We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil setting 100ms from mass footfall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ashbee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Pancrazio n. 46, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tranquil setting 100ms from mass footfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

i've stayed at grand atlantis bay which is also beautiful. However, this one ticked more boxes as its closer to the theatre and an array of fab restaurants. This hotel is very quiet as there are approx 20+ rooms only..we never ate there other then in the morning as multi-choices are on our door steps.... The staff are on the ball and very helpful... One of the best 5* hotels we've stayed in Toaromina.

Tips just ask for ice and a cup by the pool after picking up bottles of water from the local cornershop.... i cant justify £4 for a bottle of water regardless of hotel.

Plan your trip when a theatre play is active.... its very romantic and the experience isn't the same anywhere else, Especially with mount etna spitting in the back ground.

Book a table at Atlantis bay from 8pm... i had lobster risotto its ticked all the boxes

Scope out the place on the first night...fab food bars Jazz bars around..

This is one of many places locals eat GRANDUCA ristorante Pizzeria ...The fillet of steak for my mains was incredible. I went to the kitchen and gave the chef a tip for a few pints.... i'm also a chef.

Dress to impress a defo...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    49
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
177
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The whole feel of The Ashbee is one of relaxed glamour around the grounds, restaurants and bars! lovely 'Old English Mansion' style!

Attentive staff to accommodate, gorgeous views from the back and infinity pool ( although so tiny- feels crowded with more than 2 people!), comfortable sun loungers and a wonderful view over the bay of Taormina.

Our room was lovely, great bed linen and bathroom ( with gorgeous Ortigia products)-only complaints were the mosquitos and drain smell. Somehow we had at least 12 in our room ( every day) and we hadn't had the doors open at all. Suspect that the cleaners had the doors open whilst cleaning and to let the smell of the drains out.

a little expensive too!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our last stop on our week-long vacation in Sicilly and what a way to end it!  It is a wonderful hotel with fine amenities and service.  The hotel goes above and beyond to ensure they maintain their deluxe reputation .  From the moment we checked in to the time we left we felt appreciated and cared for.  My husband and I travel very frequently and stay in deluxe properties.  We are particular about the hotels we stay at and we were very satisfied with our choice of The Ashbee.  

We chose to stay in a superior room and it was comfortable and roomy.   We stayed in room 30 which has a ground floor patio.  The warning about noise from the road did not effect us and we found it quiet.   The bathrooms are large and well appointed but I warn those potential guests with only showers.   The water from the shower overflows into the bathroom. We found a way around that by not leaving the water running while soaping ourselves.   

The views from the pool, restaurant and breakfast areas are spectacular and the service in those areas superb.   The front desk was very helpful and Mr. Rubino, the manager went out of his way to ensure we had a comfortable stay.   

The Ashbee is a small hotel with exclusive and fine services that reflect the deluxe rating it has deserves.   I highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This wonderful hotel provided a quiet and relaxed haven from the hustle and bustle of Taormina. The infinity pool with a view that was breath taking and the roof terrace at night whilst sipping cocktails was a slice of heaven.
The staff were attentive, informed and helped/booked with trips, tickets, access to a quiet beach and with restaurant recommendations and bookings. We had a truly wonderful holiday at the Ashbee and we would certainly recommend this stunning hotel.

Room Tip: We had a standard room without a balcony and found it didn't matter as all the views are form th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed six nights this month. The setting is totally stunning, the pool area and front terrace is to die for, a big slice of heaven.the location so close to town also has positive benefits
The overall feeling however questions is it value for money at nearly 300 euros per night ?Our room was small although nicely furnished. We had a spacious terrace, but we were next to the main road ( very steep hill) into town. This is a very busy road and there is a bus drop of point 300 metres away. When the frequent service is climbing the hill ( every 10 minutes or so at peak times) all conversation stops as the diesel engines strain up the hill. The staff are friendly, but wear monogrammed 3 piece suits at all times, even the poor person who has to serve all day at the pool bar !!, they must melt, I think short sleeved shirt and trousers would be a lot less formal
Back to the value comment, a small bottle of Heineken ( a very commercial and inexpensive beer) was 12 euros, the most expensive price I have ever seen in a hotel in all my travels. We visited the pool every day and saw only one person order a beer ! We all drank water ( plenty of others also commented in our hearing when they saw the pool prices). I don't know what commercial model they have but most people either didn't drink/eat in the hotel, or went into town which is only 500 metres away, it seems such a wasted opportunity.
We also had a couple of bad service experiences, a restaurant table we asked to be booked was forgotten, we went down in the cable car to a fully booked restaurant, no table for us. We also had a Fawlty towers experience at breakfast on the last day, however the staff were in the main very good. I think there are better options for the money, however this is a stunning location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We started our honeymoon at the Ashbee and enjoyed the location, ambience and the overly attentive staff. We had a beautiful room and although it overlooked the front of the hotel, the fact that the hotel grounds is set back from the road made the room quiet and gave the feeling of an estate in the hills. The breakfast was the best we had at a hotel in Taormina and the kitchen staff made us feel very special. Really a special place.
One negative is the 25 Euro a night cost to park your car. While typical in the area, very excessive considering the price for a room.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our vacation in Sicily started with a stay at the Ashbee Hotel. The staff was wonderful, our room was lovely. Beautiful pool overlooking the most incredible view. The grounds are gorgeous. The rooftop bar also has amazing views and service was top notch. I highly recommend the Ashbee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Address: Viale San Pancrazio n. 46, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taormina
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#15 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city.A short walk leads to famous restaurants, to enjoy an excellent cuisine.Today, this new charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 25 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Escapio, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.