Paolo's (one of the teams) father. This was by far the highlight of our Sicilian trip. Aurelio met us at the bus stop just before 11am, we went to the local market and chose fresh produce that we could also find at home, we then went back to his place and cooked up a storm and eat with him and his family. Truly great day.

I do have 2 pointers for Villa Ducale. 1. The DVD library is great but could have a few more Italian themed movies in English, there where none we saw. 2. This is small but our laundry had tags stapled to either the back neck label or the garment, no good. That said laundry prices where very reasonable and I'm just being picky as this hotel came so close to absolute perfection.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Trent H from Melbourne,
I would like to warmly thank you for praising so much our hotel which always makes me and my staff feel so proud and happy. Regarding our complimentary DVD library, as I told you in the hotel we are having trouble in finding good Italian movies with English versions, we are surfing the net and maybe Amazon will help us. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding your laundry (actually it was made in outsourcing with a local company), if you write us privately we will surely pay for that.
Again, thank you so much and please come back to your Taormina home !
Regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have seldom stayed in an hotel that makes you feel so comfortable. When we arrived we were ushered to the terrace and given a drink. That was very welcome after an interesting drive up the mountain (we missed the turn to the easy route). Whlst enjoying the delights of a chilled wine we were given the information about the hotel and the area. The staff make you feel as though you are one of the family. Each time we met with a new member of staff they introduced themselves. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The luggage appeared in our room while we were having a drink. What a good room with its own small terrace! The breakfast was brilliant. An added bonus is the afternoon tea with a wide selection of cakes. I will now have to go on a diet! We were sad to leave and could easily have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Everything one reads that is glowing about this hotel is absolutely true. Each and every member of the staff treat you as one of the family and are constantly looking for ways to make the stay even more perfect. The view from all angles is to die for and our room was exquisite. The town of Taormina is delightful and the arrangements made by the hotel for the regular shuttle service were perfect. It is without any doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in and that is saying something.

The breakfast is first class and the quality of the food if you choose to dine there is also very good. The service of course is always 100+%. We would love to mention every member of staff and the owners but we might forget someone and that would not be fair as everyone without exception gives their all to make the stay wonderful.
Phillip and Marion Owens, Wiltshire, UK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Phillip and Marion,
on behalf of the whole Villa Ducale staff, I wish to thank you for your compliments that made everyone here at the hotel feel very proud.
We try constantly to improve and your feedbacks do help us so much.
We are looking forward to see you again next year.
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is truly an amazing hotel and you will realize this the moment you arrive. The staff is welcoming, professional and cannot do enough for you. We stayed in a rather large suite that was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The views from the terrace are spectacular. The breakfast spread is better than you can imagine and the dinner we had at Villa Ducale was one of the most memorable meals we have ever had. I cannot say enough about the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#1 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Each and every bedroom has been individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian contemporary and traditional style, and each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.