We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giardini della Villa Comunale

Giardini della Villa Comunale
Via Bagnoli Croce, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Attractions in Taormina
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Marsascala, Malta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Romantic and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Splendid walk...pictoresque architechture...with a romantic story behind it. Great opportunity for some great photos. Get a map and try not to get lost on your way back :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    298
    50
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swiqei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taormina 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just came back after spending a 4 day visit to Taormina last weekend. I must say that although it is very quiet and at times through tranquil during February (even though it was carnival), I was still struck by its constant beauty. Last Saturday I just decided to wonder around Taormina refusing to use a map since I believe that it is both safe and more interesting to explore a new place in this way (hopefully without getting completely lost at the end of the day!) I happened to enter the garden not knowing that this lovely cove overlooking the sea and railway station with a breathtaking scenic view of the snowy Etna volcano, was indeed Taormina's public garden.
I felt that the discovery of this beautiful garden complemented the closure of a lovely afternoon at Taormina. Thankfully it was sunny all afternoon although quite cold, yet the discovery of all the mysterious buildings, pathways and historical monuments and the outstanding views encouraged me to walk all the way through the garden and back!
Worth a visit!
Meg (Malta)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and worth every moment of visiting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were just meandering around Taormina, strolling through the crowded streets, browsing in all the wonderful ceramics shops, and we turned down a street that led us straight to this fabulous tree-lined avenue overlooking the bay. We followed it, taking tons of photos, to the just the most beautiful gardens, with fountains and statues and strange structures and we were thrilled by how lovely it all was. You can photo flowers, the sea, seacliff -hugging buildings, and a panorama of blooming nature. Just picture- perfect views everywhere you turn. Take a moment here to remember how lovely it is. Then, you must eventually return to the bustling streets of commerce.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Jazz Festival by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very nice place in Taormina, a beautiful garden hung upon the sea, with nice view fof the city and the Etna.
When we were there there was a jazz festival going on, everything for free with a wonderful atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Lush Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Giardino Pubblico is a peaceful, relaxing oasis a short way from the hubbub of central Taormina. We stumbled on this little garden while walking from our nearby hotel to Corso Umberto. On a clear day, there are unbelievable views past Giardini-Naxos toward the Ionian Sea to the east and to Mt. Etna to the south; on a hazy day, the views are still spectacular, although less so. The well-groomed, lush garden included wide paved walkways lined with various flowering plants, cypresses, palms, cacti, and large planted urns; a couple of unique brick structures; benches; an unusual brass sculpture of angels resting on a bench; a brass bust of Lady Florence Trevelyan, the lady who created the park area; and several examples of the largest, most well-developed Beaucarnea recurvata (commonly known as elephant's foot or ponytail palm) I’d ever seen anywhere.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giardini della Villa Comunale also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Giardini della Villa Comunale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giardini della Villa Comunale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.